To shoot or not to shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Member Since 2011
First off, I don't have a spreadsheet, so my apologies on that one.

Ruby was prescribed 1 unit of PZI, twice a day. She doesn't eat nearly as much as she's supposed to. This morning (4:30 AM), pre-feeding and pre-shot she was at 184. I fed her and 2 hours later (6:30 AM) she was 256 so I gave her the shot. It happened that I was home over lunch today and tested her at 11:30 (so +5 from the shot) and she was at 285. I got her to eat a decent amount tonight (around 6:00 PM), a combination of Fancy Feast and dry DM. I just tested, about 30 minutes after she ate, and she's at 179. Should I hold off on the shot tonight?

In general, I leave the house at 7:30 in the morning and don't return until about 6:00 pm, so I stick to that 12 hour spread as much as I can. I don't want to give her a shot too late tonight because I won't be here later than 7:30 in the morning to give her the shot then.

Thanks
 
I would skip tonight. You can't trust the number because she ate before the test, (is that what you meant?). You need to test, then feed, then shoot. (lots of us shoot while they are eating.). Food raises bg levels so you can be looking at a food induced number, not a true number. It may be actually lower than 179.

Tomorrow she will probably be high after 24 hours between shots but knowing that, just give your regular dose. Depending on the numbers tomorrow, you may want to reduce your dose. You want to give a dose that allows you to shoot twice daily. If there is any way to get a test again mid cycle, that will help us figure this out. Leave out food tomorrow so if she goes low, she can eat and bring herself up.

I think her numbers are excellent considering she is still eating some dry. You will want to be very cautious especially if she starts eating all wet. Her numbers could drop dramatically.

I know it is hard to balance work and her schedule but if you can get her on all wet and watch the doses carefully, this might be a short process.
 
I do normally test her before she eats. "Normally" means for the week I've been doing it. (she was diagnosed at Christmas)
It seems like her numbers are within the normal range (120 -180) in the morning, but then by early evening she's too high again (mid 200 - low 300).
 
You said she wasn't eating well? If she is eating less overnight, that may be why her numbers are lower in the am. You want her to eat enough to stay well and healthy and be able to use the insulin. Can you leave some food out at night for her?

Btw, 200-300 are not high numbers for a new diabetic. They are good. We have lots of cats who come on with 400-500 ranges.
 
I do leave some food out. She's normally a very good eater (hence the 14 lbs). I really think she doesn't like what she's being given now. Before this started she was eating Purina One dry food (which I will always regret) and it was like crack for her. I gave it to her once since her diagnosis (in a pinch) and she ate it like there was no tomorrow. We've tried 4 or 5 flavors of FF, two flavors of Wellness, two flavors of Fiskies Special Diet and she turns up her nose at them after a bite or two. She will also only eat freeze dried white fish or beef liver treats (no chicken, no shrimp, no tuna, no salmon). She's just a wee bit picky.
 
Have you tried FortiFlora? It's a probiotic that is made of the animal digest that makes dry food so irresistible. You sprinkle some on the food. It is magic for some picky eaters, not so much for others. Your vet might have some or you can order it online.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top