? TiTi early morning +8 579 AMPS 609 MIDDAY +6 336 U 319- WHAAA?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I want to run some thoughts by a couple of the high dose moms but I’m thinking she’s ready for an increase tonight or tomorrow. Today would be the seventh cycle since a cycle where I could see she might have gone low. One of us will get back to you before your shot time tonight.

You’ve been doing a super job grabbing tests.

I hope you feel better today, Kathy.

Great job on linking yesterday’s condo!!!! Thank you!!!
 
I want to run some thoughts by a couple of the high dose moms but I’m thinking she’s ready for an increase tonight or tomorrow. Today would be the seventh cycle since a cycle where I could see she might have gone low. One of us will get back to you before your shot time tonight.
hank you, You’ve been doing a super job grabbing tests.

I hope you feel better today, Kathy.

Great job on linking yesterday’s condo!!!! !
____________________________________________________
Thank you!!
 
It does look like titi needs more insulin, you are in good hands with the high dose kitty moms, they'll help you with a strategy for titi.

Just wanted to offer some moral support, you are doing great getting the tests in:)

Hope you got to the antivirals early enough and you can stop the shingles in its tracks, :bighug::bighug::bighug:sending vines.
 
Ugh, shingles! I missed that condo. So sorry to hear that, and sending you very strong healing vines. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I'm not one of the high dose moms, but just wanted to chime in and let you know we're all pulling for you and TiTi.
 
I agree with marje and Gill - and I guess I'm one of those "high dose moms." :D We have a special kinship, you know, experiencing the needs of a high dose kitty.:bighug:

You have done a fantastic job of getting enough tests in that it seems pretty clear that an increase is the way to go, and that in spite of the unorthodox way that she got to 13u, she isn't overdosed but rather is likely to have a high dose condition. Your description of her body responses, with the increased thirst and peeing support it too.

Given how high her numbers are, I'd suggest an increase in the range of 10-20%. Those increases would be:

10% increase = 1.3u = 14.5u dose (I'm rounding to make the dosing reasonable to measure, and on this size dose that's ok.)
20% increase = 2.6u = 15.5u dose

As high as she is, I'd probably lean towards the larger increase, but it's easier to measure on a line, so 15u could be reasonable too. Just depends on what you want to do.

What are your thoughts on it?

I hope your shingles clears up quickly. It's hard to cope with, but at least they gave you the antivirals, which will make it shorter.
 
I was also leaning towards at least a 2u increase so the new dose would be at least 15u but I think increasing to 15.5u is fine as well.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It does look like titi needs more insulin, you are in good hands with the high dose kitty moms, they'll help you with a strategy for titi.

Just wanted to offer some moral support, you are doing great getting the tests in:)

Hope you got to the antivirals early enough and you can stop the shingles in its tracks, :bighug::bighug::bighug:sending vines.

Thank you.

TiTi just tested at midday +6 338. I feel like Alice falling down the rabbit hole.

Well, the physician's assistance at the clinic gave me the wrong dose of antibiotics. I looked it p, discovered I need twice that., phoned the clinic this morning and got the doctor, who sent me a new Rx for 10 more days with the right dose. I got to the clinic on time, but there was a 1 1/2 day at half the needed dose, so...who knows.
 
I agree with marje and Gill - and I guess I'm one of those "high dose moms." :D We have a special kinship, you know, experiencing the needs of a high dose kitty.:bighug:

You have done a fantastic job of getting enough tests in that it seems pretty clear that an increase is the way to go, and that in spite of the unorthodox way that she got to 13u, she isn't overdosed but rather is likely to have a high dose condition. Your description of her body responses, with the increased thirst and peeing support it too.

Given how high her numbers are, I'd suggest an increase in the range of 10-20%. Those increases would be:

10% increase = 1.3u = 14.5u dose (I'm rounding to make the dosing reasonable to measure, and on this size dose that's ok.)
20% increase = 2.6u = 15.5u dose

As high as she is, I'd probably lean towards the larger increase, but it's easier to measure on a line, so 15u could be reasonable too. Just depends on what you want to do.

What are your thoughts on it?

