Tina's Salem 10/31 (2nd shot after DKA) AMPS:508, +3: 453, +6: 345, +8: 403, +10: 371; PMPS:431

Sandi and Toby

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/advice-needed-asap-salem-1st-shot-post-dka.221092/

We are actually a little less than 2 hours before AMPS, but I wanted to go ahead and start today's condo a little bit prematurely in case there are any early birds out there (I am never on at this time of morning myself). Tina tested just a bit ago at what would have been about PMPS+10 and he was 472. [I'll get Tina to move that number in the spreadsheet from AMPS back to the PMPS+10 cell when I get back up in 2 hours and am more coherent]

I know we don't want to overreact to that ugly 472, but does everyone think that we should stick with 1.0 this morning, or should we go up? You can see that the vet did 2.0 yesterday morning, and we did 1.0 last night because he was still dropping at AM+11. FYI, the calculation for starting dose based on ideal weight came out to 1.81 units.

I'll be honest, Tina is awake now but I am going to have to go back sleep for a little bit until she tests for AMPS in about, I guess it's an hour and a half from now, but I wanted to put this out there to gather any opinions until then. Thoughts on whether we stick with 1.0 today?

@Tina and Salem , after you read this page, click "Watch Thread" up near the top at the right hand side under the title so that you get all email notifications. I'll wake back up at 7am when you text me your AMPS test and we'll decide based on any opinions we get by then what we want to shoot. Don't actually shoot until we talk again after that test.
 
Ok i change it on the spread sheet to 5am pms 472 did i put it in the right line now lol ? 5am after midnight +10 472 on the 9 th line on 10/30 after midnight ? Which is actually 10/31? And i clucked on watch thread we getting there ?
 
Last edited:
Spreadsheet is being updated now, AMPS 508. We went ahead and shot 1.0, but any eyes on this during the day as we get a +3, +6 and +10 that cna give us thoughts on the evening's dose would be much appreciated. He responded really well to insulin yesterday after being in the 400s, so let;s hope that happens today as well.

He's eating really well and Tina will try to get a urine ketone test today.
 
Sounds like a plan. I would see how today goes, then decide. The depot probably isn't stabilized yet and that doesn't help. Make sure Salem is eating and drinking. Maybe 1.25 would be good and follow TR for now so can increase faster.
 
To close the loop (and tomorrow there will only be one thread opened by Tina), Tina decided to go back up to 1.5 units, splitting the difference between the 2.0 that the vet sent her home on, and the 1.0 that we shot last night. See: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...xt-dose-coming-up-at-7pm.221130/#post-2469436

The plan now will be to stick with 1.5units for 3 full days (6 doses) to let the depot stabilize at 1.5units UNLESS he goes low. Make sense, Tina?

And every time you change the dose, it usually takes 3 days to stabilize the depot, so tonight's shot will start our counter over at 1 for the first shot at this dose.
 
Back
Top