To shoot or not to shoot?

soreto

Member Since 2025
What BG # do you not shoot at for your cat?

I run into the issue regularly where Kitty is at a low but healthy AM BG (like 80-110) & I don't shoot. However, when I test him 12 hours later, his BG will be too high (high 100s to 300s). This has happened several times. I don't know how to keep him steadily low. Depending on his BG, I either shoot nothing, 1.0u or 1.25u.

(He eats throughout the day, so the BG reading has little to do with when to feed him.)

He was diagnosed 6 months ago, I am attaching his readings from the last few months below-

m1.jpeg
 
Last edited:
If you are using the Start Low Go Slow dosing method per the signature, you need to lower his dose. Whenever you see a number under 90, you reduce the dose by 0.25 units. Also, when following SLGS for dosing, you do not shoot if under 90. Here is the link to the description of the dosing method. It gives you alternatives besides skipping if you see too low a dose to shoot: Sticky Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

It's easier for us if include a link to your spreadsheet in the signature. That way you don't have to copy it each time you post.
 
If you are using the Start Low Go Slow dosing method per the signatue, you need to lowe his dose. Whenever you see a number under 90, you reduce the dose by 0.25 units. Also, when following SLGS for dosing, you do not shoot if under 90. Here is the link to the description of the dosing method. It gives you alternatives besides skipping if you see too low a dose to shoot: Sticky Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

It's easier for us if include a link to your spreadsheet in the signature. That way you don't have to copy it each time you post.

the SLGS method helped initially in getting him under 400s, but I have run into the issue of constantly changing back & forth between 1.25u & 1u. basically, it goes like this-

1) he'll be on 1.25u for a week or so; his BG will dip too low, so i'll drop the dose to 1u.
2) he'll be on 1u for a week or so; his BG will go too high, so i'll up the dose back to 1.25.

this post is asking about the times when his BG is good but if i don't shoot at all, it'll be high by the end of the day. should i do half-dose?
 
if i don't shoot at all, it'll be high by the end of the day. should i do half-dose?
Shooting a smaller dose is one of the options listed in the Dosing Method Sticky Note I linked above. Delaying or stalling (waiting without giving food) is another option.
 
Shooting a smaller dose is oe of the options listed in the Dosing Method Sticky Note I linked above. Delaying or stalling (waiting without giving food) is another option.

yea, i was hoping to gather some info on what other people do. it's not always possible for me to delay/stall if I am not around to watch him. also, there are times where kitty just won't cooperate on getting tested.
 
Back
Top