To shoot or not to shoot tonight that is the question

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Musette is throwing some very strange numbers today...

amps 244
+3 = 244
+4 =247
+6 = 245
+8 = 247
+10 = 98
+ 11 = 78

I have no clue what started her dropping so fast at +10, nothing changed except that she ate a small snack of leftover turkey at +9. She was also fed at amps & +6 so pretty sure it wasn't just her eating that caused her to dip like this. I did check my meter by testing myself and since I tested at 74 I'm assuming all those 240s weren't a meter glitch. Just not sure now what to do with her in an hour when she should be getting her evening shot, this is way out of the norm for her all the way around. Although this am could have been a fur shot, but I didn't smell insulin or feel wet fur.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Hi Mel,
If it was a fur shot, then why the drop late? I'm thinking little miss pancreas is doing some work right now.
 
I'm thinking a little token dose, but only if you see some blue by then. I'm not really comfortable with all the "shooting on greens" stuff.
I did it when I didn't know it wasn't a great idea (PZI, not lantus), but I wouldn't today knowing what I know now vs. then. I know Lantus is "different", but still...

Carl
 
I'm pretty sure it wasn't a fur shot but those steady numbers up to the last few hours made me question it. Think I will wait until I see her coming up..I don't like shooting greens either unless I know she is on her way up.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Mel,
scrolling up on Musette's SS, the only thing I see that comes close to this sort of cycle is 11/6, but she was lower all day then, and you n/s'd that night, plus it was on a lower dose in the morning.
Just the late late drop today that has me confounded.
 
MommaOfMuse said:
I'm pretty sure it wasn't a fur shot but those steady numbers up to the last few hours made me question it. Think I will wait until I see her coming up..I don't like shooting greens either unless I know she is on her way up.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
I'm with you on the steady yellows....but what caused the drop to green if it wasn't insulin? Her pancreas? The turkey might be no carb, but it wouldn't cause a drop, just a surf, right?
 
tryptophan pleasure? Mousie gets real real happy when she gets turkey :-)

what about vomiting? maybe she vomited up her +6 food, causing the drop to begin and then the turkey is low enough carb to not have any effect?
 
maybe she vomited up her +6 food

...which Mel will find at 3am as she makes her way in the dark to the ladies room, trying to not trip over one of a dozen kitties on the way! :lol:

Carl
 
sorry guys had to run out and stock up on critter food as we have a winter storm bearing down on us.

Here is the tale of the tape so far +12 down to 69, fed as normal 1/4 can of Friskies Classic Seafood. +13 she is up to 120 but this could be a food spike so I'm holding off for another hour to see which way she is going to head before deciding on a shot if at all tonight.

Nope she didn't puke, she has been in the bedroom with Max and Lady Jane for most of the day hanging out on the electric blanket in there as it is freaking COLD here atm. Plus I took a nap with her right before the big drop started happening....the only thing I can think of was she has finally learned to play and was chasing around her feather wand right before we all laid down to take a nap.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
wow, film her playing with that wand and you could probably market it as a "How to drop your kitty's blood glucose" exercise training DVD.

Carl
 
LOL She is fun to watch now that she has learned how to play. Poor baby had no clue what to do with toys when she first got here, it took months of her watching the other cats to figure it out, now that is all she wants to do, but she still can't figure out why she can't catch things with her toes (she came declawed) and the others can...So she just goes after everything like Pac-man with her mouth as wide open as she can get it, and of course I let her win every so often since she can't just grab things.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
well at +14 she is now up to 256 so I guess I'm going to go ahead and give her a shot now and since the lowest she decided to go was 69 so I think I actually will go ahead and shoot a full dose now, since this is when I normally feed their last meal of the day frozen, so she will have food available over night, and chock it up to one of the stranges surfs of the week... :lol: Just means AMPS is now reset to 9:30 cst, glad it is the weekend.

Newbies, if you are reading this please be aware that Musette is my second diabetic cat, and I have been testing her for awhile now. What I am doing, should ONLY be done after months of data. I have tested her enough to know how she will react most of the time and what her BGs will do on food.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top