Time to up the dosage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mouse & Me

Member Since 2016
I'm beginning to suspect that the insulin is not effective, either because of the cat, or I need to change to a new vial. The current vial was started on March 20th. It was in the fridge, unopened for about two months. expiration 4/19.

Mouse has been under the weather, literally, with I believe, sinus problems. I even took her into the vet, because she would keep one eye shut. I was given ointment for the eye. It's weather sensitivity, not a foreign object. I used to have a cat that needed sudafed...I recognize the symptoms. Weather has been so bad lately, we even had a tornado watch. We humans have had headaches nearly every day....poor cat is right there with us. When the weather gets bad, her numbers go up.

We made a mistake with her dosage when my husband misunderstood what to give her, and she was dropped too low, too soon. The changes in dosage are reflected in the red fill on the date column, for instance, May 9th, May 10th, etc.
Now, we're creeping back up with the dosage, probably a factor with her high numbers.

I'm thinking I should give her 3.25 tonight. Am I wrong?
 
Looks like she needs more insulin.
In line with TR, as she's had a blue in there, you should hold the dose for 8 cycles before taking her up.

So I would hold the dose tonight, and take it up tomorrow, unless she were to see some green.
 
OK, She made a fool of me again....Her PMPS was 172!
I held the dosage.

I inclined to go with the initial thought, of her having weather/headache problems, maybe....I opened the windows an hour ago because the weather seems to be getting better. She was romping in the hallway, and has a great appetite. I see a dip in numbers coming tonight. About time!
Could be a coincidence, the nice weather and her better numbers. at this point, I'm just happy to see something out of the 300s. Knowing Mouse, she has just started her trampoline act.

Is there any safe medication or foods/additives for feline sinus problems? No relief?
This area is getting more humid each year, (we want to move out of the valley), and I see her going through more symptoms, and high numbers.
 
She started her trampoline act....PMPS was 172! Looks like a dip in numbers tonight.
Either it's her bouncing, or the weather cleared up, or both.

Is there any relief for feline sinus problems?
 
You might want to change your subject line to ask the question about sinus problems. There are some people here who have had to deal with it, I have not.

If a kitty is feeling under the weather, it can increase their blood sugar numbers. Having said that, I think if you don't see green tonight you can increase to 3.25 units tomorrow morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top