to inject or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frito's Mom

Member Since 2015
Hello! Frito gets 2u if bg is >300 & 2u if in 200s. Usually i don't inject if in the 100s. He was 199 this morning. Eating now. Should I inject? I have to leave for work soon. When he's been 185 i did not. What should i do?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
When he was 185 and you didn't give insulin, how much did he go up for the next shot? If he stayed pretty flat and you can't be around you could skip this time based on that history. If he went much higher by the next shot, you could consider a small dose today - maybe one unit?

Next time, wait 20 minutes, without feeding, and test again. That way you can be sure he is rising and see if he goes up high enough you feel comfortable shooting. Overall, I'd think you might reduce your regular dose a smidge going forward (after today when you can't monitor)
 
Normally, I test around 7:45-7:50, feed, then inject around or just after 8am. Tuesday through Friday, I don't go to work until 10 am, and it only takes me 5 minutes to get there, so I'm generally able to do the retesting thing. But, unfortunately, on Saturdays, I have to be here around 9, so I wasn't able to.

Looking at his spreadsheet, when he got the 186 in the am and no injection (per the vet,) his pm wasn't any higher than his other pms. It was 357. It really just varies. There's no set difference when I don't inject. Sometimes his midday test shows high numbers, sometimes he gets low numbers, and sometimes they're pretty normal compared to injected morning days.

I ended up not injecting, because I finally recalled the vet saying that if he's below 240, which had been his lowest morning number until a week or so ago, to just not inject. I'm doing a curve on Monday, and talking to the vet again, because we've changed his dosage again, do to a few mornings with low numbers.

Also, he was pretty high last night, and my sister injected him a bit later than usual, so that also could be a factor there.

Thanks so much for your help. I should have stopped a minute and thought about it myself, but I was rushing around getting ready for work.
 
I think you did the right thing by not injecting this morning...especially, given the idea that you wouldn't be around to monitor.
I also think you are wise to do a curve and show the vet Frito's SS (for an overall view) and see where to go from here.
My vet also said "no shot at 10 World/180 U.S.". Heck...I don't think I would shoot (right now anyways given my fear factor) if she was under 200.
So, I think both Frito and you are safe today and you can re-visit this with your vet with another curve. :)
Hope you have a good day. :)
 
Thank you, Louellen. I don't think I'd be comfortable shooting at 180-200, either, even if I'd be home all day. I'd just rather not risk him going hypo. I think he'd probably agree with me. :p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top