to shoot or not to shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina and Gracie (GA)

Member Since 2017
Little unsure if I should give 1u of ProZinc tonight.

I've been using a AT, but my most recent test was done on human meter. 44 minutes ago. It was at 154.

I'm converting over to human meter.

Advice?
 
I know I’m way too late to be chiming in on this, but the answer would have been no shot. At the beginning we tell people not to shoot if the pre-shot number is below 225 or 250 on an AT2, or below 200 on a human meter.

Have you had a chance to read the stickies yet?
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...prozinc-pzi-insulin-for-diabetic-cats.164995/

This is the first one, but they all contain really helpful info and guidelines for when no one is around.

You can also post out in the Main heath forum if no one is around back here. Folks out there don’t usually know Prozinc specifically, but they can usually help with when to shoot and when to skip.
 
It will be an interesting to see how her numbers adjust this next week. My semester starts up Tuesday. I'll be home less.

Requested a different spread sheet.
 
If you can, get a mid-cycle today - let's see if she's going down during the cycle or surfing up there.
 
I'm glad you told me where else I can post--I was so unsure last night.
If ever you need urgent help and both the Prozinc and Feline Health boards are quiet, it is always worth keeping in mind that there is a LOT more traffic on the Lantus and Levemir board and members there may be able to assist you with general advice (even if they don't know Prozinc specifics). And always remember to call your vet straight if you have any real worries about anything!


Mogs
.
 
If ever you need urgent help and both the Prozinc and Feline Health boards are quiet, it is always worth keeping in mind that there is a LOT more traffic on the Lantus and Levemir board and members there may be able to assist you with general advice (even if they don't know Prozinc specifics). And always remember to call your vet straight if you have any real worries about anything!


Mogs
.

Always. If I ever felt like my cat was in a true emergency I would call my vet, or go to the nearest 24-hr vet.
 
I really should start a binder for Gracie and have all of this stuff there...as well as vet summaries and such.

That's a great idea! I had the hypo instructions printed out and on the fridge (wrote the location of my hypo kit on there too...I knew if that ever happened I wouldn't be able to think straight), but having everything else out in a binder would be helpful too!
 
Gosh. Your telling me. The day her blood sugar went from 400+ 60 in like 2 hrs I was freaking out. People on FB were giving me a million different suggestions and freaking out too. I was in such a panic that I couldn't test again. I ended up rushing to vet.

Having a what to do when XYZ happens would be good.

Luckily, she didn't charge me and did some reevaluating of dosages.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top