TOM amps 480 .75 +2 299 +7.5 293 pmps 340 .75 +2 346

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34461

sometimes i feel embarrassed at my density. ok ok, i get it, i'm going with the program and will stop throwing out the same piece of information repeatedly that i thought made tom a one of a kind cat.
and he has been feeling better and better since his round of ab's completed 6 days ago and is on his 7th day of lev.
i do like the way this insulin is working. i don't think i've ever behaved so defiantly in my life!!! :oops:
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

good for you. numbers better already and now we are getting a very true picture. lev is stabilizing and now a better picture will be formed. most cats seem to do so much better even when numbers are initially higher. fur seems softer and over all a happier kitty. there are going to be bumps in the road. Just hang in there. I know it has to be hard (as we tell all newbs) to believe a bunch of (not strangers to you) strangers on the internet. nailbite_smile
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

Hi, Loir & Tom... Happy Sunday to you both.. great job in settling in Lantus Land & listening to others, you are sure going to get some data doing everything right & that will help Tom immensely! Have a great day! :-D
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

Thanks Nicole, your always so kind.
Dian, these numbers are low for tomtom...not higher. how sad is that????
he'd been riding the 600 train for a while on the pz the last month or so. so altho' we have'nt seen any green i am overall very happy with this insulin.
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

Good job, Lori. We'll beat that defiance out of you yet :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Tom...now that you're hanging more with us in LL, wanna be my special bud????
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

Good morning Lori,

And I hope you guys have a great day and continued improvement in TomTom's numbers.

Beth & Atlas
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

oh marjorie i just could'nt let go of the 'but my cat is different' :lol: :lol: :lol:
but ya have, ya beat it out of me.

hey gwacie, iz dint hang here butz meh mama alwaz lookz atz yu anz i lookz to so iz alwayz feelz likez yur big brudder en i knowz meh mama cares fur yu so much tu. don grows up to quik gwacie wid da boys here an da pardyin...yu's stil so yung. meow and purr, da tomtom
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

I know.....and the fun thing is each of us knows our own cat is different....that's why we say ECID but in reality, many of them do have attributes in common in
dealing with FD like the diving and bouncing. There are alot of really smart people here who have figured out how to handle some of these things and relay it
to us....as I told someone else once "it's ok to drink the kool aid" :lol: :lol: When he's been on lev a while and you start to really get a feel for it and see how different
he is, then you will know how to fine tune for his difference but we all gotta start in the same place to get where we want to be. Profound for early Sunday morning, eh?

ok TomTom...you be my big brother since mine crossed the RB last year. I do love the parties and love to dance!!! I have sassy pants!
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

da sassy pants? man, i'z used to haz to fight da boyz off da gurls likez yu gwacie...i hazd so many fights protectin my gurls. iz gud iz don lives wid yu or i might haz to go wid yu everywhere en maks sur yu don gitz in truble. i tink da mannie seem kewl and iz tink he wtch fur yu not git in truble wid da sassy pant? beee gud k? purrrrrsssss
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

TomTom....Mannie watches out for me, so does Rusty, and of course, my baby brother Tobey because he is BIGGER than me now!! So I'm ok and I can wear my sassy pants :lol:
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

I meant by higher numbers is: some cats numbers may remain high for awhile but the cat overall is much better. happier and playing more and softer fur.
I know tom is lower than usual and that is a good thing. he is leveling out and allowing lev to do its job. a little more data and decisions on which way to go will be more evident. good job on wearing those handcuffs.
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

dian i'm so happy to know you knew about tom's highs. since i usually only see you in community i thought you did'nt realize the jam he was in. even tho you'd posted on my health thread. thank you for posting on tomtom.

and beth (blue)...you have been so supportive and helpful. i am so deeply sorry i wore you out to the point of having to yell at me. i know you don't do that sort of thing. please know i was being mama bear to my cub and not attacking you even tho' it sure looked like it. thank you for sticking it out with us.
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

Lori & Tom - just dropping by to visit & wish you luck. Tom is entirely too cute, defiant but very cute! Love his pic!
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

hi, guys! Tom-Tom...looks like you gonna be feeling much better SOON!

and a new goodlooking guy for the girlies to swoon over...SWEET!
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

@-) we drank the kool-aid
thnk you so much everyone for the warm welcome----gonna get a +2 then off to work until +8.5 but i'm sure he'll be fine...so let's see what that +2 is gonna be....299.
ok, 200 point drop in 2 hours and not to sound like a broken record but please don't overeact to this drop as it would have happened without a drop on insulin on board. it's what he does the rest of the day that matter right? the nadir?
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

Be the tank. Go slow but go strong. :lol:

CatinTank.jpg
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75

lori and tom said:
@-) we drank the kool-aid
thnk you so much everyone for the warm welcome----gonna get a +2 then off to work until +8.5 but i'm sure he'll be fine...so let's see what that +2 is gonna be....299.
ok, 200 point drop in 2 hours and not to sound like a broken record but please don't overeact to this drop as it would have happened without a drop on insulin on board. it's what he does the rest of the day that matter right? the nadir?

