To Give or Not to Give, that is the question. | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

To Give or Not to Give, that is the question.

ChickenNugget

Member since 2025
Hello all.

My cat Artemis is on ProZinc insulin and has been on 0.25 U for the past 16 cycles. Right now he has PMPS at 81. My question, do I stall his feeding by 30 minutes and test or skip the dose?

I'm doing the modified Prozinc method and one of the options listed is "Skip the dose: If the number is below 200, and your kitty is newly diagnosed (less than three months), your best option is to skip unless your kitty has ketones or is post-DKA (see below) and you should post here or in the Health Forum for help." Artemis does not have ketones (that I'm aware of, his tests came out negative when he was diagnosed).
 
Waited 30 minutes and tested him again for PMPS, his number went to 86. He is eating at the moment. I'm 50/50 on not giving him the shot due to the 81/86 BG levels. Is it possible to give him a lower dosage than 0.25 U?
 
Is it possible to give him a lower dosage than 0.25 U?
The guidance on skipping if under 200 is for people who are quite new and don’t have much spreadsheet data to support shooting lower yet. It’s best to shopt lower numbers with guidance from here unless you have a lot of data to support shooting lower

I would skip the shot for tonight and resume .25 tomorrow. Okay?
 
He probably will go up higher than we would like tonight but it will be okay. He may not go up super high. He must be feeling better in these excellent numbers he’s been getting. And he’s getting good duration from the ProZinc.
 
Noted, this is his first green number for PS. I'll monitor/test as usual and see how he goes for PM hours. I was worried if I gave him the shot at such number that it will push him to lower 50s when I usually check him +3 post shot.

Thank you again for the response! I'll update later on his numbers.
 
Hello again, providing an update. Spreadsheet has been updated with the latest BG levels.

He stayed in the blue numbers two cycles ago, the one where he was not given a ProZinc insulin shot due to his green number PS. I resumed the 0.25 U for his AM cycle due his AMPS being in the blue numbers. Latest number at AM +4.30 is 109, his PMPS pending in an hour from this post's time to see where his number ends up.
 
New update, PM cycle for 10/12/25 he was also given his shot. For 10/13/25, AM cycle he was given his shot.

However, right now for PM cycle, he tested at 89 PMPS. I'm going to wait 30 minutes and test again to see if he goes to the blue area or would the 90s be okay for an insulin shot?
 
This photo show a .10 dose using a U-100 syringe, but the same could be done with a U-40 syringe. It is less than a .25 dose.
1760397975883.jpeg
 
Yes but also in the blue number. For instance today in AM, I gave him 0.25 U due to his blue number AMPS, was I okay in giving him that dosage or should have gone with 0.10 U?

Right now for his PMPS, he got 98. Would I adjust to 0.10 U or is that high enough green to give 0.25 U?
 
Would you do me a favor and add MPM to your signature for Dosing Method. Or put MPM at the top of your spreadsheet. Modified ProZinc Method (MPM) is what we have been using for Artemis. He is having such fantastic numbers and you are doing an amazing job with this.
 
For instance today in AM, I gave him 0.25 U due to his blue number AMPS, was I okay in giving him that dosage or should have gone with 0.10 U?
It looks like things went perfectly well, but next time I would prefer some tests (so hopefully on a day you are not at school). If it is a school day and you won’t be able to test until after nadir then just go with the regular dose. If you can monitor the cycle, try the .25.
 
Hello again~ Yes, I went ahead with 0.10 U for this PM cycle, figured that even though its borderline blue, might as well go with 0.10 U due to green number as well as being around to test/monitor. I've also added the dosing method info to my signature and Artemis's spreadsheet.

So as of right now based on the info provided and what I'm understanding: If he has a blue number for AMPS/PMPS, give 0.25 U; if he has a green number, give 0.10 U?
 
Noted, next 5 days I don't have school so I'll be around to monitor/test.

Artemis has a vet visit coming up on 10/17/25, I'll update later on what his vet tells me regarding his readings.

Thanks once again for your help as always!
 
