today's news

Status
Not open for further replies.

IloveLarry

Member Since 2014
starting a new topic, bc the last one had so many posts. so last night i gave 2.5 U of N, so that i could try to rest. wasnt able to get pmps, so gave 2.5.
unable to get amps also. mornings r the very hardest. larry is super squirmy, ready for brkfast, and i had no luck. for fear of not knowing his # i only gave 2.0 U. after many attemps today, managed to get a +3 (and about 10 mins. extra, if that matters) bg of 276.
any thoughts or suggestions? any info is welcome.
 
It sounds like you are really getting this! Yes, it would have been nice to have an amps but the 276 is a nice safe number. If you can, try for a number around +5. He had a long cycle earlier and it would be wonderful if he was going to get longer cycles on N. (although it could have been a dose a little too high that cycle- not sure yet) It would be nice to figure out his lowest point (nadir) so we'd know how the dose is working.

Hope you both have a calm, relaxing day. Maybe even a nap?


Not to others: Bean has vision issues and appreciates larger font.
 
thank u sue :)
looking back ovr the data i have, when he was on 3U, he was at a # similar to this after +6 and +7 (the times i got bg, doesnt that mean this is to high for just 3 hrs in? that was my interpretation, and u know a LOT more, so hoping i was thinking wrong :)
yes i pray for a nap! tried already but no luck, i need it to make it thru our day, though.
i was thinking of the next test preferably being at +6 for the middle of the cycle, do u think +5 is better? in case i dont get both :)
 
Probably +5 if it works - i am thinking earlier is better to see if he is still going down (which would be nice as he would be getting longer duration than usual with N) or whether he is headed up (we would think his nadir is then around +4). Nadirs can move, but a general idea would be nice.

Yes, it could be a little higher than ideal if he doesn't drop more. I was just thinking of it as safe and not scary for you, since you didn't get a preshot number. If he rises from now on, then we try 2.5. If he has a nice nadir and longer cycle, then 2 looks good.

Remember, we are just gathering data. :mrgreen:
 
ok, ty for explaining :)
i am so glad for some encouragement and for ur positive words. i need it.
i am also confused bc the other day sum1 had said u feed 1 hr. b4 u give the N. since u give a preshot b4 feeding that would make the preshot at +11 instead of at +12. just trying to figure this out.

on the Ps
pee- we r down to pools from oceans....thank God! if i had had to do the litter boxes as much this wk. i couldnt have done it. we had major oceans 3 wks. ago.
poop- a little soft but not diarrhea.
purring- not a much as at first on N, but still sometimes.
preening- just a bit! bc he cant use his back legs much, but he does wash his face a little now and occasionally kiss his ladycat friend.
was play #5? he uses his scratcher on the floor now! able again :) and gets aggressive sometimes when i pet him, he tries to play rough!
in a lot of ways, hes like his old kittenself again :) long way to go, but progress has been made.

i wish i could post the pic of him sleeping with Baby, the girl who has his heart. his lady love. says my pics r too big. i got a pic today. they hvnt slept togethr in quite sometime. either she senses he needs her, or she is upset that hes now been sleeping in her bed. haha theyre so precious sharing the bed together :) <3
 
The ps all sound good. Glad Larry has a lady friend. :-D

Yes, you do want to feed a half hour to hour before shooting so it softens the drop of N. So you'll want to test right before eating. It isn't the best system but with N, the only safe way to go.

I can't help with the pictures. You might ask on the Tech forum. I had to have someone else do mine for me…..
 
The test will be most accurate if you can take up the food 2 hours before testing. Food raises levels so it's good to have a preshot test not influenced by food. For the 2 preshots, you might want to pick up the food. The rest of the time, he can eat as he wishes.
 
finally! another reading! aghhh possibly good news? bg 387 at 10+ so maybe 2U was enuf today. larry has eaten and drank more than yesterday, so i am very surprised it isnt higher.
 
