Time to go up in Dose??

Bowie

Member Since 2026
Hello everyone -

Bowie is 10 and was diagnosed in May with Pancreatitis and Diabetes. We got him through the pancreatitis and with the guidance of an internal medicine vet and the community here, now have him at 1.75 units. He gets Purina DM with gravy (not the dried except as a treat), cooked chicken, some raw food and Fancy Feast pates for his meals.

His spread sheet should be attached here. Given our previous challenges with wide swings in BG, we have been happy there haven't been any huge dips. We think it is time to bump his Lantus to 2. Any thoughts on this?

Thanks,

Bowie & Co.
 
The answer to an increase is no at this point in time. You may wish to think about whether you'd like to use one of the dosing methods we use with Lantus here. More information here: Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR). Once you've made that decision, we'll be better able to help you. Other things that can make it faster/easier for us to help you is to add information to your signature. Information described in this post: New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

Your spreadsheet indicated ketones = yes. Are you still testing for them regularly? Presence of ketones can change our suggestions on dosing.
 
Hi Wendy and Neko -

Thanks for getting back. We have taken your advise to slow down and finally moved from 1.5 to 1.75 vs a .5 unit jump. I read through that and can see why it was not recommended to increase.
(Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.)

Isn't the goal to get them in the green though and wouldn't an increase in dose help with that?

No we haven't. We were told by the vet we didn't need to check for ketones after they were put on Lantus.

Thank you again.

Bowie & Co.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top