To much insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

csepulveda85

Member Since 2012
Hello all!

My cat has been stable to 1 - 1.5 units for a while now but today i don't know what it was but i think I gave her a unit over.. 2.5units.
I checked her level an hour later and shes still on the mid 100's.
Am i in the clear or can she dropped extremely because of it?

Im not sure if it was the right amount or 2.5 units....

Im a bit nervous .. Is it a small amount that she should be ok? or still watch her? nailbite_smile


Edited to remove 911 icon.
Carl
 
When did you give the dose? Lantus works for twelve hours (sometimes 14) and doesn't really kick in until after the second hour so I would keep checking, especially mid way as you approach hours 6-8. How low does she normally go and when does she normally do it, do you know?
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
When did you give the dose? Lantus works for twelve hours (sometimes 14) and doesn't really kick in until after the second hour so I would keep checking, especially mid way as you approach hours 6-8. How low does she normally go and when does she normally do it, do you know?

normally she gets her insulin at 8:30am and 8:30 - 9 pm .. im not sure how low she normally gets but by next morning shes still in the 100's...
she only got as low as 57 during xmas time and i skipped the dose and the next day she was in the 300's .. but usually she stays at 1 - 1.5 units..
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Ok so you gave her 2.5 units less than an hour ago? So when were the 114 and 145 readings taken?


no, she got her first dosage in the morning at 8:30am - 1.5 units and her reading before the dosage was 103
then her second reading was at 8:45 which was 114 and she was supposed to get 1.5 again.. when i gave her the shot, it was about 8:55 - 9pm but i think i gave her 2.5 instead of 1.5.. a half hour after the dosage and dinner i tested her again and she was at 145 ..
 
Ok so her reading tonite after the shot was 145 right? As I said, lantus usually kicks in after two hours but why don't you check now to see where she is and let me know? Do you have syrup or a high carb food in the house just in case?

I would also check her at 11pm to see if she is starting to drop. Then I would do spot checks for the next 12 hours, and be ready to give syrup or high carb if she starts to go low. Lantus tends to take maximum action around hours 6-8 so I would set the alarm for 3am to check her then as one of your checks.
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Ok so her reading tonite after the shot was 145 right? As I said, lantus usually kicks in after two hours but why don't you check now to see where she is and let me know? Do you have syrup or a high carb food in the house just in case?

I would also check her at 11pm to see if she is starting to drop. Then I would do spot checks for the next 12 hours, and be ready to give syrup or high carb if she starts to go low. Lantus tends to take maximum action around hours 6-8 so I would set the alarm for 3am to check her then as one of your checks.


Yes i have honey in the house that i can rub on her lips.. yes i would put the alarm and check again.. I will also check at 11 and let you know her reading.. right now she seems fine.. laying next to me in bed like usual while watching the dog act silly hehe..

I hope my mind is so used to giving her 1.5 and i did it with out thinking and im just making myself crazy... i always make sure the dosage .. i dont know what was on my mind... :-|
 
Well let's hope so. She might be fine now but a hypo can hit fast. Let me know how she is at 11pm. If she is dropping fast you might need to do more tests than just 3am but let's see how she does.
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Well let's hope so. She might be fine now but a hypo can hit fast. Let me know how she is at 11am. If she is dropping fast you might need to do more tests than just 3am but let's see how she does.

Thank you! Should i check in 30 min aswell? it will make it an hour and a half
 
Ok I would stay up and measure her in another hour. I dont like how fast she is dropping. The problem is you dont know how low she normally drops, whether she levels out here or keeps dropping. Please change your icon on the first post to the 911 icon. I am going over to the other forum to get some advice and eyes on this.
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Please change your icon on the first post to the 911 icon. I am going over to the other forum to get some advice and eyes on this.

ok .. i will test again in an hour and let you know.. thank you
 
Hi everything okay? I'm sorry, I don't know your name...

When and what has your kitty eaten since you gave the shot?

Carl
 
What is your name, please?

Wendy posted in lantus so I popped over.

First, let's talk in terms of time since her shot because we are all on different time zones. So one hour after her shot is +1, two hours is +2, five hours is +5, etc.

Did you feed her after the 74? If so, what carb food and how much? I'd like you to test 30 mins from when she ate and then post it as the number of hours since her shot. So if her +2 was 74 and then you fed and tested 30 mins later, it would be +2.5.

Standing by.
 
hypo protocol for reference

If you did a full unit over her regular dose, I would take her to an ER because I'm not sure you can feed your way out of this. My housemate overdosed Spitzer (misread new syringes) and we had to do that.
 
If I'm reading this right...

AMPS (1.5u) 103
PMPS (might have been 2.5u but not sure) 114
+.5 145
+2 74
 
Hi everything okay? I'm sorry, I don't know your name...

When and what has your kitty eaten since you gave the shot?

Carl

I havent checked again since 11pm. I am now waiting till 12am
Sorry didnt mention our names.. My name is Crystal and my baby is Luscious

she ate her fancy feast chicken since the shot at 9pm.

Did you feed her after the 74? If so, what carb food and how much? I'd like you to test 30 mins from when she ate and then post it as the number of hours since her shot. So if her +2 was 74 and then you fed and tested 30 mins later, it would be +2.5.
I havent feed her since the shot. Only given her a treat for letting me check her level... should i?
 
First, please test her now and post her number. And yes, you should always feed her at shot time at least. Lantus kicks in about +2 and she should have food on board before then.

So please let us know her number by testing now. Thank you Crystal.
 
First, please test her now and post her number. And yes, you should always feed her at shot time at least. Lantus kicks in about +2 and she should have food on board before then.

