to shoot or not????

Status
Not open for further replies.

SugarFreeLucy

Member Since 2012
Ok, so PMPS for miss lucy is 74....I'm not sure if I should shoot or not..I am home for the night so can monitor her..last time I skipped a shot she went crazy high the next morning!

Here are her #s for today as I am on my phone and can't link!

AMPS 246 (1u given)
+1 216
+2 184
+5 150
+7 124
+9 86
+11.5 72
PMPS 74

I have not fed yet! Please advise!!
 
You have 3 choices:

1. Don't feed and wait till she gets up to a number you are comfortable shooting. This will mean your have to adjust your shot schedule to the new time 12 hours apart and then gradually work your way back over the course of a day or two to get back to your old shot time.

2. You can feed and shoot a reduced dose, say half of what you normally do and monitor how she does on that.

3. You can skip and wait till your next scheduled time to give an injection.
 
Actually, there's a fourth choice.

You can go ahead an shoot what you normally do at the time you normally do and monitor, monitor, monitor. If you are home for the night, have plenty of test strips, high carb food, honey, Karo syrup, etc.

Only reason why I am hesitant in suggesting that is because I don't know your cat and I don't know if there will be anyone on to help you through that approach. I am leaving in a bit for the evening.
 
Hi Cathy!

Thanks! I went with option #2! I waited 15min and tested again...she is at 83. I will see how the 1/2 dose goes! I will still moitor closely and see how she is.

Val
 
You've shot a 90 before and did ok :-D 83 is not that far from 90 ;-)

If you haven't given the reduced dose yet, you may want to consider going with a full dose at 83.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top