Tommy and frustrated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandy&Tommy

Active Member
Hi all,
It has been awhile again. Sometimes when I get home late I only have the energy to test and shoot Tommy. Then I usually head out again in the morning after I get up late. I'm helping at another house and am quite literally exhausted. I've been off these past two days, but unfortunately been quite sick. It definitely isn't what I planned for my two days off! ohmygod_smile I'm better today but yesterday I crawled out of bed only for potty breaks and testing Tommy. Enough about me. I've been very frustrated lately with Tommy's numbers. To top that off I left my bottle of insulin out all day a few days ago. :o It seems that since then I just can't get his numbers down. Maybe it is just a coincidence. My DH has been trying so hard to help with midday testing, but he gives up because he can't get a reading. I've tried showing him tips yet it still isn't happening. I'm just going to let him off the hook for now. I'll get him to try again in the future. So, that still leaves me in need of help. I got one day of numbers yesterday with his current insulin. With that 500 this morning I decided to see what would happen if I used my back up insulin that had expired earlier. (It is almost gone but have kept in case anything happened to the newer one.) Anyway his numbers came down to 109 at +9. Since he hasn't been very low lately I gave him some LC food both at +6 and +9 to hopefully keep him from bouncing. I am so proud of Tommy as he will usually come up when I call him to test and purr through the whole thing. I'm pretty fast now and he doesn't mind the pokes. Anyway please give any and all advise here. Thank you my dear friends.
 
Several possibilities but no definite answers. It sort of looks like the old insulin worked better but it was a bigger dose than usual, so that could have been it too. Today's cycle was proof the insulin works in general - down 400 points with a possibilty of a low pmps.

It is hard to tell whether he bounces, but it certainly looks like your doses for 300/400 work on the days you get nadirs. They are blue nadirs, but good drops. I really think your scale is right in the ballpark, Sandy. You could raise it by .2 overall,but I think you'd want to be around to monitor - at least the first cycle or two.

Wish your life would settle down. I am sorry things are so stressful.
 
Thank you Sue, I do too. I will be home again on Saturday and hope to get more numbers. I just tested PMPS was 116. I was hoping for a number to shoot. Now he probably will be high again in the morning. Dang :sad: Any suggestions?
 
Skipping is probably your only option. I wouldn't think he would rise enough in the next hour or so... But it does look like your number this am could have been a bounce, and that a lower dose for that range is in the cards.

Get back on track tomorrow. :-D
 
Thanks Sue. You are right. Start again tomorrow. I will try to post tomorrow but I have a long 14 hour day. :YMSIGH:
 
I'm wondering if you might recruit some help from a high school or college student interested in veterinary science to help you out. The high school guidance counselor(s) in your area may be able to refer some interested students your way, or you could check at a college with a program in pre-vet or vet tech studies.

Funds permitting, there might be a vet tech from a clinic near you interested in some part-time work for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top