Tips for honeymoon?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mihaelamiha

Member Since 2012
confused_cat T
There are tips to reach the honeymoon? Or to stay longer in to the honeymoon? Or to reach the remmission?
My cat had 3 days of honeymoon, after that she turn into the same range of BG as before. Could I help him in this period?

Thanks for advice,
Mihaela
 
Hi Mihaela,

She did have some nice blues for preshots for a few days. Very few people here use your insulin (I have not but have tried to help people who do.) but understand it may be your only option in Romania. Is that true? I think, if she were mine, I would stay with the same dose (maybe 1 unit or 1.5) for a few cycles and get some midcycle tests in. You need to know what is going on in the middle of the cycle - how low the insulin takes her - so that you know whether she is bouncing back from a low number or if the cycle is just lasting a long time. Then come back on and let us try to help you see the patterns.
 
Really a cat has to be in normal numbers (50-130) for a couple of weeks before we officially call it remission...

Are you feeding a low carb cat wet food do you know? Like a pate.. not anything with gravy. and low carb treats are good too.

Wendy
 
Indeed, he had some low BG numbers, and between 14th (evening) - 18th of January, 3 1/2 days he had no need of insuline.
I did some intermediary test and he stay in the same range 95 (preshot) - 102 - 110 - 124 (preshot) - 128.
I will check also how the insuline work recentlly sand let you know and I will need your advice. From previous tests: between 6-8 h reach the nair - BG 80-100 and stay in this range up to 16 hours since the shot. I will closer look on this BG numbers and I will ask for your assistance.

He is on canned and pouched food, Applaws (major) based on chiken, tuna, with high protein and low carbs (almost not any < 1%) and I could see the result. http://www.applaws.co.uk/our_products.php. This is a thing I have learned from this site and I am greatfull for this.

Lantus is also available in Romania, but my vet did not choose it, and at the time of begining the insuline I did not know very much things about dosind and administrating the insuline, and I choose vet support with his recommandated insuline - Humuline 30. This is from now. If I will consider to change the insuline to Lantus, I will be on my own, no local vet support. Also, because of my work schedule I could test just of the preshot time, I think this is not sufficient for Lantus.

Keep in touch with you,
Mihaela
 
Hi,

I have kept the 0.5 ui dose (like twice per day) and he stay in a range of 100-200 BG. I test some intermediate BG values to determinate the courve but probably he is not so regulated and I am not sure how I use the this BG intermediate curve. I test him at the preshot time, being also the time when I am home.
Also I have problems in procurment the syringes as only 2 ui marked are available, hardly I get 1 ui marked, about 0,5 , 0,3 or 0,25 the pharms did not even hear.
Thanks for sharing with me your opinion,
Mihaela
 
ok cool can you mark the dosing in the U column of the sheet so we can see it? some columns dont have doses in them

Also fyi the rainbow icon is for cats that have passed on so please remove it - you got us worried!!
 
Hi Wendy&Tiggy,
Below 150 I will not admistrate insuline, Humuline 30 being a rush insuline, this is why some columne U does not have unit, just not give.
This evening he was 266 and I gave him 0,75 ui - a little increase dose than 0,5 ui.

Rainbow is something nice, happy in my culture, I did not thought of something sad in using it; althought now that you said, I admit that could have some relation with the ideea. I thought that only the candeles are related to that ideea. Should have more happy signes....

thank you all for your advice and for writing me,
Mihaela
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top