Time to start over?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eldroch

Member Since 2013
Hey everyone,

Between an assortment of misinformation and a scary experience yesterday, I am wondering if I need to take my Asia's treatment into my own hands and start over from the beginning. Sorry if this post runs long.

Asia was diagnosed in Oct 2013. He had gotten bad suddenly, and developed a UTI and had ketones. After a bit of a stay at the emergency vet, he came home with antibiotics, PZI insulin, and Purina DM dry and canned food. Several things I was told in the beginning have either been refuted, or I suspect are incorrect and maybe someone here could offer more info; and those are:

Purina DM dry food is low carb, and I should still give my diabetic cat dry food to help with dental hygiene.
PZI insulin can be stored in a dark closet; refrigeration not needed.
I should inject right behind the scruff of the neck.

Anyway, he was started on 1.5 units, twice daily, of PZI insulin, and was on the Purina DM dry and canned food, which he quickly tired of. After I couldn't convince him to eat that anymore, I began giving him an assortment of the canned food I found listed as low carb on some of the boards. In the first couple of weeks, I noticed a good amount of improvement, but as I approached the 1 month mark, we started backpedaling. First, the vet said to up the dosage to 2.0 units, twice daily, which didn't change matters. Then, she said she suspected the food wasn't right for him, and suggested the Whiskas choice cuts line, which admittedly, he seemed to enjoy. Finally, his condition was getting to the point where I was getting scared, and I got a Relion blood glucose monitor.

The first reading was around 530, and so I started taking a reading every hour that weekend and charted it out based on a number of factors (pulled an all-nighter to write a program to analyze the results -- geeks and their cats, you know...). It didn't take long to notice that there was no real change before or after the expected peak time for his dosage. I finally came across some info that lead me to believe that the insulin, kept unrefrigerated, had lost its potency. The next day, I shared my data with the vet, and she gave me a new vial (now being kept in the refrigerator), and also told me to start giving him 3.0 units, twice daily. Things quickly turned around for the better, and some new behaviors emerged that I had never seen in him. He would wake me up in the mornings as soon as my alarm would go off, nudging my face and purring in my ear until I got up to feed him. His thirst and appetite seemed to be stronger than ever; always very eager to be fed around meal time, and boldly begging for food when I ate. However, as of a couple weeks ago, he started having "accidents" around the house occasionally, which would leave behind a very sticky floor. Testing his BG would show him in the 400's often, which prompted the vet to tell me to increase to 3.5 units, twice daily. Finally, last night, things were pretty normal...got home from work, fed him, gave him his 3.5 units...then it wasn't but 2 hours before I heard this strange howl coming from another room. He was on the bathroom sink, staring at the faucet. I turned it on and he drank for a few minutes. Thinking that's all he wanted, I left, and he started howling again. It's hard to describe, but they sounded very distressed. I was worried, so I held him and kept him nearby, but every time I would stop restraining him, he would jump down and go in another room (odd, because he was always very clingy). I got out the glucose meter and tested him....it gave me a "Hi" reading, which is 600+ according to the manual. Assuming it was a bad reading, I tested twice more...same for both. Now, he was starting to go from window to window, howling and looking outside, and also waiting by the door, begging to be let out. Now, keep in mind, this is in Illinois, and it has not been a tropical paradise by any measure. I opened the door to see what he wanted, and he just went right out, into the snow, just ambling around, howling every few seconds.

I was worried sick, and stayed up all night, keeping an eye on him and researching these new developments. Around 4:00AM, he started coming back to normal, lying next to me and sleeping peacefully, purring when I would pet him. I found that the Whiskas choice cuts food was certainly not low carb, which could have definitely attributed to a lack of progress, but also the possibility that the dosage might have been increased too drastically, and we might have missed his ideal dosage and gone over. I don't know what last night's incident sounds like, but from what I've read, if given too much insulin, in order to protect against hypoglycemia, the liver can flood the system with glucose, which would explain the sudden high readings, along with the behavior I had not seen before.

So, I have gone back to the classic pate' canned foods from the list that fall between 3% and 6% carb, and as of this morning, I have dropped his insulin dosage to 2.0 units, twice daily. I imagine that as well meaning as my vet is, she doesn't have a lot of experience in feline diabetes, and I should really take control of the treatment myself. I just want to make sure that I am going about this right, and if I'm starting over entirely, I want to make sure I'm doing everything I can to ensure progress. Is there anything I should be doing differently or additionally?