Not as bad as it might be, especially with N. And he isn't having the usual N cycle, crashing at +2/3 and shooting back up. He is getting a decent cycle. What dose did you give?

If you test at the usual time tomorrow, he'll be 14 hours since his last shot, so don't be surprised if he's highish.
 
What dose did you give?

only 2 U! i am surprised after the way yesterday was.


If you test at the usual time tomorrow, he'll be 14 hours since his last shot, so don't be surprised if he's highish.

i havent given shot yet, not due for over an hr.
confused again..?
 
Sorry, I thought you meant you shot early (which would have been okay). 2 units sounds fine and safe so you can sleep. When you can monitor midcycle, you might up to 2.5, if he stays in this range.
 
ok, i will plan on 2 U tonight then.
thank u for being here for me sue.
larry might not be here still without u and the others who have helped.
 
i only got one reading today it was 158 at 5+. i have tried unsuccessfully all day, footpads and all. i wonder if i shd only do 1.5? its shot time. i have pierced him all day dont wanna do it anymore. he is so scared of the meter, now. the times i did have a small drop of blood, the second i got the strip to his ear he jumped and i lost it. feeling very discouraged. :YMSIGH:
thoughts? on tonights dose?
 
Remember if you are losing the drop, get it on your fingernail. And you are using the 25-27 gauge lancets and warming the ear? If he will let you poke his paw, start a new topic and ask for paw poking help. Maybe that will work better for you both.

It is a crap shoot about dose. Looks like his numbers are dropping a little as that's a lower nadir than you have seen. Without a preshot, you are just guessing and hoping you are right. I don't know what to advise without a number - it really makes me nervous. Any chance you can get some of his treats out, play and warm his ear and try for a test?


It's hard and you don't want to hurt him, but if he would get too much and drop low, you'd have to test every 30 minutes to save him from a hypo.
 
i just finished trying for about 30 mins. we r both getting stressed out. i am just slow. by the time i get meter to ear, he shook the drop off. mornings and nights r hardest. midday he is more relaxed, and its easier.
as i said, i have poked the footpad too, many times. no blood came out there.
 
its such a TINY drop. how would u get that on ur nail without scratching his ear? hmmm
and sometimes it gets soaked up in the tissue behind his ear.
 
no, its bc he moves, and the blood soaks into the tissue. sometimes i do a 2nd one, but then i dont always get blood, and by then i lost the blood from the first one. its just something i have to learn. its taking time.
 
Well, if it's impossible, you could try one unit or 1.5 and hope it is okay. But be sure to get a test in the am if at all posible. We have to have an idea of where he is.
 
gave 1 U. after many more attempts to get a bg, i am going to try to get some sleep and start again in the morning.
 
Good Morning Pam and sweet baby!

I see that you figured out the lancet - WONDERFUL JOB!!! If you would like to try any of these other ones that I have, let me know and I'll send them to you.

BIG HUG TODAY!!! Keep it up, you're doing just fine!
 
good morning! i never figured out how to adjust the one. is that what u mean?
its just inconsistent. sometimes i try every hr. and get nothing. sometimes i get blood. i have tried all 3 devices i have, freehand, and diff. gauges....26, and 28. nothing works every time or is easy. the relion micro is easiest but doesnt adjust with the clear cap on (i need the clear cap)
i have been at it a week yesterday. surely i will find something that works every time? i hope!
i have vision issues, bc i need bifocals...and i have a painful unsteady set of hands. i just have to make it work. thank u so much for ur kindness. :-D
 
Pam,
The clear cap is used for areas that you can press harder and make the skin sort of squish into that little hole. That would be like on your arm or the heel of your thumb. You can use it but you might be having issues because of that. Just keep working on it, you're doing GREAT!
 
ohhhhhhh! well darn it, if that cap adjusted life would be grand. thats the perfect device but yea its been hard to determine pressure bc u cant adjust.
thanks for telling me!
 