Hello again. Artemis has tested at 75 for his PMPS. I can wait 30 minutes to test again however based on his AM cycle numbers, he's been staying on the 70s range, so not sure if it will go up. Would I still administer 0.10 U or go NS for this cycle if he stays in the 70s?
 
Hello~ He tested 73 after 30 minutes from his first test of 75. I think I'll skip this dose and monitor him for the PM cycle and see how he goes.

How does one go about a drop dose? I'm assuming that's lower than 0.10 U.

I'm really happy on how he's doing, it feels like forever since he and I started with this life change. Today marks his one month from his diagnosis. :)
 
Hello~ He tested 73 after 30 minutes from his first test of 75. I think I'll skip this dose and monitor him for the PM cycle and see how he goes.

How does one go about a drop dose? I'm assuming that's lower than 0.10 U.

I'm really happy on how he's doing, it feels like forever since he and I started with this life change. Today marks his one month from his diagnosis. :)
I am perfectly happy for you to skip the dose tonight and grab a few tests so we can actually see how he does tonight with that PMPS and a skipped dose.

And yes. There is a smaller dose called a drop dose. It can be very helpful for cats who are nearing remission or who only need a tiny bit of insulin support. It can help to ensure a really lasting remission by helping them stay in the greens while the pancreatic beta cells heal.
 
Noted, will be on the lookout as well for his AM cycle if he stays in the 70s for a possible drop dose. Just hoping his vet visit goes well and his BG levels don't go up too much due to stress in the waiting room.

Thanks again for your help as always! :)
 
Hello, got your message/post via email alert just in time before his shot. I reduced it to 0.10 U. Had a gut feeling to initially go for 0.10 U due to borderline 100 but wasn't sure due to the previous blue numbers with 0.25 U.
 
Vet wants to see how Artemis is doing on his BG levels and "compare" readings from whatever monitor they use for BG levels to the ReliOn glucose meter reader I have since I stopped using the Free Style Libre sensor after technical issues and frustration. I had shared the spreadsheet with his vet two weeks ago since she had wanted to see the glucose curve but the faulty sensors ruined that. I do have the mySugr app that imported the readings and created its own graph so hopefully the vet doesn't fuss about me doing in-home testing.

Aside from that, based on last phone call with a vet tech, the vet would plan to see Artemis in 3 months depending on how this visit goes to see his progress.

I'll get a reading at AM +3 since the appointment is at AM +3.50.
 
Vet update: Artemis was tested at the clinic and got GLU 219 mg/dL and BUN 37 mg/dL. The vet tested with their pet glucose meter and the ReliOn meter I took, obviously there would be a huge gap hence the blood laboratory test.

Spreadsheet has been updated with the latest numbers, we arrived home at AM +5. At the vet (where they tested with my device) was 159, at AM +6 was 111, and at AM +8 was 58 - granted that his levels would be up considering his stress levels and the bouncing (he's infamous at the vet clinic for his temper lol).

He'll back in two weeks to get a urinalysis to check on ketones to be on the safe side. Vet wants me to send over my readings and dosage amount as well as continuing what I'm doing in regards to the 0.10 U since based on the readings I've shown, Artemis is on track for remission. She told me to keep him on his current diet of Fancy Feast Classic Pate - which I will because it has tremendously helped.

Right now at AM +8 after testing, he ate a small meal and will test again in 30 minutes or so to see if his numbers doesn't go below 50.
 
I’ve seen a lot of cats go high at the vet then low when they return home.

I can’t remember if I already said this this morning, but unless his numbers really creep up, I would stick with .10 as his new dose going forward. We may eventually get to the drop dose, but for now the .10 is working very well.

His BUN was 37? That is a kidney marker and it is high (well it’s high if your vet uses IDEXX lab.) What was the Creatinine? Do you have a copy of the bloodwork. Creatinine is a better marker for kidneys and, looking at the urine specific gravity.

Definitely keep feeding the low carb wet food for Artemis. I am glad the vet agreed. If Artemis ends up having early stage kidney disease you will want to change to a lower phosphorus, low carb wet food, but that’s TBD.
 
Back
Top