? Tiny: 8/22/18 AMPS 323, PMPS 114. Should I dose? Please help/advise.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joanne&TinySole

Member Since 2018
Please help...someone check Tiny's spreadsheet and tell me what dose I should give, if any tonight:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...FK1PTNNiRP5-Nb3e_pev8XQB_U7m1cmG_DXVq/pubhtml

8/10: away on vacation. Sitter missed 4 doses of 1.25 U from 8/10, 11, 12 and 13, because she misunderstood my direction; I had no idea this was happening.

8/13: returned and started Tiny back on 1.25 U. I understand it takes 12 cycles of dosing to catch up to where she was (?) prior to all the missed doses, so 12 cycles later and Tiny remaining in the high 200s and low 300s, I started her on 1.50 U from 8/13 through 8/17.

8/18, 19 and 20: bumped Tiny up to 1.50 U. She stayed in the 200s and 300s, so I felt I should increase the dose another .25.

8/21 and 8/22: bumped Tiny up to 1.75 U. How does she go from AMPS of 323 to PMPS of 114?!!!!

Now, I don't know whether or not to dose her this evening at 1.75 U, or if I should return to 1.50 U so she doesn't fall so low through the night, or maybe I shouldn't dose her at all because her PMPS is 114? I'm too new to this to know what to do and I don't have much guidance from my Vet.

What a roller coaster ride!
PS: I need to dose her before 8:30 PM EST, if I'm going to dose her. I normally dose her at 7:30 AM/PM
 
Last edited:
I'm going to try to bump this...I could use some help, please and thanks.

Should I at least give her .5 U or .75 U or 1 U?
To dose or not to dose, that is the question!
Thinking out loud, I imagine that I should dose her so she doesn't start getting insulin resistant, but I'm unsure if I have to give her the same AM/PM dose, or if it can be adjusted based on the BG numbers she's spitting out.
 
Hey there and welcome! Since you don't have any data to support shooting a number that low, I would stall and re test and not give insulin If you get a test in right now if you haven't all ready since the 114, and if she is up over 150, I would shoot if you can monitor and have plenty of strips and some higher carb food if you need to steer her.
 
Thank you Bobbie and Bubba! So, you've validated my thinking process as I stumble through figuring this out! Much appreciated.
She's at 162 now.

So, if I'm to shoot, what dosage do I shoot at? Somewhere between 1 and 1.25, or go higher?
Moses....do we get a Vet degree at the end of this crash course?! ;-)
 
You are going to shoot the same dose. And get a +1 test and then a +2. I am going to keep my eye on you tonight. So please post the test at +1 and +2.

Getting a vet degree....yes, absolutely! LOL

And welcome to L, B & L. I think this is the first time I have posted on your thread.
 
Thank you for the information, the reassurance and for walking me through to have the hutzpah to go ahead.
I just gave her the 1.75 U. I'll be back in an hour, and then in the second hour to update you.
I'll update the spreadsheet as well!
SO GRATEFUL for the guidance! :bighug::bighug:

PS: the spreadsheet is updated to reflect the two BGs prior to her dosage and I'll post +1 and +2 as I get them. XOXO
 
How many do you think know what Hutzpah means? LOL...........I do!! Good luck and don't be worried, Bobbie's watching your back and I should be up all night with Davidson and might be able to offer assistance.
 
Does any bean with a diabetic cat EVER sleep? OMG, I barely sleep/function as it is. Not sure I needed to add to that, yet, here we are! OK, brb...going to get the +1 in 7 min.
 
Oh, no...I'm afraid to ask!

Ok, we are holding steady, so far... + 1 = 166
That's a relief, but I understand that it'll take two hours before the Lantus begins to take effect? ...or something like that...still learning as fast as I can!
 
So, Pajama Party, eh...if my hair wasn't grey already! I'm not quite looking forward to that. It doesn't sound as fun as it should sound...
See you in another hour!

And you know what Hutzpah is! ...I figured the cats would know, at least! :-D
So, why are you going to be up all night with Davidson?
I'll go read about him...
 
Okay, so the +1 is 166. That could be a food bump which can typically be as much as 50 points. But, looking at your SS at the +1 you have gotten do not show this amount of a bump. So, my guess is that she is on the rise from the lower blue pre shot that she is not use to being in ( bounce)

It is nice to get that +1 and +2. The reason I love the the +2 number is if it is the same or lower than the preshot number, it could indicate an active cycle where some more testing is required and you might want to pay attention.

Let's see what the +2 shows and we will have a better indicator of how this cycle could play out.

BTW: Hutzpah= Brass balls if I am remembering my Yiddish correctly. However, we only give the BOS award here ( Balls Of Steel) award here and that is when you shoot your first green number. You were so close Momma! LOL.

