Tight? Relaxed? Lantus? Levemir?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lyte

Member Since 2010
I'm pretty dang sure Buzz's glucose levels has never reached "regulated" and I feel just awful about it! :cry: Buzz and I started on the Vetsulin, then were told to use Humulin N, then we tried to get away from it but a 2nd vet said "Humulin is fine," now we on a 3rd vet who also said "Humulin is fine" but who is now rethinking the Humulin because of the whacky Alphatrak scores I gave him! Lemme tell ya ... after doing several curves over the last month or so... we're both were freaking out at Buzz's numbers! :shock: So, I'm feeling kinda desperate to find the right meter... the right insulin... the right everything else as soon as possible!

I've learned a boat load in the last few hours but putting it all together into a single new plan of attack alludes me. How do I know whether Buzz's diabetes needs tight or relaxed regulation? How do I know if I should start with him with Lantus or Levemir? I know those both sounds like hugely broad questions but I mean specifically, where do I go from here? Cuz frankly... I kinda feel like we're starting from scratch! :sad:

Lyte
 
Both Levermir and Lantus are excellent gentle long lasting insulins, it really boils down to what you can get your hands on since both work very similar. As far as going either Tight regulation or relaxed (start low go slow) really depends on how much time you have to test, the only real difference between the two is the amount of daily testing. Tight regulation requires more testing because it adjusts the dose more quickly than SLGS which works better for those of us that have less time to test daily. Both base dosing decisions off the nadir or lowest point in the cycle and either approach works with either Lantus or Levermir.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
I guess the one bright situation is that I've gotten pretty good at testing and Buzz has gotten very tolerant of it too! I feed him in the morning and then about 12 hour later for a 2nd meal. I was giving him shots both times. On the days I was off I do the curves. I guess I'll start with getting the right insulin and then figure out that tight/relaxed afterwards?

Thanks! :smile:

Lyte
 
Sounds like a plan, you can always start out with Relaxed and go to Tight or vise-versa depending on which seems to fit you both the best. :-D Tight usually have the best precentage of remission in newly dxed cats, but either one can get them there, it just really depends on how busy your life is and if you are striving for remission or just simple regulation.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
I don't think I've visited your condo before - Welcome and a BIG hug!

KT started out on Humulin N but I changed him to Lantus after a couple of months. He's still not regulated, his doses and drops usually make very little sense. We've attempted to do 'tight regulation' but I'm the only caregiver for this fuzzy crew PLUS DH with rare genetic mutation requiring 24/7 attention. After 6 months of trying 'Tight' without being able to get night tests, I'm reviewing the 'Start Low Go Slow' approach. I'll probably come to an approach that's truly a combination of both of them. I don't know if KT will ever go OTJ but we'll continue to hope!

I know I didn't answer your question but maybe this will give you more info - our spreadsheet's in my sig.

Hugs again!
 
Lyte said:
I guess I'll start with getting the right insulin and then figure out that tight/relaxed afterwards? Lyte

Well, I spoke too soon! I just got off the phone with my vet and he's resisting my changing insulins right now. He's not opposed to it but feels he should get Buzz as close to regulated as we can with the Hum N, see what that looks like and then make a determination if we need to change.

I appreciate his caution and I agree one doesn't just up 'n' change things (particularly meds) on a dime! But, I'm starting to feel like he doesn't have much confidence in what I tell him about what I see in Buzz's behavior, what info I'm reading online, what I'm feeding him, how I'm feeding him, what values I was recording... etc... etc... Sigh!

Lyte
 
Humulin N is almost impossible to regulate a cat on because they metabolize insulin twice as fast as humans or dogs. Humulin hits hard and fast causing steep drops and then wears off in about 4-6 hours so the cat shoots right back up again and stays high for those last 6-8 hours. They are on a constant rollercoaster ride because of this.

Sounds like your vet is a little behind the times on treating Feline diabetes. To be fair vets have to know about a lot of different species and all the things that can go wrong with all of their health, so it isn't humanly possible to stay up to date on them all. The three best insulins for cats are Lantus, Levermir or PZI because they are gentle and long lasting. But if your vet insists that you stay with Humulin N for now, you might want to try t.i.d. dosing where you would give him insulin every 8 hours rather than b.i.d which is giving insulin every 12 hours apart, since you are home testing you would be able to monitor him closely if you choose to go with the t.i.d dosing instead of the standard b.i.d. at least that way you could hopefully extend his duration and keep those numbers down.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
You might also want to scroll up to the top of this forum and print out the "convert a vet" and take that in for your vet to read and research in hopes that he will change his mind about changing Buzz's insulin...it gives links to several veterinary medical journal articles on the subject of treating Feline Diabetes. And of course the last resort would be to see if you can find a different vet that will switch Buzz's insulin to one of the other longer lasting ones.

It also depends on where you are located...if you are in the US you will need a vet to write a script for the insulin switch. However, if you are in Canada you can just walk into any pharmacy and purchase whichever insulin that you want to use and go from there.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
This to me is the definitive article on the awesomeness of Lantus and how home testing with a meter made for humans can be used safely for excellent results:

http://jfm.sagepub.com/content/11/8/668.abstract

The full pdf is available at that link, it's a published journal article (so not a 'dodgy' online source), and Rand is one of the leading researchers on this stuff. Read it, print it off, and hand it to your vet to discuss. This article has pretty much been my guide (oodles of supplemental stuff from FDMB too of course:)) and it was easy for my vet to sign off on it as she trusted the source. Note the tight regulation protocol on FDMB is a modified version of what's in this paper.

I don't understand why it would be a problem to move over to Lantus now if you're having trouble regulating your cat on Humulin N. It's not like you'd be going cold turkey, just moving to a different and gentler source of insulin.
 
