Tobey getting started very soon

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I am posting first time on this prozinc thread. I haven't started my boy on insulin yet. I just got the hang of testing. I really still hate it but I think I'm getting better. Tobey isn't really eating as well for the first time I noticed his appetite just dropped. I got 3 readings since yesterday but I need to know how to put them in my SS. 2 last night after eating and 1 this morning before eating. I leave food out during the day which is zero carb young again.
 
Hi Stephanie, glad you made it over here. Are you feeding anything else, or just Young Again? Is Tobey acting ok?
 
He's tired right now and not interested in much food all the sudden. Just likes to lick the wet out of fancy feast and barely touches young again. I guess I should take him into the vet since most. I've changed foods up so much that his tummy makes gurgling sounds really loud too. And my 3 other cats are not feeling good now and not liking their food. Non diabetic cats.
 
If they are all not feeling good, maybe a trip to the vet would be a good idea. Hope they all feel better!
 
Hey Sharon, I was reading Stephanie's post in the other thread and noticed you mention we should not shoot below 250 on an AlphaTrak. So far I've understood it's NS under 200, although if you look at my SS you'll see I'm guilty of not abiding by that. :(

I've read that we want to have "shootable number" both in the AM and the PM, but isn't it a good thing to NOT have a shootable number? I'm always pleased to see a number below 200 when I test. Those instances where I've given her a dose even under that threshold is because I figured she'd be back up in the higher numbers with no shots all day or night. I understand too that its preferable to have them in the higher numbers rather than going Hypo. On that note, she's a kitty that doesn't seem to display much difference in behavior when she's gone into lower numbers, although I'm generally at work when I suspect that's happening...

I figure this info will be good for Stephanie too when she gets started with the insulin.
 
Hi Danielle, I've never used the AT meter, but have been told that 250 is the no shot number for beginners. @MrWorfMen's Mom can tell you more about that. We want you to have two shootable numbers a day and aim for 200's at preshot and nadirs in low 100's and double digits above 68 (on AT) to start. After that we tweak the dose and strive for normal numbers and ultimately hope for OTJ.
 
So I guess ultimately I would need to be able to test more than just before her AM and PM food times, so when she's below 200 at those times I can follow up when she's above that, or 250 for AT...sigh.
 
Of course the more tests the better we can tell how the insulin is working, but if you have to go to work, testing all day isn't an option. You're getting some tests in at night, that's great. Try to get a curve done on one of your days off. That will give us some info.
 
Congratulations on testing Stephanie! It will get easier. In the beginning, no one was allowed to make a sound when I was testing as that is how uptight I was. After a while, I was testing him on my bed,( not a good idea if the spread in while :banghead:) , on the window sill, on the back of the couch. It really does get easier but so very important to keep Tobey safe.

The sooner you can start on insulin the faster he will get into better numbers to help him feel better but that said, I understand that right now while he isn't eating for you, you would wait. It sounds like all the animals could have a virus or something that is making them all not want to eat. Any diarrhea?
 
Last night after eating he was 279. This morning before eating he was 274. He didn't eat much so not going to make huge difference in before and after "eating".
 
Hey Stephanie! Glad you made it over here! Sounds like Tobey isn't in too bad of numbers so far. When are you planning to start the insulin?
 
He's not eating well since last 3 days, so didn't want to start like he is. I switched to young again zero carb dry food and still giving FF but he just lucks the moisture out. We are starting insulin tonight. Neighbor has a cat with diabetes too so she can show me a lot I hope. I didn't test him yesterday or this morning but I will when I get home. He is free feeding while I am gone so I don't think I will get a good number. Right now I just want him to eat because he all the sudden became very picky and lost appetite.
 
Hi Stephanie, that can be a reaction because of his slightly higher numbers. So please don't stall the insulin because he's not eating well. Hopefully he will get better numbers starting tonight!
 
Don't feel bad Stephanie, you've had your reasons to stall the insulin so nobody is judging you. But i'm just saying it now because you've got the insulin and you can get the help from you neighbor tonight so there is nothing to be afraid off. You can test, you've done it so it will be easier later on if you test a little more in the upcoming days and you've found this forum so if you need help or are scared about something, just come online and we all are more than willing to guide you and Tobey! :bighug: You will be fine Stephanie!
 
Hi Stephanie!
Welcome to the best lifeline you could have! The folks on these forums are amazing and will help and support you as you go along.
I'm new to this myself and it's been about a week now since I started giving insulin and a little more than that since I started testing. It's a very scary journey I know! But having people here looking out for you and guiding you really does help.
All I can really offer you is some moral support at the moment as I'm only learning like you are and if I can do this the you can! That's great that your neighbour can advise you too so you never alone.

Even after a few days on insulin it's like my kitty has a new lease of life I can't believe how much she has changed back to her former self.
I'm sure Tobey will be the same.

Like you I found Tempest didn't like the food I was changing her to, so I found one that was similar to the one she was originally eating called Sheba fine flakes (poultry) and that really helped.
 
Where do you find this food? Is it low carb?
Yes it's very low carb 1.9 - I found it on the site here as I was given the uk food list. I tried several types before I found this one and from day one she got her appetite back. I buy it in the local tescos. I'm not sure if they do it where you live but maybe you could order it, if they do Sheba where you live?
 
I buy cat food on Amazon (we eat Wellness here). I have it auto ship every month, and they give a small discount. That way, I always have enough food and I don't have to go to the store. :) I don't know if Amazon will have what you want, but you can check.
 
How are you getting on with Tobey? Is he feeling any better?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top