Time to increase dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJC80

Member Since 2018
Can someone with experience with Vetsulin take a look at Toby's SS and let me know if it's time to increase his dose a bit? I haven't been able to successfully find a wet food that he will eat consistently and in decent amounts, so he's still eating Purina DM dry while I'm at work. I have a feeling that's why his BG stays in the 200s throughout most of the day. I'm going to attempt to do a curve tomorrow or Monday to get a better idea of what's going on.
 
Can someone with experience with Vetsulin take a look at Toby's SS and let me know if it's time to increase his dose a bit? I haven't been able to successfully find a wet food that he will eat consistently and in decent amounts, so he's still eating Purina DM dry while I'm at work. I have a feeling that's why his BG stays in the 200s throughout most of the day. I'm going to attempt to do a curve tomorrow or Monday to get a better idea of what's going on.
Try 1.25 u from next dose until Monday and do a curve then at this dose.
 
So, it looks like his nadir is around 4 hours with a normal curve. I don't see any bouncing today, although I think that may have happened before. I'll keep him at 1.25 dose for at least a week or so to give him time to adjust. He got to 173, but I'd like for him to come a little lower. Perhaps when my mom takes her cat back home, I can start eliminating the dry food. He's just not eating enough wet food on its own and I don't want him to lose too much weight too quickly.
 
I assume it's time for another increase to 1.5? I haven't been able to get as many readings as I would have liked at the 1.25 dosage, but it seems that he stays around 200 on that dose.

I gave him 1.25 this morning at 299 and 4 hours later he's 325. I think he's bouncing on this dose. It looks like he did something similar a few days ago.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top