To Illustrate a Point - Pop Quiz

  • Thread starter Thread starter Carl & Polly & Bob (GA)
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Carl & Polly & Bob (GA)

talking to Sue again, and she dug up an old post where someone asked a hypothetical dosing question, and asked for everyone to chip in with "what would you do?"

I want to try this, just to show you all that you know more than you think you do.
Here's the situation - Two different cycles, same PS number, same dose.

ask yourself these questions and lets see some one sentence answers.

!1. 1U into 260 amps
+3 140
+4 70
+6 59

ok, what do you do in this situation?


#2. 1U into 260 amps
+2 140
+3 70
+3.5 59

what do you do?
one sentence only please. if you can.

Who wants to go first?

Carl
 
#1 is probably fine, assuming +6 nadir. Breathe.
#2 is dropping too fast; feed lc , post for eyes, & test in 20-30 min to see if they've slowed, but be ready for.hc or karo.
 
#1 is okay if you are home during the day and can keep an eye on things, I’d drop back dose a nudge if you weren’t around all day every day.

# 2 is give a fork full of food with gravy and test every half hour or so. If they come up, great, if not keep giving a bit of food every so often and testing every 15 mins to half hour. The point is not to give so much food they are at 500 at the next ps, but to keep the kitty safe and get him to come up into safe numbers until they naturally rise after nadir. Food usually takes 45 mins to an hour to hit we find. Then drop back on dose next feeding/shoot, unless this is some out of the blue thing. If it were an out of the blue drop, if it were my cat I’d keep dose same and see if it happened again-then drop dose by .2. If it were someone else’s cat I’d prob say drop dose now .2 or more.

Always more conservative if I can’t be there personally to keep an eye on it. Call me a control freak ohmygod_smile
 
1. Awesome day - check at +6.5 just to make sure, a lot of cats nadir is +7 or +8....
If ok hold dose

2. feed food..check in 20 minutes . if still dropping feed higher carb food
retest in 20 minutes....dont worry I will stay on with you or find someone that can
reduce dose but not too much, you dont want to lose momentum
 
1. Is probably fine, since its likely the kitty has reached nadir; you probably want to feed a little lc food and check again in about 3o minutes to make sure the BG is holding steady or starting to rise, just in case kitty may be one who reaches nadir later.
2. Kitty is dropping fast early and already has a BG that is getting low, but not in danger yet; you would feed a liitle med. carb or gravy from the food but not too much because you want kitty to keep eating in case she drops lower; you would test every 15 minutes to see if the BG is rising, staying about the same or dropping lower. If rising you would keep monitoring for awhile every 20 minutes to make sure its truly rising, if BG is staying about the same or dropping just a small amount, keep checking BG every 15 min and feed another spoonful of mc or mc gravy. If dropping, and down to 45-50 or below you would bring out hc food with gravy and feed small amounts of that, checking BG about every 10 minutes as long as numbers are low until they start rising and you probably want to rub some honey, karo, kitty Nutrical with sugar, etc. on gums, and watch for any hypo signs.
 
#1. Post and ask Carl and Sue and everyone if he's gonna be OK and since Nadair is +7 should I just leave him alone and probably give him 1/4 can regular food if I have to leave and pace around the floor if I am home. Test 20 minutes to see if numbers are still dropping or leveling off as this is lowest point

#2. Post with 911 and ask the entire forum to chip in for help. Get the maple syrup ready, pull out the ice cream - feed a spoonful of gravy food test in 20 minutes and try not to panic.... if he levels off I eat the ice cream if he doesn't he gets to lick it off my finger before I try the maple syrup (my boy loves icecream)
 
Ellen - very funny, thanks for the laugh. Note to self, add ice cream to hypo kit. Preferably Caramel Caribou.
 
I came upon that because during one of Robbie's hypos a couple of years ago we were sitting watching him eating ice cream and after testing him and he was 40ish I sent my husband in to get the maple syrup and while that was being fetched I dipped my finger in my ice cream (coffee) and offered it to Robbie he lapped it up - and it occurred to me it's got sugar, cream - anyway it helped. Now I keep vanilla in the fridge cause I figure coffee and chocolate (the flavors we eat) probably aren't good for him. I have a friend who makes jelly and jam and she made me some cat nip jelly but I never had the chance to use it and wonder if it might not make him feel pretty odd or if all the potency would be cooked out of it.
 
If it's Hershey ;-) :smile:
#1 Looks great. I'd test again 6.5 or 7 to make sure he's finished dropping.

#2 Dropping a little fast. Give 1 Tablespoon low carb food and test again :20.
If he's dropping (but still above 40) give another Tablespoon regular carb food and test :20. If not above 40, give 1T higher carb food and test :20. (Now, we're just past 4.5.) If still dropping, repeat. If holding, test :30

I'd keep the dose the same - repeatability and all that ;-)

Sounds a bit wordy, but at 3.5, there are a lot of hours left in the cycle (unless you're TID ;-) )

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Congrats to all who replied! All of you worded things differently, but all of the answers were right on the money.

That one was fairly simple....I'll make the next one tougher. But this shows you all know how to handle low numbers no matter where they are in the cycle.

Carl
 
1. Do the "Happy Dance"
2. Break out the gravy food and get the limbo bar ready! (Bump bump bump-ba-bump-ba-bump...) "How LOW will he GO???!!!"


...EDIT.... If the kitty was Grayson, I'd be doing the happy dance with EITHER - as it would mean he's broken through the insulin resistance!!! As you know, he has never had a preshot that low, let alone ANY readings that low!!! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top