To shoot or not to shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.
You can shoot that number....IF

You would be able to get a couple of early cycle tests (like +2 and +3)
You have test strips.
You feel comfortable doing so.

You can also stall for a little while to see if the number comes up, but if you do that, do so without feeding.

Wait for another opinion or two...

Carl
 
Just to make sure, because this would matter....you are using an Alpha Track meter?

Carl
 
My vet said to shoot if above 150 but she disregards the low numbers in the middle of the cycle.
 
Your vet is half right. You can shoot with a line at 150, but you can't disregard the low numbers in the middle. Those are the numbers that matter the most.

I am inclined, if you are using an AT meter, to say "skip the shot".
 
Just so you have a perspective, look at the subject lines on the board. People shoot lower numbers than 150. I shot an 80 at PMPS tonight. Granted, I have a lot of data. By skipping shots, you're not getting good results. If your vet is disregarding the mid-cycle numbers, she's not familiar with the way Lantus works. It's the mid-cycle numbers, the lowest numbers in the cycle that are the basis for Lantus dosing.
 
OK, just as always, this is the call of the person holding the needle. :smile:

Can you get a test at +2 and +3? That might give you an early warning if you might be looking at an "active" cycle.

Carl
 
Lucy said:
Wait, that's a safe number for alphatrak(+30)?

Yes, it's a safe number. On my Relion, that might be a 150. Which is still a safe number. The MOST important thing is YOUR level of comfort. I shot numbers lower than that, but only after a couple of months of treatment.

Carl
 
Well, in the last 5 days she has had 3 nadirs under 70 (feline numbers, not human), is that not too low?
 
It's low enough for sure. I wish we knew what today's nadir was.
You haven't given the shot yet?
 
Not yet. Perhaps I should just skip tonight since it is running late then feel more confident about lower numbers starting tomorrow.
 
I think that I would agree with that strategy. And it won't mess up your shot timing in the morning. And you'll be able to sleep without worrying.

Carl
 
On an AT meter, a 70 would warrant a dose reduction. The problem, though, is that your cat's numbers are, overall, not in a normal range -- at least from what's on your SS. You're missing half of your data by not getting tests during the PM cycle. Without that information, there's no way to know just how well your kitty is doing. All it looks like is that you skip the PM shot and numbers are high in the AM so you give insulin, numbers come down, and the process repeats.

In order to get your cat into remission, you're going to need to get some PM tests and, most likely to give a shot at night.

If you'd like, you can lower your cat's dose to "some" insulin or a "fat" 0 dose. It looks like this:
someinsulin-1.jpg


Hopefully, by shooting some insulin, you will be able to give a consistent amount.
 
Well, she wakes me up in the middle o the night anyways. I should just get up and punish her with a blood test. Ha! ;)
 
Another thing that you should be aware of is the way things "work" here on the Tight Regulation forum.

If you do decide to shoot in a situation like this, and people advise it's okay to do so, we understand that it could mean you're up all night with your kitty. It also means that those who are advising are willing to pull an all-nighter with you. I think they call them "PJ Parties" here! Nobody is going to leave you alone with this sort of thing. If I (or anyone) said "yeah, you can go for it), we're also saying "I'll be here as long as you're awake".

In case you weren't aware of that...

Carl
 
Oh my, I would never expect that but how kind of you folks! I am going to try to be more consistent with the shots so you may be hearing more from me. :)
 
Good morning! I have one more question. Can I use the shot I prepared for her last night or is it contaminated from sitting out all night?
 
My Lucy says hello to your Lucy! Leave it to a Lucy to make things interesting. :mrgreen:

I would discard last night's insulin. Leaving it in the syringe overnight can lessen the effectiveness.

I'm glancing at your spreadsheet now and want to spend some time today studying it in more detail. Will you be home today to get some additional tests? More data will go a long way toward figuring out the best way to get Lucy's numbers regulated.
 
I should go into work today. I just made a post in the main forum. My cat loves nutritional yeast. I had researched it before and found claims that it is low carb. However, I am wondering if that is based on human dietary needs. It has 5 grams of carbs per 1/4 cup. That seems like a lot for a diabetic cat?
http://www.bobsredmill.com/nutritional-yeast.html
 
ok, can you get some tests in tonight if not today? We all try to get a "before bed test" at least, so we can get an idea of what the insulin is doing. I realize you're not always shooting at night, but ideally we can find a way to get insulin into Lucy twice a day so she can level out and hopefully go OTJ. I like to study spreadsheets and brainstorm about ways to try to make that happen. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top