I hope your shingles clears up quickly. It's hard to cope with, but at least they gave you the antivirals, which will make it shorter.
I agree with marje and Gill - and I guess I'm one of those "high dose moms." :D We have a special kinship, you know, experiencing the needs of a high dose kitty.:bighug:

You have done a fantastic job of getting enough tests in that it seems pretty clear that an increase is the way to go, and that in spite of the unorthodox way that she got to 13u, she isn't overdosed but rather is likely to have a high dose condition. Your description of her body responses, with the increased thirst and peeing support it too.

Given how high her numbers are, I'd suggest an increase in the range of 10-20%. Those increases would be:

10% increase = 1.3u = 14.5u dose (I'm rounding to make the dosing reasonable to measure, and on this size dose that's ok.)
20% increase = 2.6u = 15.5u dose

As high as she is, I'd probably lean towards the larger increase, but it's easier to measure on a line, so 15u could be reasonable too. Just depends on what you want to do.

What are your thoughts on it?

I hope your shingles clears up quickly. It's hard to cope with, but at least they gave you the antivirals, which will make it shorter.

I think I can measure a half point, mark it, and do 15,5.

But I am thrown by the +6, 338 TiTi had at midday. I don't know what it means.

Thank you
The gabapentin nerve-pain med, the new doc prescribed has made a big difference in my ability to function. The constant pain was making me feel depressed and stressed. Now, it's still there, but not bad at all. Muted.
 
Yup. That's Harvey. We had two, but we lost Sasha in January.

upload_2016-5-30_16-8-38.png
 
Hmmm, your question about the syringes makes me want to just verify that you've got the right ones - are yours these (from the yellow boxed sticky about syringes):

SYRINGES:
  • U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings are the best to use for drawing Lantus or Levemir from vials, cartridges, and pens. BD, CarePoint Vet, Monoject, GNP, UltiCare Vet Rx, Sure Comfort, and ReliOn are just some of the brands available with half unit markings. Needle gauge and length is your preference Syringes come in ½ inch or 5/16 inch needle lengths. Needle gauges are 29, 30 or 31 (31 being the thinnest)
  • Full and half-unit syringe scales:
resource.gif


Would you follow up that test that got you 336 with another test asap, please? If she drops lower, that might change the dosing advice.​
 
Would you follow up that test that got you 336 with another test asap, please? If she drops lower, that might change the dosing advice.

I don't want my comment here to get lost since i put it under that picture of syringes. Since we're interested in how low the current dose is getting TiTi, it would be really important to get another test now.

Thanks!
 
I don't want my comment here to get lost since i put it under that picture of syringes. Since we're interested in how low the current dose is getting TiTi, it would be really important to get another test now.

Thanks!

ok. Just woke up. sick.Syringe = whole unit, but I can use a ruler to find and mark a half unit
 
Is this shot time? so 12 hours since your last shot?

If so, hang on, don't feed or shoot - I want to confer with others about the dose increase given today.
 
Is this shot time? so 12 hours since your last shot?

If so, hang on, don't feed or shoot - I want to confer with others about the dose increase given today.
\

With her numbers falling to 1.2 what they were:319, believe me, I've no intention of increasing her dose.

I am wondering if these tests are her nadir?

Ack too late on feeding, she ate minutes before the test.
 
It's ok if she ate - if you don't want to increase after all, go ahead and feed and shoot her regular dose.

Just in case she's going to continue to drop, can you get a test at +2?

The nadir is always the low point of the 12 hour cycle. Bounces override a regular cycle, so if this is a bounce-clearing cycle, which it may be, her blood sugar may continue to drop. That's why I'm asking if you can get a +2 tonight.
 
Almost the identical reading as the midday: 319.

This is like 3 days ago, when she dropped to the 400s for a day, then immediately jumped to 5 and 6 hundreds+
 
It's ok if she ate - if you don't want to increase after all, go ahead and feed and shoot her regular dose.

Just in case she's going to continue to drop, can you get a test at +2?

The nadir is always the low point of the 12 hour cycle. Bounces override a regular cycle, so if this is a bounce-clearing cycle, which it may be, her blood sugar may continue to drop. That's why I'm asking if you can get a +2 tonight.

