To Shoot or not to Shoot...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kadie (Juba's Mom)

Member Since 2015
Good morning everyone,
We just took Jubalee to the vets for her morning glucose test (before food and insulin) and her BG was 102!
Our vet still wanted us shooting at 1 unit 2x/day for the next 2 weeks and then to retest her bloodwork again.
I'm kinda weary of the 1 unit of Lantus since her number was so great this morning.
Should we still give her the 1 unit or maybe dose it down a little?
I really don't want her to go into hypo kitty!
We are still attempting to home test, it's just a little more difficult especially with a jumpy kitty.
Thanks.
 
Hi,

My vet doesn't want me to give insulin for numbers below 200. Has your vet discussed this with you? Persoanlly, I'd be afraid to give insulin; especially a full unit with a BG of 102. Which by the way is a nice reading. It's better to error on the side of caution and keep your kitty safe and your nerves intact!

I don't use Lantus so am unable to advise as far as this type of insulin.

Good luck!
Opus
 
Hi Kadie,

That 102 is a normal blood glucose number for a kitty, and would not normally be a number at which you'd give insulin. Also, if the test was done at the vets then it may even have been elevated due to stress.

The general advice to those new to dealing with diabetes here is not to shoot if the blood glucose is below 200.
The only way to know the blood glucose level is to test it at home...

Back shortly with some more info for you. :)
 
Hi again, Kadie,

I see that Jubalee has had DKA. I'm very sorry to hear that.
Is she completely free of ketones now? Are you testing her pee at home? (You can do that with Ketodiastix strips (or generic equivalent). Crumpling plastic food wrap in the litter tray is a good way to catch a pee sample, and you only need a tiny amount).

I would strongly urge you to keep trying with the hometesting. I know it seems an odd thing to do at first, but it's amazing how quickly it can become 'second nature'.

Here is the link to the FDMB page of hometesting info, tips and tricks, and example videos:
Hometesting Links and Tips

The things I've found most useful are:
1. Most important: Make sure the ear is warm. Warm ears bleed so much more easily than cold ones.
2. Put a little pressure against the underside of the ear, opposite to where you're pricking, otherwise the lancet can push the ear away rather than prick it. Some folks use a bit of cotton wool or folded tissue, but I just use a finger tip (and have occasionally taken some blood from myself that way....)
3. Massaging immediately below the ear prick can 'milk' out more blood.
4. Two ear pricks close together can often produce enough blood for a test where one ear prick might not.
5. A teensy weensy smear of vaseline on the outer edge of the ear can help the blood to 'bead up' and stop it disappearing into the fur.
6. It's important to reward the kitty for each test (or attempted test) with a cuddle or a treat. (And in fact I crumble a few treats for my cat and then test him quickly while he's munching on those.)

Please know that this should not hurt Jubalee at all. There are very few nerves in the outer edge of her ears. But it is a new experience for you both, and may take a little while to get used to.

If Jubalee doesn't like having her ears touched then you can acclimatize her to this by holding or massaging her ear for a few seconds and then giving her a treat. I did this with my own cat. When I was learning to test I'd pop my cat up onto my desk, massage his ear, and give him a treat. Then I'd set up the testing kit, click the lancet device next to his ear, and give him a treat. Then, when I came to do a test 'for real' he was fine with that.

I'm sure you will find a way that works for you and for Jubalee.

Eliz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top