Thank you for reading this far ;-)
 
Good morning,from the UK.
Welcome,as they say,to the best possible place you never wanted to be!
I can't give advise,but I can assure you that by the end of the day you will have a lot more peace of mind.The experienced members that will contact you have a wealth of experience,more than most vets,I'm sure with their guidance Asia will soon be feeling better.Good luck on this journey. Diane & Bailey
 
You have been on a real journey with Asia. Thanks goodness you are hometesting. You should be able to get him on track.

And your gut is right on. Yes, all insulin should be refrigerated to give it any kind of shelf life. Sometimes humans can not refrigerate vials, but they go through them much faster than cats; we expect the insulin to last 6 months, refrigerated. PZI should also be gently rolled before injecting. Did your vet tell you to do that?

Here is our protocol for PZI.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=109077

As you can read, we like to increase by .25/.5 based on hometesting. So I would think the dose was increased by too much at a time.

We have a great tool - a color coded spreadsheet that everyone can access when you need advice. It's a liitle tricky. If you need help, ask.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

If you can share some preshot numbers and some around +5-7 hours after the shot (nadir or lowest point) we should be able to help you figure this out.
 
Thanks to the both of you. I can't express how comforting it is to have such a resource of people that are as experienced as they are helpful.
The day has been pretty calm. I woke up to him attempting to lift my head via using his head as a "scoop" against my neck. As adorable as it is, I have to admit, it feels an awful lot like he's trying to choke me!

Anyway, since I was out of test strips, I fed him and gave him the 2.0 units. And yes, fortunately the vet did communicate that I need to roll it around before pulling the dose :)
He acted normal today (as normal as a Siamese can be expected to act). Having not seen him play for years, it's really great to see him taking an interest in a toy mouse again, which is utterly destroyed by now. I take that as a definite sign of improvement.

Well, we are at T+9 hours right now, and I just tested him. It says 524, however I know that the higher readings are more susceptible to variance, but still, it's high. I would assume that I should go ahead and feed him a 3% carb can of food and give him 2.0 units? I will look into that spreadsheet and post back if I have any questions.

Since he is taking the ear pricks so easily, what post-shot readings should I begin taking?

Thanks again for your help. I look forward to your response.
 
Your ss works great! Yes, those numbers are high. I think 2 units is a reasonable dose for that number. If you can get a before bed test, that will give you an idea of if he drops early in the cycle.

The other test that will help you figure this out is a nadir, or midcycle number. If for example, he goes down low at midcycle, the higher preshot number can be a bounce from the low. (the body senses a lower number than he has experienced in a while and releases extra glucose )If he is pretty flat overall, then you think about raising the dose. But I would give a few days for the wet low carb food to kick in first.

Great job! You are getting this fast. Soon you'll be telling newbies that this is doable.
 
Welcome to FDMB !

Looking forward to seeing some pretty colors on your ss very soon. You are doing a great job. cat_pet_icon
 
Thanks so much! :)
I took a reading just a moment ago, which showed 546. I suppose there wasn't much of a reason to, since the insulin obviously wouldn't have kicked in yet. I will go ahead and do another before bed and then again first thing in the morning.

Thanks again! :smile:
 
Hi!

Would you add one more bit of information to your signature for us? The type of insulin in there would be nice to see. Thanks for considering this.
 
Deb,

Just did, thanks for the suggestion :)

I just tested Asia before dinner, which would have been T+11, and it showed 327! Definitely an improvement. I gave him a can of food and 2.0 units of PZI.

I don't know why, but ever since we started treatment, he has taken to a mouse toy my boss had gotten him. Not "playful" so much, but actually more of a "I totally think this is a real mouse, and you all had better back away from my kill" sort of way. He had somewhat of a meltdown last night when I took it from him so I could get a reading (he avoids me when he has his toy). I suppose it's a good sign, kinda?

Anyway, it seemed like last night's reading before bed at T+5 didn't see any change from his pre shot, so should I retest closer to the T+8 area or what? Don't know if I can stay up until 3:00AM tonight :?
 
Nice to get away from those 500s. Much better!

All data is valuable, but a number between 5-7 hours after the shot will tell you how low the insulin takes him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top