Titan AMPS 717, +3 597, +6 531, PMPS 523, +4 410

Status
Not open for further replies.

MyTitan (GA)

Member Since 2017
. The little fella is testing his dad's mettle. Thought we were showing signs of possible improvement with the lowering of the AMPS the last few mornings to go along with a dosage increase. Hopefully just a bump in the road, increased to 3 units 2x a day today on our way up to ??? dealing with his acromegaly. I'll do a mid day check to see how much he comes down.
 
Is there any chance you can sneak in a few more tests? Generally, people with acro kitties follow TR. Regardless of the method of dosing, it's important to get a test before you give an injection -- you need to be certain that it's safe to shoot. Likewise, getting at least one test during the cycle and/or for the PM cycle, a "before bed" test is important will allow you to see where numbers are or where they're heading.

I know that with Titan's numbers being so high, it doesn't seem necessary to test excessively. What we don't know for certain is whether numbers are dropping at some point and what you're seeing is a bounce back into higher ranges. The only way to know if numbers are lower is by getting in a few more tests.
 
Morning Sienne and Gabby, yes we will start doing more tests, I have tried to catch a mid range ( +5 +6) on most days but it's not always possible. Lots else going on in our hectic tipsy turvy life and family. I'm thinking of unretireing just for a break lol! I was hoping to see a drop into the 300- low 400 range b4 we ramp up the TR. I also think that Titan will need to go a lot higher in dose, 7-10 units 2x a day, to see a significant drop. The knowledge is just now starting to gain a foothold for us with an acro kitty and doses are increasing .5 unit 2x a day every 6 cycles. I agree that I need to be better at getting PMPS numbers and into the early night. Titan is a trooper, dad and mom are the stressed ones :(:mad::banghead:.
 
Did a +3 597 and a +6 531. At least he shows response to the insulin which is good. I'll do a PMPS and see what we come up with.
 
Did a +3 597 and a +6 531. At least he shows response to the insulin which is good. I'll do a PMPS and see what we come up with.
 
Evening PMPS continued to show a drop and the +4 was a 410. Has not been that low in a while. Increase in dosage may be having an effect but I haven't done a lot of PMPS or later testing. Guess I gotta brew more coffee!
 
Given how high he is, you are probably OK with calling a night.

If there is any way you can regularly get a preshot test and at least one other per cycle, we might be able to fast track his dose increases, at least until he sees yellow. Any chance you think that's possible? I'd like to see him get out of the higher numbers as soon as safely possible.
 
Hi Wendy, yes we can usually pre test each shot. Mornings I have down pat, getting into PMPS "habit" is my next challenge. My question is what is fast track??? Is there a link? I can't find one.
 
Fast track is something we do for cats stuck in higher numbers. From the original protocol as written on the Tilley website:

Phase 2: Increasing the dose
Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU.

In this case we'd increase every 2 days or 4 cycles, until you see yellow (below 300), then you slow down the increases. But this is a very aggressive approach, and should only be done if you can get those 2 tests per cycle.

One more question before we go ahead with this, I note on the spreadsheet something called "True Track" readings. Is that a different meter? Most of us use human meters, most often the Relion Confirm or Micro, mostly because they need just small drops of blood and the test strips are so much cheaper. The Arkray Glucocard01 meter and strips is made by the same manufacturer and available at a good price from ADW online.
 
Yes it is a human meter that I use to check my BG. Diabetes runs in the family type 1 and 2 so I keep an eye on mine. I run comparisons as you did yo get a feel for the difference. But the True Track does take a fair amt of blood and the Alpha Track as you know uses much less, easier to poke. We are on the 6 cycle change now. Another question would be how foes fast track effect the depot? So much to learn :facepalm:.
 
It is a lot to learn but you've got great support on your side!! :bighug:
Hoping to see Titan's numbers come down for you.
 
Thanks Beenie, I've been reading thru a lot of your threads. Gained much knowledge, lots of questions will be coming :). Titan has shown great resiliency hoping he can hold out till we get the dosage increased to where it brings the numbers down. His weight loss has stabilized but he's a thin puddy. Plus I have a question, how do you "condo" a thread? I've been in both the L & L forum and on the Acromegaly forum. Would like to combine.
 
In this forum, we typically we start a new post or "condo" - where the cat's live, each day. If you have information of general interest to other high dose cat caregivers, feel free to post to the high dose forum. Most of the day to day and dosing stuff for Lantus/Levemir high dose kitties is discussed here. You can always link to your posts elsewhere. For example, here is the link to your more recent post in the high dose forum.
 
Thanks Wendy, I still do not know how you put in the link? What is the magic keystroke? I use an iPad as I do not own a computer. We live to far in the boonies with no high speed internet, I refuse to use dail up and too many trees around the house for satellite.
Ed
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top