To shoot or not to shoot

Still trying to regulate dosages and know when to shoot or not shoot or even reduce dosage.
AMPS was 90
I waited 25 minutes and retested it was 92
I fed her at 9:45
retested at 10:20 and it was 89
I have not given insulin (it was scheduled at 8)
 
Hello, do you have a spreadsheet? How long has your kitty been on ProZinc? What is the dose? Are you home testing? What numbers can you share?
 
Still trying to regulate dosages and know when to shoot or not shoot or even reduce dosage.
We can really help you with all of this, if you will post here and also get a spreadsheet set up. We can help with setting up a spreadsheet, too, if it's a problem. It's so helpful to see what's happening and spot trends and make dosing decisions.
 
6/28 was first dose u-100 and i was instructed to give 1u AM & PM My vet is not a fan of home testing but I do it anyway. I just figured out how to use the spreadsheet but not sure how to share it.
 
So you are not using the U-40 insulin syringes to dose ProZinc? Why? The U-40s are the correct syringes. U-100s can be used and sometimes are beneficial (for super tiny doses) but you must use the conversion chart for them. I don't mean to belabor the point, but I've seen overdosed cats when the wrong syringes are used.

Can you link the spreadsheet to your signature... or for now, copy and paste into a message.
 
6/28 was first dose u-100 and i was instructed to give 1u AM & PM My vet is not a fan of home testing but I do it anyway. I just figured out how to use the spreadsheet but not sure how to share it.

I've been given LOTS of advice but its all so different. The most recent was to take up all food 2 hours before shooting time, test at shooting time, and it is below 150, no insulin. THEN, got different advice yesterday. My biggest fear is giving too much insulin. I'm noticing that her numbers are really dropping as she's transitioning away from her kibble only, free-feeding schedule. It's been a slow process but slowly, she seems to be cooperating a little better each day.
 
I've been given LOTS of advice but its all so different. The most recent was to take up all food 2 hours before shooting time, test at shooting time, and it is below 150, no insulin. THEN, got different advice yesterday. My biggest fear is giving too much insulin. I'm noticing that her numbers are really dropping as she's transitioning away from her kibble only, free-feeding schedule. It's been a slow process but slowly, she seems to be cooperating a little better each day.
Facebook advice? Our group? or a different group? I got some bad advice from a different group before I came here.
 
It is definitely important to make sure that your AMPS and PMPS tests (the morning and evening preshot tests) are "fasting" blood glucose numbers. So, we do recommend that you not feed for the two hours prior to those two tests. It's the only way to ensure that the number is not inflated by food -- so you can make a dosing decision (stall, skip, shoot, shoot a reduced dose.) This is important for new people to do until they have gathered a lot of data on how their cat responds to the carbs in their food.
 
Then it is correct to test, feed and shoot all withing about 10-15 minutes time. There's no need to wait with ProZinc. Onset for ProZinc is about 2 hours into the cycle for most cats. I used to shoot while my cat was eating a lot of the time (he never noticed.)
 
I'm noticing that her numbers are really dropping as she's transitioning away from her kibble only, free-feeding schedule.
If you are transitioning over to a low-carb wet food diet, I would definitely be very careful as this diet change will definitely lower her BG and the added influence of insulin will push her down further. Is she still eating kibble? If so, how much? What kind of low carb wet food diet is she eating also?
 
Hello, do you have a spreadsheet? How long has your kitty been on ProZinc? What is the dose? Are you home testing? What numbers can you share?
I just cannot figure out how to "Share" my spreadsheet. You sent me a link but I don't see instructions on how to make it pubic.
There's a "share" button but I need to enter a person or group and have no idea what to put in that box.
 
I just cannot figure out how to "Share" my spreadsheet. You sent me a link but I don't see instructions on how to make it pubic.
There's a "share" button but I need to enter a person or group and have no idea what to put in that box.
You need to set the permissions to "anyone with link" can view the spreadsheet. Then when you provide the link, people can view (not edit) your spreadsheet.
 
I have to walk away from the computer for a few minutes but will be right back. Your kitty is in good shape from the numbers you have shared. What I would do today would be to not give her any insulin for this cycle. But I would test her several times during the cycle to see what happens with her BG. This information will be very helpful! Let me go take care of some cats and come right back.

Tell me about the syringes, food, etc. (sorry, I asked you a lot of questions because I don't want to tell you the wrong things.) I'll be so happy to help you and your cat and there are several others here in ProZinc land who would be happy to help too.
 
