Timing for AM and PMPS - not sure of protocol

Status
Not open for further replies.

kayoodlemom

Member Since 2014
Thank you in advance - I searched first as I am sure this has been answered many times but my search terms were too common :-x

I have been feeding and then testing immediately, but read in one of the forums I should be testing food-free. So test right before I feed? I'm using Lantus, and into my first month with Kayoodle. Her SS is in my signature and despite my stumbling, she is going great. Realize now my first vet was incorrect in telling me to roll the Lantus bottle. Thank you for the video on proper use. I was also loading the syringe incorrectly per Vet #1 instructions, sigh. At $220/bottle, I can't risk contaminating my vial, but will hope for the best. So bummed. I got the coupons and will get the pens next, at an incredible savings.

Meanwhile, I am appreciative of getting the timing better on the pre-shot testing.

Thank you ALL. What a great group,
hugs from me, Kayoode and the rest of my feline menagerie.
 
With Lantus, you want to test first, then feed and shoot. This way, you know that the pre-shot test is not artificially inflated from food and you can be sure that Kaydoodle has a normal appetite before giving the full dose. If you've been feeding and then testing within 15-30 minutes after eating, it's not too bad since the food generally hasn't had time yet to impact the BGs. So don't worry too much about your past pre-shot data being "incorrect."

Another downside with feeding before testing is in case you do have a low pre-shot number (under 200 for new members who might not have a lot of data yet). If that happens, the usual advice is to stall the shot, don't feed, and test again in a half hour to makes sure it's a "rising" number and/or gets over 200.
 
Thank you Kpassa - Michelangelo is soo cute! I will test pre food now. I have about a month of data now and my relion confirm is about 20% below the vet's idex per 4 tests during the curve at the vet. So I am less freaked out when I see slightly low numbers and trying to keep shots consistent. Kayoodle is playful and appears happy even in the 60's, but I am keeping food available and that seems to stabilize her numbers. Also, thank you for the very helpful link to links :-D
 
Hello Mary and Kayoodle!

Original post from 1/20

Just a couple of thoughts. If you're having to skip shots or give reduced shots because of low Pre-shot numbers, you're probably giving too much. It's important that Lantus be given every 12 hours, and if you're getting numbers too low, then you probably just need to reduce...down to maybe .5 unit every 12 hours.

Yes, pre-shot tests should be done without the influence of food, so just make sure to take any food up for the 2 hours prior to shot times. That way when you test, you get a more accurate number. Then you test/feed/shoot...all within a few minutes. (It takes me less than 5 minutes to test/feed/shoot, but I can also tell when China isn't going to eat well for me. It's important that your kitty is eating normally before shooting)

It looks like Kayoodle might be one of those extra lucky kitties that can go OTJ fairly quickly (considering how well she's doing so far!)

I saw you were interested in buying a raffle ticket too! YEAH!!! There's a Saturday Night Special running this week where if you buy 3, you get an entry to maybe win a cute cat planter with grass seeds! Information on the raffles can be found here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=111550 There are links to the pictures of the baskets, as well as information on paying through PayPal or sending check/money through snail mail too.

Good luck and we all wish you the best for your dear sugarkitty!
 
thank you Chris - and I already got 10 tix (or something like that) from Deb. I snail-mailed her a check. I am hoping for one of the kitty goodie bags.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top