? Time for a Dose Reduction?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ah brilliant! I will likely be switching at the end of this week after the vet's appointment, so @Bandit's Mom hope you don't mind me messaging you then :)

Definitely can't carry on with the AlphaTrak for day to day testing, used £33 of strips in 4 days :O
I know, it's insane. Mine is just as expensive, no cheaper options :banghead:
I just spent £200 on my monthly supplies :arghh:
I do have insurance so I get 80% back, this time a little less. But if I didn't have her insured I couldn't afford it.
And I didn't even buy insulin this month :eek:
 
I know, it's insane. Mine is just as expensive, no cheaper options :banghead:
I do have insurance so I get 80% back, this time a little less. But if I didn't have her insured I couldn't afford it.

Yep, thankfully we do have Oscar insured, so I'll be putting a big claim in a few months for all of this. I hope they let me claim for the strips and not just the vet visits.
 
Yep, thankfully we do have Oscar insured, so I'll be putting a big claim in a few months for all of this. I hope they let me claim for the strips and not just the vet visits.
Depends on your insurance. Only one company here will cover strips. You can read the terms on your insurance to find out.
 
Agree with Sasha here: double-check with your insurers because, while some do cover the cost of testing consumables, they may restrict the cover to pet meters only.


Mogs
.
 
Evening all,

Oscar's numbers dropped low again during his PM cycle tonight. I spotted that he had dropped quickly from the reading I got before I went to bed, and stayed up to keep an eye out. Thank you coffee!
He had dropped to 2.7 (49) which I managed to catch, and have given him some HC wet food and honey, and it's been going back up again over the past hour.

Just wanted to confirm, that now warrants a dose reduction? Should I give 0.75u in the morning (assuming AMPS number is high enough)?
 
Hi Carrie,

It very much means a dose reduction: 2.7 | 49 on an Alphatrak is way too low. Glad you caught it.

I'm tagging some experienced Prozinc users to ask them to answer your question about how much lower Oscar's morning dose should be. (I only have a passing acquaintance with Prozinc, I've never used it.)

@Deb & Wink
@JanetNJ


Mogs
.
 
Thanks both.

His numbers hadn't gone up much this morning (8.9, stalled for an hour no food, up to 9.4) so I didn't feel comfortable giving him his shot.

Will see what he's at for his PMPS and will drop to the lower dosage.
 
Carrie, here's hoping Oscar does better on his lower dose. Glad your vet agreed it was time to lower Oscar's dose. Because it surely is time.
Once you got the hang of this, shooting those lower numbers IS possible.

I must send you a rice sock for your birthday, Deb. ;) :bighug:
Mogs
.
Since my birthday is in the middle of the summer, my ears will be plenty warm by then.:p Need to put a hat on indoors right now, and I have the heat up!:eek: Still have the rice sock I used for Wink, though he's been gone for quite a while now.
 
Carrie, here's hoping Oscar does better on his lower dose. Glad your vet agreed it was time to lower Oscar's dose. Because it surely is time.
Once you got the hang of this, shooting those lower numbers IS possible.

Thanks Deb, fingers crossed!

I also spoke to them regarding using the human meter (I've now got the GlucoNavii, not used it yet though) and they were supportive of the change due to the financial reasons I discussed with them. They want me to do a side by side comparison for a week to see the differences between the two, though from what I've read on here, that seems a bit pointless?
 
The extra expense on the strips might be worth it in terms of getting stronger support from your vets for use of the human meter. Perhaps Oscar might be their first real-world example of a cat monitored with a human meter and they just want to get a bit of a feel for the numbers?


Mogs
.
 
The extra expense on the strips might be worth it in terms of getting stronger support from your vets for use of the human meter. Perhaps Oscar might be their first real-world example of a cat monitored with a human meter and they just want to get a bit of a feel for the numbers?
Mogs
.

I have 47 strips left for the AlphaTrak, so if I switch over tomorrow, then I have enough to at least do a couple of days of comparisons, as long as I can get enough blood to do both at the same time. Don't want to be subjecting him to double the pricks!
 
So Oscars PMPS was 10, and I decided to go ahead and give the 0.75 dose. Will monitor and see how he gets on with that. It's lower than I'm used to, but I know I'll need to get used to those types of numbers, as I guess that's the ultimate goal.
 
Hi @Oscar and Carrie
Would you start a new thread please? This one is getting really long. Please link this old post into the top of the new post, as reference.
Thanks.

p.s. If that 70 and 74 from today, 3/5/21, was on the Alphatrak, that earned Oscar another dose reduction. Even on a human meter, that BG number is low enough to earn a dose reduction. So down by another 0.25U. New dose would be 0.5U, to keep Oscar safe. SLGS dosing protocol means a dose reduction if your cat drops <90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) on either meter. Any time during the cycle. Pre-shots too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top