If you are transitioning over to a low-carb wet food diet, I would definitely be very careful as this diet change will definitely lower her BG and the added influence of insulin will push her down further. Is she still eating kibble? If so, how much? What kind of low carb wet food diet is she eating also?
The past few days, she's been eating Sheba Pate and I'm mixing tuna in oil with it. It has been a real struggle getting her to eat the wet. My vet gave me an appetite stimulant that I give every 72 hours. It help a little. I feed her as much of the wet as I can get into her AM and PM ( I actually follow her around the house sticking the bowl in her face and she'll eat a little and walk away. I even add flori-flora. I'm persistent and can usually get her to eat a small Sheba with about a T of tuna mixed together but it takes about 30 minutes. Then I put 2 small bowls of kibble down for her to graze through the day because I know she's not getting enough calories in the amount of wet that's currently eating. I do the same for PM feedings. I'm still getting up early AM to pick up the dry so her glucose is fasting by at least 2 hours. (was using Hills weigh management but am slowly switching to Dr. Elsey's. Today is the first day that it's 100% Dr. Elseys)

eat https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1azkrY8xT1R4XqI6m9R9C2dFf_H6Ja5fwgjoszBGRZKo/edit?usp=sharing
 
I have to walk away from the computer for a few minutes but will be right back. Your kitty is in good shape from the numbers you have shared. What I would do today would be to not give her any insulin for this cycle. But I would test her several times during the cycle to see what happens with her BG. This information will be very helpful! Let me go take care of some cats and come right back.

Tell me about the syringes, food, etc. (sorry, I asked you a lot of questions because I don't want to tell you the wrong things.) I'll be so happy to help you and your cat and there are several others here in ProZinc land who would be happy to help too.
her ProZinc is u100, i'm using 3/10 cc 8mm 31g syringes with 1/2 unit markings
 
Last edited:
So you are not using the U-40 insulin syringes to dose ProZinc? Why? The U-40s are the correct syringes. U-100s can be used and sometimes are beneficial (for super tiny doses) but you must use the conversion chart for them. I don't mean to belabor the point, but I've seen overdosed cats when the wrong syringes are used.

Can you link the spreadsheet to your signature... or for now, copy and paste into a message.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1azkrY8xT1R4XqI6m9R9C2dFf_H6Ja5fwgjoszBGRZKo/edit?usp=sharing
 
Nala's insulin is PZI POR 100u Vet said it's easier to use the 100u because it allows for the use of u100 syringes. I recently moved here and I'm not crazy about this vet but im not about to "vet shop" until I at lease get this issue under control. She seems pretty unwilling to work with me. None of her clients do their own testing and I'm very uncomfortable giving insulin without testing (I guess that's the "nurse" coming out in me"
 
I can see it now with the link above. There's not a lot of data on it yet, but it is helpful. If she's doing 100 percent Dr. Elsey's food now (with a little of the Sheba). I would actually skip insulin today and get several tests in today. Also, many cats do tend to drop lower at night, so I would always get what we call the "before bed" test at least -- to make sure she's not dropping low or you don't need to intervene with higher carb food or set an alarm to test later in the cycle. I was hopeful when I saw her PMPS number for last night where you shot .5 unit, but there was no more testing after that, so we don't know how she did on that dose. So anyway, that leaves us pretty much back where you were before. If Nala were my cat, I probably would just gather data on what her numbers are for a few days without insulin and on the Dr. Elsey's/Sheba/tuna food only with no HC food at all. This will really tell us what her dose should be. I fear that 1 unit is too much now that she's eating the LC diet.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...r-more-than-just-carbohydrate-content.175004/

Here is some information written by Dr. Lisa Pierson, DVM, about dry food and cats. I know you are trying to transition her, and I think you are doing great so far! I'm really proud of you home testing even when your vet is opposed to it (I cannot understand why any vet would be opposed to their clients being able to know their cat's blood glucose levels? but many are and many people test anyway). You've already done a really good thing by switching to the Dr. Elsey's and trying with the Sheba/tuna. I just thought it might be helpful. She also has tips on transitioning your cat away from dry to wet food.
 
Any other mid-cycle tests on her yet for today? I'm excited to see how she does! Is she cooperative with you about testing? You are giving her a treat each time?
 
Any other mid-cycle tests on her yet for today? I'm excited to see how she does! Is she cooperative with you about testing? You are giving her a treat each time?
I was going to test again at 2(cst). I’ll post her results.
She’s eating less than 1/4 cup of the Dr Elsey’s each day. I’m limiting it to just between AM & PM feedings. This AM she ate an entire Sheba with 1T of tuna. I wasn’t gonna put the dry down because I wanted to do some more testing but, I just went into the kitchen to put something away and noticed she had jumped up on the table and eaten some of the dry food from the bowl that I put up there. I have never seen Nala on the table before. There was such a small amount in there and it looked like she probably only had 10 or 12 pieces of the kibble. She has always been a very very small eater but frequent trips to the bowl during the day. Also, she was getting a little bit chunky. She was up to about 12 1/2 pounds. I suspect over the last month she’s lost weight and is probably under 11 pounds at this point. That may also be a factor in her being able to maintain decent glucose levels now.
She used to love to have her ears rubbed. Up until this morning, I had absolutely no issues doing the blood sticks on her ears. I just tried to pet her and wanted to rub on her ears and she pulled away from me. That was the first. She’s also very iffy when it comes to treats. She’ll only take a treat 50% of the time. I’ve tried three or four of the very low carb treats, especially the freeze dried ones, and she is not at all interested. I do have some, I can’t remember what they’re called, but they look like chocolate. They’re supposed to be low carb and she’ll eat those, but again, not every time.
She is a very finicky diva
 
Facebook advice? Our group? or a different group? I got some bad advice from a different group before I came here.

