To shoot or not to shoot!

Status
Not open for further replies.

suzeo

Member Since 2011
Just did a test and Winnies reading was 169. I gave her a .1 (Humulin) shot this morning at 5:30. I will be feeding her now. Should I give her anything? I think she is a little skinny, (see previous post) and I don't want to not give her enough, but of course I don't want to overdose. Do the following rules still apply, Below 150-nothing, 150-200 nothing, small amount or wait and retest and above 200 reduce dose?
 
If you can keep from feeding her and wait the 20 minutes, I would see how fast she comes up. (The reason you don't feed is that the food can move the numbers up and you don't want to shoot a number that is high because of the food. )You are getting a long duration from Humulin if she is below 200 12 hours after the am shot . (Am I reading this right?) Most cats only get 6-8 hours out of Humulin before they shoot right back up.

It may be a good idea to get some mid cycle numbers as you can. (Some people set the alarm and get a number at night if they are not home during the day.) I would be very curious how low she went early on (3 or so hours in) and then about +6.
 
She's been getting 1 unit for a couple of weeks now. I lowered it from 2 units because the numbers were dropping. Her numbers are anywhere from the 169 to 191 to 220 range. I will wait another 2+ hours and test again. Before she started eating the proper food, her numbers were in the 300 range!
 
One thing to remember on Humulin is that she needs to have food in her tummy before shooting, so with that particular insulin you want to test, feed wait about half an hour then give her shot. That insulin usually hits very hard early on so it would be interesting to see what number she has early in the cycle, like at +1 0r +2.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette and The Fur Gang.
 
You said:
Do the following rules still apply, Below 150-nothing, 150-200 nothing, small amount or wait and retest and above 200 reduce dose?
That scale is the default scale. You have to modify it based on your cat's experience. My Twigie was on N insulin and could give here a full dose with a BG 110.

Also for information, Humulin is the the trademarked name for a family of insulins. Now it only includes N and R but used to include L and U. I assume you are using N insulin.
 
Larry,

I am assuming that you were able to shoot those kinds of numbers after you had the data to know how your cat might react.

She is a new diabetic with food issues. I think we would be wise to advise her to be cautious until she knows more about how her cat does with the insulin.
 
She was 169 pre shot, 165 +1, 164 +2 and 195 +12. I'll try to get a mid range on Saturday. I'm still giving her .1 unit of Humulin N.
 
If you are drawing the plunger in the syringe back to the "1" marking, then you are giving "1" unit, not ".1" unit. I just want to make sure we know exactly what dose you are using. ".1" unit is a teeny-tiny-need-a-super-magnifying-glass-to-measure amount of insulin.
 
That is a nice mild curve for Humulin. Could you set up a spreadsheet so you (and we) could get a idea of your patterns? It would make it so much easier to help with dosing.

Here is the info for the spreadsheet. If you have trouble, just ask for help. It has been contrary lately.

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top