So please let us know her number by testing now. Thank you Crystal.
Ok i will test her now..
sorry i wrote it wrong.. She did eat after her dosage.. I always give dosage during her eating time..
 
Well, test her now and see what you get.

When you see a decent drop this early in the cycle, feeding can slow things down.

Do you have anything besides the low carb stuff?

Nice to meet you Crystal and Luscious :smile:

Carl
 
Do you have anything like fancy feast gravy lovers? If so, I'd like you to give her two good tsps of gravy and retest in 20 mins. If you don't have any food with gravy, do you have any high carb food? If so, give her a good tsp of that. If you only have low carb food, please add a drop of syrup or honey to the LC and retest in 20.

Please do not give any dry food. It takes too long to kick in. See you in 20.
 
Got any HC food, something with gravy? If so, give her a teaspoon, mostly the gravy. It will help slow the drop. Don't stuff her though. She might need a bit more in a little while.
And test again in another 20 minutes?

Carl

edit- just saw your response.....take a teaspoon of the normal FF and put a few drops of honey on it. I'd stay away from the dry food. It takes too long to digest and inflate the numbers.
 
That's fine.
This is okay, Crystal. You may not have had to deal with early low numbers, but we have, so we're here as long as you need us. ;-)
 
I'd be careful on the half a can....you don't want her to get too full. Lantus is a long acting insulin and a dose can affect numbers for many hours after. You might be feeding her for a while. So just a couple tsps and a couple drops of honey/syrup.
 
AMPS (1.5u) 103
PMPS (might have been 2.5u but not sure) 114
+.5 145
+2 74
+2.75 45
 
Carl & Bob said:
That's fine.
This is okay, Crystal. You may not have had to deal with early low numbers, but we have, so we're here as long as you need us. ;-)

thanks guys!! :YMHUG:

im nervous now .. Oh boy....
ok so i just gave her the FF half a can and a few drops honey... Not alot to over power it but two good squeezes ... should i put more? or give more?
 
I would wait and test again in 15mins. And grab yourself a coffee. Looks like she wants to keep you up.her blood will probably hopefully rise now but she could come down again fast.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
I'd be careful on the half a can....you don't want her to get too full. Lantus is a long acting insulin and a dose can affect numbers for many hours after. You might be feeding her for a while. So just a couple tsps and a couple drops of honey/syrup.

oh no! saw this to late... i gave her half but shes always happy to eat lol...
next time one ill do a a little less
 
With that 45 at 2.5 hours post-shot, I think you did give her an extra unit of insulin.

I'm concerned about this and think you should go to a vet. Call ahead if you decide to go.

A vet can put in an IV of dextrose to match the insulin faster than trying to feed her.

Can someone drive while you monitor and give honey if she starts to seizure? If not, I'd leave now.
 
Hold off on feeding more right now. Each test will determine whether she needs more food. You want to give this serving time to hit her system to see what it does.

You'll want to be testing about 20 minutes apart for the next hour.

Carl
 
Crystal,
Do you have tomorrow off? If so, the coffee Wendy suggested is a pretty good idea. Luscious may or may not be giving you low numbers for several hours. But we won't know that until later, lol.

Carl
 
Carl & Bob said:
Crystal,
Do you have tomorrow off? If so, the coffee Wendy suggested is a pretty good idea. Luscious may or may not be giving you low numbers for several hours. But we won't know that until later, lol.

Carl
No i dont work tmm... guess im sleeping in lol @-)

Can someone drive while you monitor and give honey if she starts to seizure? If not, I'd leave now.

yes i have someone that can drive incase.. i'm hoping she can get her number up before we have to go to that step ... FIngers crossed
 
Crystal

It's ok...just breathe and be calm. We are very used to handling low numbers and I will not hesitate to send you to the ER if I think it's necessary. Carl and I tag team to help new members quite often so we are on the same page. Let's see where she is next test. We will stay with you until she is safely up.

By feeding her with some honey, we are having you abort the cycle. We often do this. Tomorrow, I will want you to decrease her dose to 1.25u, ok?
 
If you get the numbers up and keep them up, great.

I'm a big believer in contingency plans.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
Crystal

It's ok...just breathe and be calm. We are very used to handling low numbers and I will not hesitate to send you to the ER if I think it's necessary. Carl and I tag team to help new members quite often so we are on the same page. Let's see where she is next test. We will stay with you until she is safely up.

By feeding her with some honey, we are having you abort the cycle. We often do this. Tomorrow, I will want you to decrease her dose to 1.25u, ok?

Sounds good I will decrease her .. everyone is always so helpful when im panicking on here lol ...
was the next test supposed to be in 15 min or 20min?
 
You are going to be testing soon, let's see how it goes. You might have a sleepless night though to keep on top of this. In between tests you should check to make sure your local vet is open. I think the next test is in 2 mins.. 12.15 right? 15 mins from the food you just gave.
 
20 mins from when she ate. And let me clarify on the dose. She needs a reduction by .25u so if you have been consistently shooting 1.5u then the new dose is 1.25u. If you've been shooting 1.25u, then it will be 1u.
 
I agree with Marje.
She and I have done this sort of thing a few times in the last year or so. She's a great tutor!

Tomorrow, we'll also start to work on you setting up a spreadsheet for Luscious' numbers, and making sure you have a well stocked "hypo kit" that includes medium and high carb canned food.

was the next test supposed to be in 15 min or 20min?

I'm a fan of every 20 minutes, because I think it takes that long for the food boost in the BG numbers to show up.
 
BJM said:
If you get the numbers up and keep them up, great.

I'm a big believer in contingency plans.

I agree, BJ, contingency plans are great to have. You should always have an emergency vet contact number on the fridge or next to the phone, just in case.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top