The Feline Diabetes group....the one associated with this board.

I told her last night that if her PS was under 150, she should stall, DON'T feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see which direction the BG was going and to use that "stall time" to post here for help with making a decision when or if to give insulin and how much (scheduled dose amount, half dose, token dose, etc.)

I also told her to take food up 2 hours before shot times so that when she did the Pre-shot tests, they weren't influenced by food, but through the rest of the cycle, she could feed/test as much as she wanted to without worrying about when the next test is. "Happy cat, happy human!"

I'll see if I can help her with the Signature next. She's not very computer literate (like lots of us were at first) so I don't mind helping her when I can.

Great to see you here @Catherine Hargraves
 
Just tested again (5pm cst) 106
Yep. It goes without saying that there’s no shot tonight. As I said before, I would just test for a few days (like you did today so we can really see how Nala is doing) and gather as much data as you can— and keep her on the low carb food exclusively. Okay? And please check in here. I’m really happy and excited to see how she’s doing with the dietary changes. How is she acting? Feeling better?
 
Last edited:
The Feline Diabetes group....the one associated with this board.

I told her last night that if her PS was under 150, she should stall, DON'T feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see which direction the BG was going and to use that "stall time" to post here for help with making a decision when or if to give insulin and how much (scheduled dose amount, half dose, token dose, etc.)

I also told her to take food up 2 hours before shot times so that when she did the Pre-shot tests, they weren't influenced by food, but through the rest of the cycle, she could feed/test as much as she wanted to without worrying about when the next test is. "Happy cat, happy human!"

I'll see if I can help her with the Signature next. She's not very computer literate (like lots of us were at first) so I don't mind helping her when I can.

Great to see you here @Catherine Hargraves
All excellent advice, @Chris & China (GA) I am glad it was you. I said that this was all good advice- but I think she may have had some different/confusing advice from others (not you.)
 
I was going to test again at 2(cst). I’ll post her results.
She’s eating less than 1/4 cup of the Dr Elsey’s each day. I’m limiting it to just between AM & PM feedings. This AM she ate an entire Sheba with 1T of tuna. I wasn’t gonna put the dry down because I wanted to do some more testing but, I just went into the kitchen to put something away and noticed she had jumped up on the table and eaten some of the dry food from the bowl that I put up there. I have never seen Nala on the table before. There was such a small amount in there and it looked like she probably only had 10 or 12 pieces of the kibble. She has always been a very very small eater but frequent trips to the bowl during the day. Also, she was getting a little bit chunky. She was up to about 12 1/2 pounds. I suspect over the last month she’s lost weight and is probably under 11 pounds at this point. That may also be a factor in her being able to maintain decent glucose levels now.
She used to love to have her ears rubbed. Up until this morning, I had absolutely no issues doing the blood sticks on her ears. I just tried to pet her and wanted to rub on her ears and she pulled away from me. That was the first. She’s also very iffy when it comes to treats. She’ll only take a treat 50% of the time. I’ve tried three or four of the very low carb treats, especially the freeze dried ones, and she is not at all interested. I do have some, I can’t remember what they’re called, but they look like chocolate. They’re supposed to be low carb and she’ll eat those, but again, not every time.
She is a very finicky diva
Pure Bites freeze dried chicken or shrimp is very popular
 
Yep. It goes without saying that there’s no shot tonight. As I said before, I would just test for a few days (like you did today so we can really see how Nala is doing) and gather as much data as you can— and keep her on the low carb food exclusively. Okay? And please check in here. I’m really happy and excited to see how she’s doing with the dietary changes. How is she acting? Feeling better?

I'm really perplexed! I usually test/shoot at 8. I've been really happy with her numbers all day. BUT NOW, I just tested (before I feed) and it was 176. I guess I need to shoot .5u and test again before I go to bed (11 cst). I'm going to get her to eat and then shoot unless anyone suggests I don't.

She seems to be acting more like her old self. She used to be very vocal but over the past few weeks, she's been very quiet. Today she was "talking" to me. Mostly around 7:30p but I think she was telling me she was hungry. After I tested, she practically inhaled her treat.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top