* Report this post
* Reply with quote
STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL
Postby Jill & Alex » Thu Jan 07, 2010 3:37 am
Those of us who have been around for awhile have been familiar with two tight regulation protocols associated with the use of Lantus or Levemir.
However, the German Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir for Diabetic Cats and Rand's Protocol (from Queensland University) are now one and the same. This was recently published in the Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery and based on a collaborative study.
The tight regulation protocol was tested in 55 diabetic cats for Lantus/glargine and in 18 diabetic cats for Levemir/detemir from the
German-Katzen Forum. Owners measured blood glucose an average of 5 times daily and adjusted insulin dose based on the protocol. An overall remission rate of 64% was achieved in the cohort. Significantly higher remission rates were observed if good glycaemic control was achieved soon after diagnosis: 84% for cats started on the protocol within 6 months of diagnosis went into remission, and only 35% for cats that began more than 6 months after diagnosis.
Links to protocol guidelines:
Tight Regulation with Lantus or Levemir for Diabetic Cats
Dosing Protocol for Cats on Lantus/glargine or Levemir/detemir Using Daily Home Monitoring of Blood Glucose Concentrations to Adjust Insulin Dose
WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR...
* Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.
* It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.
* Learn the signs of and how to treat HYPOGLYCEMIA and prepare a HYPO TOOLBOX.
* Test regularly for ketones and know about DIABETIC KETOACIDOSIS (DKA).
* Use U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing.
* Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.
* Feed small meals throughout the day. Some kitties adapt well to free feeding.
Many Lantus and Levemir users in this forum have been successful following a somewhat modified version of this Tight Regulation Protocol for the last few years. These "general" guidelines are based on anecdotal evidence and personal experiences of laypersons frequenting the forum.
"General" Guidelines:
* Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
* Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
* Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose...
* Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.