Tobey update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stephanie Montgomery

Member Since 2016
Tobey's numbers are starting to go back up, last 2 readings were 450 and 310. I just started using the u100 syringes with conversion chart so have a feeling I need to get back to the u40. He is also starting to be wobbly in his hind legs and not jumping well. Still haven't changed his dosage from the starting one of 1 unit. I don't want to go back to a vet. Can I just increase it daily? But I don't want to mess with that on a u100. I am about to order u40 and it'll probably take about a week.
 
I see that you haven't entered any data in Tobey's spreadsheet. We can certainly help you but can't give advice without seeing Tobey's data. You say you've been giving the same insulin dose since you began in July. Did your vet ask you to do a blood glucose curve at home or take Tobey there for testing? Have you talked to your vet since Tobey was diagnosed?

It's definitely possible to do what you need to do without taking him to the vet frequently. There are many people here to help you out but they absolutely need to see a spreadsheet of data. Have you recorded your at home blood glucose test results elsewhere? Could you transfer what you have to the spreadsheet? Until then I can't give you any dosing advice and feel confident that I'm not jeopardizing Tobey's health. Is Tobey eating well? Are you feeding wet low carb canned food?

Regarding Tobey's trouble with his back legs: unregulated diabetes can cause neuropathy that shows up as back leg weakness. He might also feel wobbly from being unwell. Hard to know. Please give us more information.
 
I've gone back and read your other posts so I see that you've had problems with Tobey eating, having trouble walking, etc. I see why you're reluctant to go back to the vet. We can certainly help but need to see spreadsheet data.
 
I agree that a spreadsheet would really help. We have people who will help you set it up if you need help. The directions are here:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

The most important info is the preshot and nadir numbers. If he drops low midcycle, then he may be bouncing for preshot. If he is high and flat, then the dose may need to be increased.

The protocol and beginner's guide will give you some background in how ProZinc works. They are in my signature in blue.

While you are working on your spreadsheet, how about giving us the last few days of numbers - whatever you have - in a format like this:
Date
Amps. (Morning number before food and shot) #units given
Any numbers you have during the cycle
Pmps (evening number 12 hours later before food and shot) #units given
 
Are you giving him b12 supplements? If not I would start that in addition to the insulin. No one can really advise you on a dose without knowing how low he goes mid cycle.
 
I'm sorry to hear Tobeys not feeling better. Some numbers for the last few days would definitely help! The format Sue gave will be easiest to understand. Were the 450 and 310 preshots?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top