? TiTi's sharking Need advice. 2.25 TiTi rallies, but BG numbers go up & down. 54@+10

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and TiTi

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...t-stilll-earns-a-reducie.191679/#post-2139230
TiTi's better, :cat: but that is only due to the actions of the sub-q steroid. Usually the steroid reduces the inflammation enough for TiTi to get some time free from the pain. Her last episode was January 2nd, so the steroid bought her 8 weeks of pancreatic acquiescence. But the times between pancreatic attacks are diminishing, so I'm a little scared. :(

At 59, I gave here some food and honey, delaying her shot until she rose to from 59 to 74 after the honey and food. 120 looked safe, but an hour later she dropped to 85.
She's sharking, and she's nowhere near nadir. Honey works, but she's so full she can't eat. I thought maybe she's nauseous, so I gave TiTi cerenea. I might need some advice now
 
Last edited:
I'm glad it's helping, and I hope it lasts longer than the last time, but yay for her feeling better now! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

What do they do for chronic pancreatitis, prevantitve wise? Asia is pretty new to the club. I'm giving her bupe for pain and antibiotics for her kidney infection and hoping it helps with the pancreatitis if there is any truth to that. I'm also going to start canna companion CBD capsules for her that's supposed to address all kinds of things, maybe it will help, I will keep you posted.
 
Looks like a bounce to me today. I too would hold that dose and see how she handles the reduction.

Are you giving her B12 regularly? I have heard some people say it helps with pancreatitis. Fortunately, not something I had to deal with often.

Sending vines for Titi to get better sooner.:bighug:
 
Looks like a bounce to me today. I too would hold that dose and see how she handles the reduction.

Are you giving her B12 regularly? I have heard some people say it helps with pancreatitis. Fortunately, not something I had to deal with often.

Sending vines for Titi to get better sooner.:bighug:

I hadn't heard that. I certainly can do that for her. I just give B12 on principle when giving her the steroid. I figure she needs something healthy, which the steroid is certainly not; it taps down the inflammation, while suppressing her immune system and raising her BG. However, the treatment of choice for an attack of Pancreatitis is steroids and antibiotics. I don't think she needs the antibiotics, since historically the steroid has tamed the inflammation. Like so many drugs, it gives with one hand and takes with the other.

Thank you for the vines - TiTI needs them.
 
I'm glad it's helping, and I hope it lasts longer than the last time, but yay for her feeling better now! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

What do they do for chronic pancreatitis, prevantitve wise? Asia is pretty new to the club. I'm giving her bupe for pain and antibiotics for her kidney infection and hoping it helps with the pancreatitis if there is any truth to that. I'm also going to start canna companion CBD capsules for her that's supposed to address all kinds of things, maybe it will help, I will keep you posted.

I've been considering the cannabis derivative. I'm pretty sure is can help with pain. The careful way she settles down for sleep says pain to me. I'm going to start regular b12 as well, on Wendy's suggestion.
 
Vines for TiTi.

Jones has been on B12 shots since he was first diagnosed with IBD/pancreatitis. That and the prednisolone - which is not the best option but the only one that seemed to work for him.

Most of the best options have serious drawbacks. I think steroids' positive effects dip the scale lower than do the drawbacks. Maybe someday they'll figure out a better way to treat this. I sure hope so.the
 
Vines for TiTi.
Jones has been on B12 shots since he was first diagnosed with IBD/pancreatitis. That and the prednisolone - which is not the best option but the only one that seemed to work for him.

Ty is also now on B12 shots but the vet gives them. Not on the steroid thing yet as this is all quite new.

Kathy and TiTi said:
Most of the best options have serious drawbacks. I think steroids' positive effects dip the scale lower than do the drawbacks. Maybe someday they'll figure out a better way to treat this. I sure hope so.

I've come to understand this just over the past few days. So hard.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...t-stilll-earns-a-reducie.191679/#post-2139230
TiTi's better, :cat: but that is only due to the actions of the sub-q steroid. Usually the steroid reduces the inflammation enough for TiTi to get some time free from the pain. Her last episode was January 2nd, so the steroid bought her 8 weeks of pancreatic acquiescence. But the times between pancreatic attacks are diminishing, so I'm a little scared. :(

TiTi is sailing down from her bounce. 54@+10. Fed her .54 is quite low enough.
 
Ty is also now on B12 shots but the vet gives them. Not on the steroid thing yet as this is all quite new.



