To Shoot or Not to Shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mamalou

Member Since 2014
165 this morning.

So, this seems to be the norm for her AMPS test. At this point, I am not sure if those numbers are okay without insulin or not. I know you are not familiar with the insulin my vet prescribed, but I was wondering if I should be giving her insulin or not. The rule of thumb is no shot <200 but should I be trying to reduce her numbers by giving a small amount of insulin or are her numbers okay?



Thoughts? :?
 

Attachments

My thoughts yesterday were she may need a drop of insulin, but lets wait and see. Are you feeding the lowest carb food you can find?
If you have to leave for work, I definitely wouldn't shoot any insulin this morning, given her history.
Nice job on the spreadsheet. Can you fill in the Units column, or is it already filled in?
 
She has had NO insulin since I started the chart. So no units are filled in. I am just wondering if I should be trying to lower her numbers by giving her a half unit or should I just leave it alone. She is eating foods from the low carb list so I think that helped her numbers quite a bit. She was over 500 when she was diagnosed.
 
167 tonight. Still in that holding pattern. Any thoughts on whether to try to lower the numbers at this point?
 
I would maybe grab a test in a couple of hours and see if it's gone down. When did she last eat?
 
wow. sounding great mamalou! maybe in remisson or getting there.
i cant give advice, too new in, but a possible congrats!
 
Couldn't catch another reading last night, had an appointment.

But she was at 108 this morning! We are getting there! Still no insulin! Hoping she can hold that number.

FYI, Reaching out to a friend's sister who kitty was also just diagnosed. Hoping she will join this site too. I am so very grateful to find you all.
 
108 is a good number.

I'm glad you're reaching out to your friend's sister to encourage her to join, so we can help her with her kitty, too.

Have a good day ;-)
 
yay, louann! glad to hear!
so happy for u both.
btw, i LOVE the title....it gave me a smile yesterday when i was in dire need. ur humor is like mine :) :razz:
 
168 this morning. Couldn't get a test last night. Hoping the number goes down this morning, she ate breakfast about 30 minutes ago.

She has been off insulin almost one week. She also seems to be gaining some weight back and has returned to her freshy self! The baby scale will be here next week, but I weighed myself, picked her up and weighed again, and she was up a half pound since last week. She seems happier too.
 
That's a good report.
Over on the Lantus forum we call it a WCR (Whole Cat Report) and include the 5 Ps (Purring, Playing, Preening, Peeing, and Pooing).
I hope she brings her numbers down with the food. What type of food is she eating?
 
Dyana: She eats Fancy Feast (flavors from the low carb list) and Friskies Pate (ditto).

She is doing great. Couldn't get a reading tonight, did I mention...she is back the her FRESHY self? That would be why! :lol:
 
lou ann since we have a lot in common, what did u do b4 if u cdn t get a preshot? mornngs r so so hard for me. it takes an hr with breaks sometimes, or more.
he will not be still.
any ideas? we r so similar in circumstances.
typing with 3 fingers. cut one wide open! thanks lady.
 
Pam, please check your private messages. (just found your name on your signature)

Lily's number today was 89!!

Yippee!!! :-D
 
42 this morning. On day 9 otj! Wonder if that low reading was right. Will retest tonight.
 
Lily got a BG of forty two,
that green is better than a blue,
5 more days to go,
they surely won't go slow!
before you know it,
in just a little bit,
party time will be here,
for sweet little Lily dear.
 
BG was 48 and on day 11 OTJ!!

She has gained weight, 7 oz. Just got my scale today. She is looking great, nice and healthy.

Paws crossed that this continues!

So happy! :-D

Love the rhyme Deb!
 
Deb, you crack me up! :lol:

She just looks so healthy. Her coat is nice and shiney again. I posted her picture in my avatar, finally. She's a beauty!

Thanks for cheering her on everyone!
 
She just looks so healthy. Her coat is nice and shiney again.
Yes! Isn't it great to see our formerly bedraggled, half bald, dandruff the size of quarters, dull coats, matted fur kitties looking so good again!

I think a big part of the nice shiny, healthy looking coats is the increased water consumption from the canned food. All 3 of my kitties are looking so much better since that food switch a year ago. I did the food switch for Wink, but everyone has benefited.

We'll keep cheering you on. It's so nice to see a picture of your lovely girl Lily. Those big floofy tails are something else. Seems to me, they get even bigger and floofier in the winter.
 
Dyana and everyone else:

otj_icon dancing_cat Lily dancing_cat

Yes, today marks the 14th day OTJ! Celebration time!

So, now what? How often should I test her?
 
You'll need to wean yourself off testing! ;-)

Cut back to twice a day, then once a day, then weekly, then randomly or if you every have a concern.

You can use the Secondary Monitoring Tools in my signature link to monitor for issues, too. Changes in weight, thirst, appetite, urination, defecation, and so on, are all markers for possible medical issues requiring a vet visit.
 
Thanks Gracie!
She is gaining weight, but I think that is good since her BG levels are normal. Urine is normal. She does want to eat everytime I go into the kitchen, but I think it may be because she has no dry food anymore. How much should she be eating? She weighs 11 lbs. 4 oz. now. I would like her to get back to around 12lbs (she is a Maine Coon and is larger than most females).

Will test her daily for another week, then maybe down to every 2-3 days just to be sure.

Thoughts?
 
How much are you feeding now?
As meals, or free-feeding.

If she needs to gain, you can feed more often, and/or put a little bit more down and leave it out.
 
Celebration.jpg

Happy OTJ Day, Lily :-D
 
I usually give her a 3 oz can of Fancy Feast and she whines for more, so I give her 1/4 can of Friskies pate. Before I leave for work, I give her a half can of Friskies to nibble on when I am at work. At night she gets another can of FF, and if she wants more 1/4 of Friskies.

I think she is just so use to me feeding her in the kitchen that even when she has food in the dish, she whines.

I just started my dinner and she was carrying on the whole time I was there and there was food in her dish.

Don't know.
 
:RAHCAT :RAHCAT Yeah Lily! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Day fourteen,
and sugarkitty Lily is the queen,
of the OTJ falls,
where all the tales are tall ones,
the party has started and there are tons
of food, low carb so lets runs! bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif

Here are some tips to help Lily stay OTJ. It's definitely harder on the bean to slack off on the testing. TWS (testing withdrawal syndrome)

Tips to stay OTJ

1. Never feed dry - not even treats. If you change wet food types, be 100% sure the new food is also low carb and same low carb % as your current food. Some cats are very carb sensitive and an increase from 3-6% to 8-10% can spike the BG’s. Don’t feed if you aren’t sure!
2. Weigh every 2 weeks to 1 month to watch for weight changes. Too much of a weight gain can cause loss of remission.
3. Measure blood once a week, indefinitely. You want to catch a relapse quickly. Some people only do checks every 2 weeks to a month.
4. No steroids or oral meds with sugar - remind your vet whenever giving you any medication. Always double check.
5. Monitor food intake, peeing and drinking. If increasing, a sign of losing remission.
6. Regular vet checks for infection such as dental , ear or UTI. And get them treated quick!

If your cat does fall out of remission you need to be more aggressive and resolve issues/ back on insulin as soon as possible as the window for a second remission is tight if any.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top