To dose or not to dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julieann

Member Since 2018
Today is the first day Lillie’s numbers have been relatively low throughout the day. AMPS 149, +5 was 55, +11 was 88, and PMPS is 57. I’ve been giving her 1.25 Lantus twice per day, but I haven’t given her anything tonight since PMPS is 57. Should I give her 1.25, reduce to 1.0, or skip the shot altogether?
 
I would think if you give her full strength you'll be up all night testing! I don't know the skip number on a human meter. She's had some good number the last few days, except last night PMPS. Is she eating? I think I might do a reduced shot if it was my kitty.
 
57 is far too low to shoot. It is too close to the "take action" number of 50. Please skip the shot.

Do ask for guidance about dosing in the morning. It is likely that Lillie will bounce from the low(ish) number and be sky high. But dosing is based on how low the cat goes.
 
I think the only reason her PMPS was so high last night was because we left for a road trip, and she accidentally encountered the family dog at our destination. Now that she feels safe in a room, she’s much better. She’s eating wonderfully.

Thanks for the advice. Since I’m skipping her shot tonight, what do I do about dosing in the morning if her AMPS is sky high? Should I reduce to 1.0?
 
Have you looked at our two dosing methods, the Tight Regulation Protocol or the Start Low Go Slow method? Depending which dosing method you decide will work for you, the answer to what you shoot tomorrow morning will differ. TR does require at least two tests per cycle (ie, the two preshots per day plus one other per cycle). If you can't do that, then that means using SLGS and reducing to 1.0 units tomorrow morning. She may be high tomorrow morning, but will get back on track soon enough. Lillie's showing a good response to the Lantus!
 
I apparently didn’t read them well enough. Thank you! I’ll be following the SLGS from now on :).

Lillie’s test a few minutes ago was 87, and she’s eating fine, so it looks like I’ll sleep ok tonight thanks to all the wonderful people that have (and continue) to help. Y’all rock!! THANK YOU!!
 
Good luck with the new 1.0 unit dose.

Could you put SLGS in your signature? That way it'll help us help you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top