To shoot or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lynn & Rupert

Very Active Member
Good morning, Rupert's dosage was upped yesterday, did well, but seemed off this morning. I quick did a blood test and he was at 159 (whew), but I panicked and gave him some food. He threw that up, maybe I gave him a little too much. I read that I should have not fed him and waited 20 and check BG again. So wondering, what should I do now? It has been about 1/2 hr since last test and feeding. His BG is now 260. Safe to shoot with increased dosage? Numbers sure seemed to get higher quickly, because of the food ?
 
153 is of course low for amps and he may have been dropping all night or might have dropped low mid cycle and by amps was coming up. Regardless, 1.75 was too much. Interesting because we were thinking that he needed more at night to get the amps down - it definitely did!

Hmmm. Will you be around to monitor? If so, I think I'd try one unit. It may not be enough but I would be nervous doing 1.25.

He is not following our game plan - surprise, surprise. A little increase should have given you nicer numbers but not that nice.....
 
Ok, that sounds like a plan, 1 U . I know, right? He actually got crazy (normal) and played in the evening! He did eat a lot yesterday, I kept it at small meals, but he acted like he was starving. I should have set the alarm and checked him at night, but his numbers were high enough during the day that I didn't think it was necessary. Next time I up the dose, I will do a check during the night. Thanks so much Sue for your help and advice!
 
I will be around to monitor. Sorry, so slow to respond, I am not a morning gal and I haven't had my coffee yet! lol
 
He may have felt really good last night in the lower ranges. It's possible that the 1.75 was a good dose, but he was very active (which does bring down numbers) and that pushed him lower than usual.

I am still thinking 1.75 is not a bad dose or something in that range, for his high numbers at night. Am I thinking you have U100s too? I wonder about trying 1.6 on a high pink on a night you can catch before bed and nadir. The 153 wasn't dangerously low this am, just low to shoot for now. Maybe if you had stalled without feeding, he might have come up. Try stalling next time.

So, if he is 1.5 hours late with his shot, we may have to do some tricky footwork tonight to get you back on your schedule. Or is that open to change?
 
He may have felt really good last night in the lower ranges. It's possible that the 1.75 was a good dose, but he was very active (which does bring down numbers) and that pushed him lower than usual.

I am still thinking 1.75 is not a bad dose or something in that range, for his high numbers at night. Am I thinking you have U100s too? I wonder about trying 1.6 on a high pink on a night you can catch before bed and nadir. The 153 wasn't dangerously low this am, just low to shoot for now. Maybe if you had stalled without feeding, he might have come up. Try stalling next time.

So, if he is 1.5 hours late with his shot, we may have to do some tricky footwork tonight to get you back on your schedule. Or is that open to change?
Sorry, was busy, so....I do have a U100 syringe, it is what I used yesterday. I can do a 1.6 when in the pink, I can stay up or set alarm if needed. Next time I will stall without feeding for sure. I was wondering also about his schedule now... I usually am on AMPS 10:00 ET PMPS 10:00 PMPS I would rather keep it around that time, works best for me, but could maybe adjust a little, esp for a few days to get back on schedule. If his numbers are high enough to shoot at his regular PMPS, should I go ahead with the 1.6U or safer to stay at 1U ? I can wait on his PMPS also if that is better.
 
Re: the puking right after a meal: Does Rupert tend towards scarf & barf? If so, try adding a little water to the canned meal to slow him down; and picking up his plate 1/2 way through the meal for a short "food rest" - I usually make Bat-Bat wait about 5 minutes - can help keep that food down in the tummy where it belongs.
 
Sorry, was busy, so....I do have a U100 syringe, it is what I used yesterday. I can do a 1.6 when in the pink, I can stay up or set alarm if needed. Next time I will stall without feeding for sure. I was wondering also about his schedule now... I usually am on AMPS 10:00 ET PMPS 10:00 PMPS I would rather keep it around that time, works best for me, but could maybe adjust a little, esp for a few days to get back on schedule. If his numbers are high enough to shoot at his regular PMPS, should I go ahead with the 1.6U or safer to stay at 1U ? I can wait on his PMPS also if that is better.
Let's see what the cycle looks like. I would guess (tho that is never wise) that he will run a little higher for the cycle - maybe bouncing from a possible lower number overnight and from the smaller dose this am. If so, and he is clearly rising, you should be able to shoot early with the pm dose.
 
Ok, I will do that and continue to check him today. He is a scarfer, but usually doesn't barf and I almost always add water and smear it around. Good tip about taking it away for a bit of a rest! He was ravenous yesterday, thought he would eat me if he could! lol It was so great to see him acting like his old self yesterday, not so much today. Sometimes I feel my emotions are as up and down as his BG levels! Thank you so much for your help and advice Sue and Robin! It's been quite a morning, other kitty Tuffy, threw up a big hair ball as soon as I got out of bed, then Rupert hurled all over the kitchen floor, tg it wasn't on the carpet! :p Thanks again ladies, you're the bestest! :bighug:
 
Holy Smokes...I think I am going to invest in paper towels! :) I had someone throw up twice too this am. It must be the humidity or weather of some sort.
 
Oh gosh. Hope everyone's tummy settles down.
Thanks Sue, they did, Tuffy just had a hair ball, but a big one and Rupert just ate too fast, even though I smooshed it down and added water. I am going to start taking it away for 5 mins half way through. He has always been a food guy, but never fat. Wish I could be so lucky! lol
 
Holy Smokes...I think I am going to invest in paper towels! :) I had someone throw up twice too this am. It must be the humidity or weather of some sort.
It must be catching Merlin! I go through a ton of paper towels, I think most do that have one or more cats. I wouldn't mind be an investor in these insulin producers either, wowser lots of $$! I treat my bottle as if it was pure gold!
 
Try using a large plate or platter and spreading the food thinly across it. That should help slow him down.
 
Try using a large plate or platter and spreading the food thinly across it. That should help slow him down.
I remember you said that before BJM so I tried it tonight and it did help. Thanks again for all your great tips and advice! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top