Toby's numbers today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Toby started out at 382 Today then +3 he was at 411 then +8 he at 354 this is his second day on Levermir Started yesterday morning at 1/2 unit numbers were in high 500's to 414 .Went to 1 unit Last night To see if I could get numbers down some. Don't know if this is right dose he was on 4-1/2 units PZI . I am so afraid he will get ketones . Yesterday he was peeing a lot and drinking a lot of water . Today he seems a lot better with that. Haven't been able to get ketone test today but' yesterday it was neg. Do you think I should hold this dose today or should I go up .25 for this evening. Thank's Peg and Toby
 
Hi Peg

Glad to see you and Toby made it over here. First off you're going to have to forget everything you learned about how PZI works because Levemir is a completely different animal.

PZI is a "In and Out" in other words you shoot, it does its job and is out completely by the next shot. Levemir is a depot insulin it binds to a protein in the blood and has to unbind before it becomes available to Toby to use to drop his BGs. So the shot you give in the a.m. isn't the dose he's using during that cycle it's the shot you gave last night or even yesterday morning.

When working with the L insulins the keyword is PATIENCE!!

You can fast track with Levemir a little bit by waiting 3 days on a dose and if his nadir isn't low enough raise again but if you over shoot the ideal dose and he hypos a Levemir hypo can last up to 16 hours of trying to feed up numbers.

Nadirs in Levemir cats are usually late in the cycle somewhere between +7-+12 but you're onset is later as well usually between +4-+6

So to answer your direct question. I'd hold for at least 5 days since he's just establishing depot after that you should be safe to fast track him if you so choose.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Do you think 1 unit is to much to start with he was at 4-1/2 on the other dose for PZI ? He weights 13 lbs. He was 18 before he got sick. Peg and Toby
 
Toby bg ended up at 369 tonight. Stayed in the 300's most of the day. At +3 after he ate he was at 411. Peg and Toby
 
Yep he should be still rising at +3..

Correct me if I'm wrong but PZI curves like Lantus where it looks like a smiley face, right? Levemir is often bell shaped where they continue to rise to as late as +5 or +6, and their nadirs and preshots can be the same. My Autumn rises until +5, if she's dropping at +3, I've got an active cycle where I'm going to need to watch she doesn't head to low. But her nadir is +11

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
So are you saying that their bg should rise till +5 or+6 and then start down? If it starts down before that you have to watch it?
Sorry I don't know how the Levermir works. Thought it kind of stayed fairly even. Peg and toby
 
Yep at least in the beginning as you get closer to his ideal dose it flattens out.

But you'll still see a shallow bell to the curve. Although that's usually there are exceptions to every rule. :lol: My Cassanova uses Levemir (or did) like most cats use Lantus, but then again he's a different story because like my other two, I adopted him as a diabetic to keep him from being put to sleep by his previous owner.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Toby started the day at 387. At +6 he's at 332. Didn't get a +3 this morning because I was out. Will do a + 9 and see how that goes. So far he's doing as well on 1 unit of Levermir as he was doing on 4-1/4 of the PZI. While I know these numbers are not good I'm hoping when we increase the dose we'll see better numbers. He seems to be a little more lively today got me up at 4.30 am to go out in his pen. Don't mind just glad he's feeling better. Peg and Toby
 
Toby had 391 at +9 and 385 at +12 showed small ketones today . Still eating and drinking good adding water to his food to keep him hydrated. Hope his bg comes down before he gets real sick. In the morning will be 3 days on this dose. He is doing better
because he been in the pinks all day no reds or blacks. Peg and Toby
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top