Toby's first day on Levermir

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Started Toby on Levermir this morning. His starting bg was 524 from last nights PZI. At + 3 he was 587 and at + 6 he's 475.
He is on a starting dose of 1/2 unit. Don't know if this is enough because he has been drinking a lot of water and peeing a lot
today which he wasn't doing before. I have read that this takes at least 3 days to build up in his system. He was on 4-1/2
units of the PZI and his bg was all over the place. Can anyone tell me if this is normal for him to be doing this when first going on the levermir. Worried Mom, Peg and Toby
 
Levemir, like Lantus is a depot insulin and it takes a couple of days for the full effect to be evident.
Since you were on 4 1/2 units of PZI I would have started with 1 unit Levemir.
 
Thanks for your quick reply. I dose at 6am and 6pm so tonight I will try 1 unit and see how that goes. Peg and Toby
 
Toby ended his 12 hr. bg at 414 but stayed pretty even through the day. I know your supposed to hold a dose for 3 days but , due to drinking a lot of water and peeing a lot more today I gave one unit tonight . Ketones are neg. so far. Will hold this dose for 3 Days unless he drops to much. Peg and Toby
 
Toby's bg started out at 382 this morning with 1unit a little better than yesterday. Will monitor today to see how it goes. keeping my fingers crossed. Peg and Toby
 
Peg

If you'd like to move over to Relaxed Lantus I'd be happy to help you with Toby both of mine are Levemir cats. I just don't wander over here much on a regular basis.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top