See you at +2!
 
I got my beans confused...Bobbie and Bubba is one bean + cat and Shawna and Davidson are another bean + cat. Got it!
Ok, going in for +2 now...brb...
 
+2 is 154.
She's having a snack right now of canned Royal Canin Mother & Kitten food. I usually leave her out canned food left over from her evening meal.
I'm hoping that the snack and the food at night is ok?
 
+2 is 154.
She's having a snack right now of canned Royal Canin Mother & Kitten food. I usually leave her out canned food left over from her evening meal.
I'm hoping that the snack and the food at night is ok?
She is holding her own and is higher than the pre- shot number and in a very safe number. I think you should be okay to go to bed . If you can get a test in the middle of the night, that would be a good idea since she is the lowest you've shot so far, just to be safe.

What is the carb count for Royal Canin Mother and Kitten? I can't find it on the Dr. Pierson food list.
 
Would you recommend a 3 AM test, or sooner?
Maybe a 2, 4 and 6 AM test? Or is that too cautious?
I'll set alarms.

It IS on the list! It is the same as the Babycat Instinctive, as far as I can see.
On the list it's Protein: 40%, Fat 51%, Carb 8%

On the website these are the numbers:
Crude Protein (min) 9.0%
Crude Fat (min) 4.0%
Crude Fiber (max) 1.9%
Moisture (max) 81.0%
It's a pate...
https://www.royalcanin.com/products...abycat-canned-cat-food-ultra-soft-mousse/4057
 
Last edited:
Oy, not sure if it's actually on the list...but...

Crude Protein (min) 9.0%
Crude Fat (min) 4.0%
Crude Fiber (max) 1.9%
Moisture (max) 81.0%
Not sure what the carbs are. I started feeding raw food to my boys because I could never figure out how to figure out the carbs, Lol. Maybe someone will weigh in to give you a carb count for the Royal Canin, I am just not finding it on the food list.

The FF Classics are all very low.
 
Yes, normally I give Tiny FF pate. She's a diabetic fussy cat, of course...only likes two kinds, so every now and then I have to mix up the selection and throw in a can of the above, or something else on the list. Sometimes it's hit or miss with her...whatever way the wind blows.

Ok, so I'll test at 11:45 PM then 2:45 AM then 6:45 AM to see where she is. I'll report back after I have the numbers.

I understand that tomorrow, when I post again, I include this post in the new post by copying its link and inserting it into the new post, correct?
I believe that is called a "condo?"
 
Would you recommend a 3 AM test, or sooner?
Maybe a 2, 4 and 6 AM test? Or is that too cautious?
I'll set alarms.

It IS on the list! It is the same as the Babycat Instinctive, as far as I can see.
On the list it's Protein: 40%, Fat 51%, Carb 8%

On the website these are the numbers:
Crude Protein (min) 9.0%
Crude Fat (min) 4.0%
Crude Fiber (max) 1.9%
Moisture (max) 81.0%
It's a pate...
https://www.royalcanin.com/products...abycat-canned-cat-food-ultra-soft-mousse/4057
Glad you found it. Anything under 10 % carbs is where you want to be.

I would try to get a +6ish if you can. Depending on that number, you might need to get another test in. Consider that around +4-+7 is nadir for most cats. And then after that, they will start to come up. If she is too close for comfort, give a little snack of LC food.
 
Yes, normally I give Tiny FF pate. She's a diabetic fussy cat, of course...only likes two kinds, so every now and then I have to mix up the selection and throw in a can of the above, or something else on the list. Sometimes it's hit or miss with her...whatever way the wind blows.

Ok, so I'll test at 11:45 PM then 2:45 AM then 6:45 AM to see where she is. I'll report back after I have the numbers.

I understand that tomorrow, when I post again, I include this post in the new post by copying its link and inserting it into the new post, correct?
I believe that is called a "condo?"

You've got it Joanne.
 
I'll test her at +3: 11:45 PM, +6: 2:45 AM, +10: 6:45 AM and AMPS at 8:30 AM walking her back from tonight's later dose.

After the AMPS, despite the BG numbers, am I to understand I should keep her at that 1.75 U dose, correct?
Any guidance on that?

I think those will be my last questions of the night. :bighug::nailbiting:
 
+3 @11:45 PM was 202 - perhaps that is the food bump from her snack?
Off to sleep now. Will update the SS and get more info out in the AM.
 
If Tiny's +6 is the same or higher than the +3, skip the +10 and get some sleep. Unless you really want the data. I used to work at optimizing sleep. Looks like she might be starting s bounce. I would have gotten a +4, cause if that is higher, you can stop testing and get a longer stretch of sleep.

Congrats on shooting the full dose on that blue number. It will get easier as you gather more data.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top