BacardiTheGreat
Member Since 2018
Hello everyone, I am new to cat diabetes (taking over my mums care). My 11 years old devon rex was diagnosed a couple of months ago (used to have over 30 mmol) and was getting 5 units of insulin twice a day. He is a bit overweight, so he needed higher dosage. However, rarely did my mum measure his blood sugar after the initial period. Two days ago he went into hypo at night, we had to give him glucose. After registering on this forum I understood the importance of measuring blood sugar much more often, but now I have to improvise a bit before I will know how he operates. Morning after the hypo episode my mum just gave him 3 units and in the evening his BG was over 30 again- so he got his usual 5 units. That was yesterday. This morning he had 16, so he got his usual 5 units again. We tested him now, as it is time for his next shot, but his BG is only 6.6. We fed him his usual and haven't injected him, as I am scared that he'lll go into hypo again at night...do you guys have some advice on what to do now? I am at the very beginning of a regular monitoring of his BG now (scared from having to prick him so many times - he's quite hissy and nervous, has always been) and don't want him to go into hypo again...should I skip his evening shot and measute his BG im the morning?
Last edited: