time to feed and shoot

Status
Not open for further replies.

mjtrup

Member
Hello,
I just started Prozinc at 1 unit 2x's a day on Tuesday the 16th. Checking BG and the numbers went up! 300's.
I then read about the BG bounce and think this is what is happening.
I was wondering how necessary is it to feed exactly 12 hours apart? Jammie is just recovering from dental surgery and has just started to have an appetite again. Over her life she was fed at 5 p.m. and when I get up which can be an hour later 6 a.m.
I found the information about holding the dose for over a week to determine when to change the dosage of Prozinc. I am a bit anal about her care, so how much room in time is there to maximize the long term effect of the insulin.
Thank you all in advance.
 
Hi and Welcome!

Have you gotten some tests in 5-7 hours after the shot? That will tell you how low the insulin is taking her. Some people give 2 meals daily; some free feeding (feeding small meals over time). It depends on which works best for you and your cat. It is important not to feed 2 hours before the am/pm tests so the number you get, to base the dose on, is not food influenced.

What are you feeding her? If you have just started insulin, and are changing her to wet low carb food, it would be wise to hold the dose a week. And get some mid cycle numbers.

Have you seen the protocol we put together? It is in my signature in blue.
 
Jammie has been on Rad Cat raw diet for over two years. Now after the surgery to get her to eat, Weruva Mack Jack. I was able to keep her at BG 150 for two years after loosing slowly 10 lbs. She is a Maine Coon so before the big issue of vet surgery biopsy for mouth cancer she was 13. 6 lbs. I have not weighed her since this ordeal that started a week ago. She is only urinating twice a day now, thirst is gone, becoming more active. I am feeding her three times a day. Yes your protocol saved me! Thanks! My vet is marginal and I live in the country.
I had used a human glucometer and the vet did not believe the low numbers. So I just purchased the Alpha Track 2. Trying to use both to see the difference when testing. The first few results seem to differ as much as 200! I do believe in behavior observation for signs of diabetic stress.
Thank you sooooo much for your input.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top