To shoot or not to shoot? (Bandit)

Status
Not open for further replies.

LinMcG

Member Since 2017
Bandit has been on 2 units of Lantus for 11 days (increased from 1, 1.5 starting 8/14)
I've transitioned to all wet food diet (Still some Hi'll scrip and added Fancy Feast)
Pre shot BG this morning was 229.
He got his insulin last night at 6:45 and I tested him this AM at 6.
After a really high reading Sat AM (507) the vet suggested a curve which I will do today.
I'm just concerned about the 2 units now that he's in the two hundreds.
 
Bandit has been on 2 units of Lantus for 11 days (increased from 1, 1.5 starting 8/14)
I've transitioned to all wet food diet (Still some Hi'll scrip and added Fancy Feast)
Pre shot BG this morning was 229.
He got his insulin last night at 6:45 and I tested him this AM at 6.
After a really high reading Sat AM (507) the vet suggested a curve which I will do today.
I'm just concerned about the 2 units now that he's in the two hundreds.
On the face of it that 229 is high enough to give insulin. The high number on Saturday could be a bounce number. It's very hard to know without having data on a spreadsheet to look at because we have no context for the 229.
 
On the face of it that 229 is high enough to give insulin. The high number on Saturday could be a bounce number. It's very hard to know without having data on a spreadsheet to look at because we have no context for the 229.
Thank you, I was so nervous I backed down to 1.5. I hope it wasn't the wrong thing to do. I have a lot of balls in the air right now and am finally getting to doing a curve today.
The spread sheet is also next on the list.
If only there were no family or job, then I could really focus! :banghead:
 
Take this one step at a time. Bandit will be fine with a reduced dose today. There is a big learning curve and we all have other commitments that have to be part of the decision making with our cats. Do what you are comfortable doing. As you get more data, and you learn how Bandit reacts to insulin better, your comfort level will increase.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top