Right. At 299 we're not getting excited yet...there's lots of room there for the insulin to go to work. As the overall numbers come down...those drops will get smaller.
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75 +2 299 +7.5 293

hmmmm...after his initial food drop it does'nt look like he did anything today. except stay stable.
2 more cycles may tell us if he's gonna move anywhere. i know his ss is showing better looking yellows but these yellows are so close to pink that i don't qualify them as 'true yellow' just kinda orange-ish.
tom has not been as starving as he was. it's 4:30 which is lunch time and he's not here 'reminding' me..oh, i spoke too soon...he just walked in, like clockwork!
i'll be back with his pmps at 8:10 pacific. i'm slowly trying to reschedule us to 7:30 or even 7:00 (hate to wake up that early but then i can be freer in the evenings) and also get more evening tests.
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75 +2 299 +7.5 293

OMG tomtom is so good at talking. he walked in, as i stood up he said meow in a way which sounds like 'now?' and i said 'ready for lunch?' and i swear he meows a 'yep'
he also says 'ouch' when i pokey him sometimes.
you know the question mark meow as opposed to the 'ok, i'm coming' meow?
i swear we communicate and he understands when i tell him in the morning, 'not yet' or 'ok, i'm getting up' it is truly a communication!
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75 +2 299 +7.5 293

looking good Lor. flat is good right now, so overall, things are going as planned :-D :o
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75 +2 299 +7.5 293

Flattening out the line ...looking good. I'll be curious to see what the AMPS is, if it continues to drop...

See you in the morning!
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75 +2 299 +7.5 293

laurie, angela...so nice to see my former pzi friends here!
i can't believe how i'm just eagerly waiting for that pmps #...1 hour and 40 minutes.
i always said i would not become one of the testaholic lantus folk...but i really so want to see what he gives me.
but let's face it....watching a day of lev. #'s is akin to watching paint dry :lol: i mean really, my experience so far is that the great news nailbite_smile is that NOTHING happens.
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75 +2 299 +7.5 293

:lol: ;-) Happiness here! Tom Tom!! The boy is movin to the smooth groove dancing_cat
 
Re: TOM amps 480 (no pre feeding) .75 +2 299 +7.5 293

oh yeah...that's tom alright. smooth, sexy and groovin his moves :lol: dancing_cat
but geez, his mama wants to see a little more action. i've been told no news is good news at this point in our lev journey. and funny, ever since i drank the kool aid @-) i'm just groovin with tom's moves (of which there are none!)
 
Re: TOM amps 480 .75 +2 299 +7.5 293 pmps 340 .75

ok pmps 340...that's about the most evening action i've seen yet. and i'm not all to happy with it.
i dearly hope i only have one more cycle with the .75
i am not feelin it, the ps's while getting closer are not producing a nadir of satisfaction.
and please let's not think we are not seeing it...the lev moves at the speed of a tortoise.
i'll check and get a +2.
 
Re: TOM amps 480 .75 +2 299 +7.5 293 pmps 340 .75

lori and tom said:
i dearly hope i only have one more cycle with the .75
Lori, you are the exact opposite of me. I am always looking for a reason to reduce the dose... The truth is that we should both be looking for improved numbers. I feel like this might be a case where the evidence is being fit to the theory instead of the other way around. Do you know what I mean? I know you have been wanting to raise the dose all weekend - heck, look what it took to get you to reduce the dose to the "compromise" amount of .75u instead of .5u.

Yes, lev moves like a tortoise. Ilkka (& Tom) likened it to an ocean liner: you initiate a turn and eventually, it turns - slowly.

I'd really like to see a few more days on .75u. I think he is still settling. Actually, I really would have liked to see 3-5 days on .5u.....
 
Darn it! his +2 was 346. this is not a good sign. he went down for the first time yesterday after his pm shot. I'm gonna have a whopper in the morning.
I feel really sure it's not enough. I can go longer with the .75 but I don't quite see the logic and believe me I really really want to see it. We have his pm shootable # now. even a skinny would be nice. But if you feel strongly I will maintain patience and decorum and plod along. :-D
 
Can't comment on the dosing, but Lori...you've been around long enough to know there is no difference between 340 and 346. I think that with lantus and lev, you want your +2 to be similar to your PMPS...so this is good!! You've got room for him to come down ....he won't nadir for quite some time! :cool: :cool:
 
:lol: Marjorie if only a nadir was a nadir! in this case your luck to see 80 point drops and they better start right away or they don't even happen...this has been the case thus far with tomtom. on the flip side a nadir hangs in place for 5-7 hours so you do get that...
 
lori and tom said:
Darn it! his +2 was 346. this is not a good sign. he went down for the first time yesterday after his pm shot. I'm gonna have a whopper in the morning.
I feel really sure it's not enough. I can go longer with the .75 but I don't quite see the logic and believe me I really really want to see it. We have his pm shootable # now. even a skinny would be nice. But if you feel strongly I will maintain patience and decorum and plod along. :-D

Lori, stick with it...patience. I know it's hard. The idea is to get a starting point, remember? The protocol calls for 6 cycles on a dose before increasing. It's even more important since you are still in the very early stages and you haven't really had a starting dose to get the baseline, which is usually held for 10-14 cycles. Keep the handcuffs on, ok? ;-)

Take a look at other SSs for Lev or Lantus....look at Tinkles' SS when we switched...it takes time for doses to settle, you cannot be impatient with these insulins. You will end up on a rollercoaster, not a good place to be. Read the sticky about the storage shed. viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150&start=0

When you get impatient and overfill the storage shed by upping the dose too fast, you get into a situation where at first it looks like nothing is happening because the shed is still filling up. Then you reach the point where it is totally full and yet you are still giving a dose that's too high. Now suddenly none is going into shed, because that is full. It is all working on the cat... and the numbers drop out on you.

It's a marathon, it's a marathon, it's a marathon.....you have to go slow. Please read, reread and reread the stickies...seriously, it takes time to adjust your thinking, it isn't easy. I've walked in your shoes, I know it's really hard and it doesn't happen overnight....but you can do it! I'll just keep saying it every day if that helps! :lol:
 
Laurie you are sooooo good, that is very important info to share, more than once. I have a strong feeling I will walk in YOUR shoe's one day fighting a pz 'turncoat' into slowing down and being as nice about their defiance and impatience as you (I hope!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top