2am?

What is a bounce "clearing cycle? I don't understand the clearing cycle part of it.
 
She may still need a dose increase, but it would be good to have confidence about how low this dose is taking her. I feel better about that after today seeing these 300's.
 
It's ok if she ate - if you don't want to increase after all, go ahead and feed and shoot her regular dose.

Just in case she's going to continue to drop, can you get a test at +2?

The nadir is always the low point of the 12 hour cycle. Bounces override a regular cycle, so if this is a bounce-clearing cycle, which it may be, her blood sugar may continue to drop. That's why I'm asking if you can get a +2 tonight.

Ohhh, I thought the nadir was aa consstant that one must find over several days or weeks.

Yes I can test her at 2am. aand ok, I'll give her her regular shot now. I seems the safest course.
 
I agree with Julie that you should wait and see what she does tonight before you increase. With you not feeling well, it's just not worth it. One more cycle won't matter.

I have gotten shingles for 30 years and have never been given antibiotics. I keep acyclovir here and start it as soon as I feel them starting up and it works like a charm. You know the other thing my doctor told me was I needed a shingles vaccine. He said even though I already get shingles, when you get over 50, they can come up in a different place and be as if you've never had them. Knowing how painful they used to be, I got the vaccine.
 
Ok, then since you are shooting now at 10pm, would you check her at midnight? That will be +2, or 2 hours after this shot. I'll watch for you to post that number.
 
I agree with Julie that you should wait and see what she does tonight before you increase. With you not feeling well, it's just not worth it. One more cycle won't matter.

I have gotten shingles for 30 years and have never been given antibiotics. I keep acyclovir here and start it as soon as I feel them starting up and it works like a charm. You know the other thing my doctor told me was I needed a shingles vaccine. He said even though I already get shingles, when you get over 50, they can come up in a different place and be as if you've never had them. Knowing how painful they used to be, I got the vaccine.

I got the vaccine, too. But I still got shingles. When this is over, I am going to get the vaccine again.
 
I got an anti viral set of pills, not antibiotics. They are useless, unless you get a secondary infection. It is a truly miserable condition.
 
Let's start at the midnight test and see if she's higher or still going down at that point. We can figure out then if you need a 2am test or not tonight.

Awesome job getting information today!
 
For shingles, I found Boil Ease helpful for the worst patch of it. It contains a drying agent which may help the blisters resolve into dry crusts which flake off, plus a topical anesthetic. Calamine may help dry it, too.

The fun part was that the lab tests which are positive for zoster are reported to local public health ... and I work for the state department of health. I called them to let them know it wasn't chickenpox, only shingles and that there was no chickenpox outbreak happening.
 
For shingles, I found Boil Ease helpful for the worst patch of it. It contains a drying agent which may help the blisters resolve into dry crusts which flake off, plus a topical anesthetic. Calamine may help dry it, too.

The fun part was that the lab tests which are positive for zoster are reported to local public health ... and I work for the state department of health. I called them to let them know it wasn't chickenpox, only shingles and that there was no chickenpox outbreak happening.

Lol.
My initial diagnosis was by a PA {physician's Assistant}, and she got the dose of anti viral wrong (1gm instead of the 2 grams bid needed), and the pain meds wrong - codeine with tylenol instead of Gabapentin.

Then she warned me not to have any contact with people because I was contagious.

Settled it out at 10am this morning with another doc at the clinic. I thought the Rx were incorrect, but waited 2 days in case I was wrong. I wasn't, Now the rash has stopped speading, and I've very little pain.
 
Yes, it looks like you actually gave the shot at 10pm your time. From above:

Yes I can test her at 2am. aand ok, I'll give her her regular shot now. I seems the safest course.

TiTi's spreadsheet .10yrs old
Diabetic 2 years -Hi-dose
Dried food&wet fd. AT Mtr.
Today at 8:04 PM
So on your spreadsheet, I'd use the +2 cell. You've got it in both the +2 and +3 cells right now. If you click on the +3 cell then hit backspace that might get rid of it. If not, don't worry about it.

What do you think about going ahead with a dose increase tomorrow morning?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top