Time for an increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJC80

Member
So, Toby appears to have plateaued at his current dose of 1.5. I was able to get him into lower numbers will less insulin when he was eating the Purina DM dry. He's now currently eating Fancy Feast wet with Dr. Elsey's dry during the day. His numbers have been higher after he had a bout of vomiting, inappetence, and a week of syringe feeding. However, he bounced back, ate the like a pig for about a week, and is now back to normal appetite-wise.

Should I increase his dose to 1.75? I'm off tomorrow, so I can monitor him.
 
Yes, you can increase tomorrow. If 1.75 u doesn’t give you blues, don’t leave him at that dose more than 3 days or so.
 
So, I got him into the blues the first day of the new dose. I have a feeling he's been in blues throughout this week, but I've just not been home to catch it. He probably does need another small increase to 2 units, but I'm working until Friday. Is it OK to leave him at 1.75u that long before increasing again? I prefer to be home to monitor him whenever I increase his dose. I think if he was just eating his wet food, we'd have less of an issue with the 300s. I haven't been able to wean him off the dry, although he's at least eating Dr. Elsey's now. He just doesn't eat enough wet food to reach his daily calorie requirement. I'm not sure how to fix that.
 
I think you can try 2 u. The blues you've had are high blues. If you can't test during the day on work days then try for at least a before bed test every evening. and more daytime tests on your days off.

The Dr. Elsey's dry food is low carb so it shouldn't be an issue wrt BG. All you can do about the switch to low carb wet food is to keep trying. It's not just the carb level of most dry foods, it's the dehydration that a dry food diet can cause. It's hard to get cats to drink enough water from a bowl to compensate.
 
He was 189 at +4 on 2 units, which was nice to see. He may have gotten a little lower by +5 or +6, but I was back at work. I'll try to get a before bed reading tonight and do a curve on Friday when I'm off. Thanks again for the advice!

OK, so his PMPS was 126. I'm going to opt not to shoot him, but I'll check him after he eats a bit. He must have dropped lower while I was at work, unless he's getting more out of the Vetsulin than seemed likely lately. I'm not quite sure what to do tomorrow. Keep him at 2 units?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top