today-Shakespeare

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
hi everyone, sorry I was working all weekend
and its been crazy
We are waiting for blood test results today ..
his teeth are really bad again..she put him on clymaciden..something like that
but it made his really sick so I stopped it and will call to get another anti biotic today
something so interesting she told me and I dont know if anyone else knew this

She looked at his numbers and said "isnt it interesting that his numbers
are going up again after you started a new vial"
then proceeded to explain that the way insulin is regualted is that it has to fall
between a certain percentage for strength, so each vial could potentially
be different in how strong it is...(I am probably not explaining exactly like her but I think you get it)
Well wish I knew that awhile ago so I upped his dose and his numbers are stating to coedown again.
I will catchup with everyone later
hope lal is well
 
Good to hear from you! You are not allowed to post about going to the vet then not show up for a couple of days ever again. I was about to look up your phone number! :smile:

How long has it been since he last had his teeth cleaned? I need to have Thumper's cleaned I think but the vet said they didn't seem to be too bad.

Interesting about the new vial. Hope he will continue to get better numbers since you raised his dose!

Barbara
 
Sorry Babara,
just worked all weekend, so exhausted
I just got a call from the vet and I am SO confused.
She said his blood when they tested him Saturday was 357, but stress can contribute
I know he goes up alot when he goes to the vet
Here is my confusion
she said his Fructosomene test resutls were 440 :shock:
How is that possible???????
I use freestyle lite meter so I figured it would be a littl higher but by that much.
Does anyone know which test is more accurate, the blood test of fructosomene...
should I trust the frustosomene...
I bought the alpha track meter and I an waiting for the strips, this way I can see how much it varies..
 
That fructosamine test can't be right. Your meter would have to be off by 200 or more points.

I would go by the blood test, that number shows what he was at that particular moment and even their test wasn't 440.
 
Denise,
Not sure if these links will help out or not:

http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Fructosamine
http://labtestsonline.org/understanding/analytes/fructosamine/tab/test

I might post in Health and ask for someone who can help make sense of the fruct test. I don't think it means the fruct results are "right" and the tests you are getting at home are "wrong". I think there are valid reasons for a higher number from the fruct test, but I'm sure that there must be members who understand lab results enough to give you some good input. I don't think it is as simple as saying "that means his BG averages 440" especially since you never see numbers like that day to day.

Carl
 
Denise,
I've been out of if for a few days too. Lots and lots of work.
Saw you took Shakes to the vet. Was this a routine visit or was the poor boy sick?
Hope things get better soon!
 
Thanks everyone for your input, got some interesting reading
Eva'a article makes more sense to me and I have had him in the high100's to low 200's for the last few
weeks with a few 300's throw in...
I am hoping that it is true calculation for cats though....

his teeth and gums have gotten so bad I am almost temped to start him on the
EVO dry as he never had teeth problems before I stopped giving him the dry
he had 5 teeth pulled 5 months ago and they are looking bad again!
She suggested I try brushing his teeth :lol: ohmygod_smile :?:
Does anyone do this?
 
My mom brushes her dog's teeth daily. Yeck. She swears it keeps them healthy (she's never had a dog having teeth problems so I guess I ought to believe her).

The dog sits and waits while Mom brushes her own teeth, knowing hers are next (different tooth brush, by the way). And I thought my cat was weird.
 
I tried brushing my dogs teeth, it was a disaster. I just wasn't a very good dog trainer! I never attempted doing the cats & I don't think I'm going to start trying now. Some people have good luck with it I think.
 
I came home from the vet with toothpaste for cats one time, but I could never manage to get either Alex or Audrey to cooperate.
 
Ginny & Alex said:
I came home from the vet with toothpaste for cats one time, but I could never manage to get either Alex or Audrey to cooperate.

Alex & a toothbrush...I just can't imagine! :lol: :lol:
 
dmartini4 said:
I use freestyle lite meter so I figured it would be a littl higher but by that much.
.
Denise,

I saw you are using the freestyle meter. Don't know if this will help, but i used the freestyle meter on copper for about a week when i realized that the meter was reading on avg 100 pts lower than the alpha track meter borrowed from the vet. I compared for several days (alpha trac and freestyle) and always about 100pts lower on freestyle meter. So bought the relion meter and did three way comparison(alpha trac, freestyle and relion). The alpha trac and relion were always within 30pts of each other and the freestyle always 100pts less. So switched to the relion meter instead of the alpha trac because strips on relion much cheaper than alpha. Just a thought about the freestyle meter.....

Hope you get it all figured out soon!

lori
 
thank Lori that dose help
because the strips for the alpha track are 60.00 for 50...too much for a months worth!
I will also compare and I think I might go get the relion and see what hapeens with that
THanks :mrgreen:
 
Glad Shakes is off the antibiotic that was making him sick. We all were worried about him when we didn't hear anything. I haven't been on here much last few days either, been busy too. I would trust the blood test more than fruc test, I think the fruc test always runs higher.
Interesting about the Alpha Trak and Relion meter testing within range of each other. I use the Bayer Contour or One Touch Ultra mini, I can get 50 strips for Contour for 24.99 from Hocks. I took both meters in and compared with vet's pet meter and the One Touch was within 10 points of hers and the Contour 35 points.
I had been thinking of getting a Relion but I hate going to Walmart. Since I can get the strips for Contour so much cheaper through Hocks guess I'll stick with it.
 
Denise I know that Alisha and Beau ( she use to use prozinc and switched to lanus) she brushes beau's teeth maybe you could ask her ??? cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top