I've come to understand this just over the past few days. So hard.

Well I use them sparingly. If she has a really bad attack, then I use them. yes, it is hard. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
With that 54 she surely is feeling better. Glad the hear it. You could give B12 orally, I just mix it in with Gizmo's food.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...t-stilll-earns-a-reducie.191679/#post-2139230
TiTi's better, :cat: but that is only due to the actions of the sub-q steroid. Usually the steroid reduces the inflammation enough for TiTi to get some time free from the pain. Her last episode was January 2nd, so the steroid bought her 8 weeks of pancreatic acquiescence. But the times between pancreatic attacks are diminishing, so I'm a little scared. :(

At 59, I gave here some food and honey, delaying her shot until she rose to from 59 to 74 after the honey and food. 120 looked safe, but an hour later she dropped to 85.
She's sharking, and she's nowhere near nadir. Honey works, but she's so full she can't eat. I thought maybe she's nauseous, so I gave TiTi cerenea. I might need some advice now

I do need a bit of help.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...t-stilll-earns-a-reducie.191679/#post-2139230
TiTi's better, :cat: but that is only due to the actions of the sub-q steroid. Usually the steroid reduces the inflammation enough for TiTi to get some time free from the pain. Her last episode was January 2nd, so the steroid bought her 8 weeks of pancreatic acquiescence. But the times between pancreatic attacks are diminishing, so I'm a little scared. :(

At 59, I gave here some food and honey, delaying her shot until she rose to from 59 to 74 after the honey and food. 120 looked safe, but an hour later she dropped to 85.
She's sharking, and she's nowhere near nadir. Honey works, but she's so full she can't eat. I thought maybe she's nauseous, so I gave TiTi cerenea. I might need some advice now
@Wendy and Neko
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...t-stilll-earns-a-reducie.191679/#post-2139230
TiTi's better, :cat: but that is only due to the actions of the sub-q steroid. Usually the steroid reduces the inflammation enough for TiTi to get some time free from the pain. Her last episode was January 2nd, so the steroid bought her 8 weeks of pancreatic acquiescence. But the times between pancreatic attacks are diminishing, so I'm a little scared. :(

At 59, I gave here some food and honey, delaying her shot until she rose to from 59 to 74 after the honey and food. 120 looked safe, but an hour later she dropped to 85.
She's sharking, and she's nowhere near nadir. Honey works, but she's so full she can't eat. I thought maybe she's nauseous, so I gave TiTi cerenea. I might need some advice now
@Wendy&Neko bump
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...t-stilll-earns-a-reducie.191679/#post-2139230
TiTi's better, :cat: but that is only due to the actions of the sub-q steroid. Usually the steroid reduces the inflammation enough for TiTi to get some time free from the pain. Her last episode was January 2nd, so the steroid bought her 8 weeks of pancreatic acquiescence. But the times between pancreatic attacks are diminishing, so I'm a little scared. :(

At 59, I gave here some food and honey, delaying her shot until she rose to from 59 to 74 after the honey and food. 120 looked safe, but an hour later she dropped to 85.
She's sharking, and she's nowhere near nadir. Honey works, but she's so full she can't eat. I thought maybe she's nauseous, so I gave TiTi cerenea. I might need some advice now
late Sunday night, and I'm figuring I'm S.O.L. WEll, I'm not a newbie, and I hope I know what to do.
 
What is your question? Sorry I wasn't on earlier.

I'nam very glad you're on now. Ishould not have given TiTi the shot tinigh. Although I;ve done this before with success, she is weaker than she was, more fragile. I am afraid she is going to keep going down. I need to know am I handling this correctly? If she's got upper numbers at nadir, is she stable? When is it safe to sleep? And this time, as you see her numbers, she goes up, but then shoots down again. This worries me.
 
Is the spreadsheet up to date? Looks like maybe she is going up. Keep testing u til two hours after her last high carbs, if she is going up then and at typical nadir, she should be safe.
 
Is the spreadsheet up to date? Looks like maybe she is going up. Keep testing u til two hours after her last high carbs, if she is going up then and at typical nadir, she should be safe.
Thank you. She's at +5 now and maybe hitting nadir, but she's gone down again, from 149@+4 to 114@+5 0f course that might be normal for nadir. She nadirs at +5 and +6. This might be a somewhat long night.:coffee::coffee::coffee:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top