Maybe practice using it on an apple, so you can visually calibrate where you see it with where it pricks.
 
on the bright side...we have gotten in 4 tests today! a record for us. hopefully larry is ok. been using the 26 gauge and pressing pretty hard. at any rate, we got a 7+ of 119. this is lowest reading ever. is this good?
i think i may see a pattern. hes had more chicken (lots of chik as a reward) today, and is getting so spoiled to it. he eats less of his food. just a thought why he may be this low.
comments?
 
Congrats on all the tests. Isn't it nice to know where he is? The blue is lovely. Especially in that it is later in the cycle. Usually with N, we see a low number early and a climb back up. So, he dropped a lot but slowly - all good!

If he is snacking on chicken, he probably is just not as hungry for his food. But should be getting enough that it is probably not a empty stomach drop.

I find all this really encouraging!
 
yea, if he is above 400, or in the case....lowest reading ever, i sit and stare at the meter in doubt? i have been keeping his ears pretty well greased with the neosporin. it serves multiple purposes.
the ointment residue couldnt cause a false reading could it? just learning....
 
WOOHOO!!! Wonderful Pam!

Another reason Larry isn't eating as much is you're giving him insulin. His body can use the food better so he's not as hungry.
 
hopefully it is accurate. surely someone would have mentioned if vaseline or neosporin affected the sample.
definitely yes....he is eating like a normal cat again. i had forgotten what it was like to see him eat so slowly...1 little bite at a time, and not acting so hungry.
he is just so funny at times...he is truly in his 2nd kittenhood. poor cat cant jump higher than the bathtub (he jumps in hard as it is, and likes to sleep there...who knows why) and yet hes crawling across the floor...that lil side climb they do, where they lay on there side and use the nails to climb/slide across the floor. hes even wanting to play rough with another cat now!
i was so used to his sick behavior, i didnt realize how bad it was until he got better. 3 wks in today, on our journey. :-D
cheers to u all who comment! i could sure use some champagne (no icon) ~O)
 
IloveLarry said:
thank u bj.
the clear cap doesnt have an adjustment, remember? i think ur the one who just told me lol

By visually calibrate, I mean something like shoot the apple using a finger as a positioning guide, then look where the prick hole is compared to where the finger is.

I did not mean adjusting the lancet depth.
 
thank u bj.
sorry i couldnt remember the other persons name...think it was laresa who told me about the guard. i knew it wasnt u :)
 
Hi Pam, I used the FreeStyle lite lancet device which has a clear cap and is adjustable. I have an extra one and can give it to you to try. I liked it a lot.

Also I live in Chattanooga and would be willing to come help you sometime. I can't get out until later this week since our driveway is too slippery with the snow, but I think it will melt off in a day or two.

I sent a PM too. :-D

 
Congrats! You are doing great! You will get the hang of it soon. I also struggle to get samples but found that if I put a small smear of neosporin on her ear, and poke, gently put the test strip on the blood (vertically, not horizontally) the strip will suck up the blood. I was doing it all wrong in the beginning.

Sometimes, no amount of poking will produce blood if her ears are swollen from a lot of poking. Best to wait and let the the ears rest before testing again!

Good luck my friend!
 
thanks to u all!
yea, mamalou, i strtd giving a diabetic human shots when i was 9. then took care of a family member with it until they died. lost a friend who had it in 2012, still have a living friend with it.
i am very familiar with all the equipment and such. too much so. it sucks whether in human or animal.
the only changes r the sophistication of the equipment. the last meter/lance device/strips i used in 2010 didnt compare with this. technology!
 
I think so. It's conservative, but it's overnight and you need rest. He may have bounced a little from that lovely blue earlier.

You should be able to sleep tonight in the knowledge that you did a great job testing today!
 
oh ty!! i did it b4 i crash. i should have made my name LarrysNurse. i love taking care of him. its just been hard.
then due to the weather there was no bus today so i hv 2 figure out a way out tmrw. then my crown fell off so i need 2 get to the dentist. God help us. ohmygod_smile
goodnight all
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top