? Tips on changing the meter

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by PPCW, Apr 7, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PPCW

PPCW Member

Hi,

I have been using OneTouch Ultra2 since 2017 with Coby's 1st diagnosis. Since he went into remission quickly, cost of testing was not an issue. Now he is diabetic again and I am testing him a lot, the cost of the strips (~50 strips/week) and lancets is really adding up.

I bought Relion Premier Compact about 2 weeks ago and the numbers are consistantly lower than my current one. The biggest difference I had once was 80 points! The average is 40-50 points (I just started putting the numbers on the spreadsheet). The difference is large enough that Coby needs a shot with the old meter and no shot with the new one. Both meters are tested with new control solutions and are within their parameters.

Do you have any suggestions on how I can safely transition to the new meter?

Thank you,

Patricia & Coby

2. Diane Tyler's Mom

Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

3. Sprkl

Sprkl Member

THIS!

Because of the seemingly consistent inconsistencies with meters, how do we find reliable `trends' with our numbers? In my search, I was able to find information on which BGMs meet the ISO accuracy requirements:
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3317395
    (see table 4 and 5)