Lyte said:
Lyte said:
I guess I'll start with getting the right insulin and then figure out that tight/relaxed afterwards? Lyte

Well, I spoke too soon! I just got off the phone with my vet and he's resisting my changing insulins right now. He's not opposed to it but feels he should get Buzz as close to regulated as we can with the Hum N, see what that looks like and then make a determination if we need to change.

I appreciate his caution and I agree one doesn't just up 'n' change things (particularly meds) on a dime! But, I'm starting to feel like he doesn't have much confidence in what I tell him about what I see in Buzz's behavior, what info I'm reading online, what I'm feeding him, how I'm feeding him, what values I was recording... etc... etc... Sigh!

Lyte

Your current vet is talking old school; nobody is going to regulate their cat with Vetsulin(caninsulin) or N, not gonna happen.
For what it's worth, here's some info on N:
Humulin Primer Info

I agree that both Lantus and Levemir are the best of choices - they are long lasting and gentle and you CAN get your cat regulated on these insulins. Actually, you could have a good chance of getting your cat OFF insulin by using one of these two.

I have used Caninsulin, Lantus and Levemir on one cat, and she does much better on Levemir - she is tense on Lantus, and my other cat, did well on both Lantus and Levemir, but I chose Lev for both as it seems more gentle and the longest lasting.

Here's some info on insulins for you:
Most people are using the long-acting insulins today. Most of the other types are only used by humans or in some cats with special needs (ie. high dose cats with Acro etc.) Many of the short and intermediate insulins have been done away with.

Short acting insulins are usually designated by the letter R (Humalin R, Novalin R) they are never used alone, typically they are given as a bolus at Preshot to bring the BG down quickly in the first few hours of the cycle before the basal insulin (a long acting) begins to take effect. This is used by high dose cats with conditions like Acro or insulin resistant antibodies. It may also be used in an inpatient setting to manage a cat with ketoacidosis.

Intermediate insulins (Lente) are insulins like Vetsulin (Caninsulin) and NPH, some of the human insulins have N in thier name (Humalin N) although some vets are still prescribing them they are becoming less used. Especially since Vetsulin has been taken off the market in many countries. The more successes with long acting insulins have encouraged many vets to avoid these once typical insulins. Many are however still used with good results in dogs with diabetes (dogs have a metabolism more like humans and these insulins work much longer for them) the animal approved insulin (Vetsulin, in Europe/Canada sold as Caninsulin) was made primarily for dogs.

Long-acting insulins are the synthetic analogs such as Lantus and Levemir. PZI and Prozinc are simular to these however thier duration is often somewhat shorter putting them "in between" intermediate and long-acting. Several other long acting insulins are no longer manufactured (Ultratard, Humalin U)

Duration is the length of time an insulin continues to lower blood glucose.
The four duration categories are:
* Rapid-acting or Fast-acting insulin begins to work shortly after injection, peaks in about 1 hour, and continue to work for 2 to 4 hours.

* Regular or Short-acting insulin reaches the bloodstream 30 minutes to an hour after injection, peaks anywhere from 2 to 3 hours after injection, and is effective for approximately 6-8 hours.

* Intermediate-acting insulin generally reaches the bloodstream about 1-2 hours after injection, and is effective for about 8 to 12 hours.

* Long-acting insulin generally reaches the bloodstream about 2 to 4 hours after injection, peaks 4 to 8 hours later and is effective for about 12 to 18 hours.

Note that an insulin that is long-acting in humans may be intermediate-acting in cats. The duration classes used here are for humans and usually match those in dogs -- their classifications in cats are somewhat shorter due to cats' faster metabolism.

Tell your vet you want to do a trial, for a week or 10days with levemir or even lantus, just to compare. If your vet really is OK with other insulins, then a trial should be OK as well.

I don't know much about the alpha traker other than it's a vet kind of meter and has expensive strips. Most people just use regular human BG meters like Relion if you are in the US, Bayer, OneTouch, Accura, and the like.
If you would be able to post the test numbers you have been getting, the times of the shots, and tests, and the dose you are giving, it would help greatly in others providing decent feedback.

For food, what are you feeding? here are some food links and a list of foods with the carb % listed.... go with under 10%carbs and wet food which will help with keeping BG as low as possible.
Binky’s Food Lists
Feeding Your Cat: Know The Basics of Feline Nutrition

As far as tight or relaxed, how you give insulin will be no different.
The guys in the tight forum pretty much expect you to doing a fair amount of testing and also recording in a google spreadsheet, and following a protocol.
The guys in the relaxed forum may well not be able to meet all the tight criteria.... if you are working long hours, and may have to adjust for the 12/12 shot times, or have a lifestyle that allows for just testing 3 times a day or so, or you cannot get your cat off dry food, or some other sort of situations that make it tough to stay on the tight path, no stress to come over to the relaxed forum to post. We'll try to help as much as we can there, but with limited data, it's tough to say much...

you may want to set up a spreadsheet because it will be helpful for others to see and offer you assistance and suggestions. And it will also be evidence to present to you vet. What you call crazy high unregulated numbers may not be as bad as the next guy, but without knowing your numbers, nobody can say much to help you.

Where are you located?
 
Gayle Shadoe & Oliver said:
As far as tight or relaxed, how you give insulin will be no different.
this may help explain the differences between following a tight regulation protocol and the Start Low, Go Slow approach in the relaxed forum:

the Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir for Diabetic Cats comes with requisites:

REQUISITES WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR:

  • Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
    Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
    More monitoring may be needed.
  • It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.
  • Use U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing.
  • Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.
  • Feed small meals throughout the day. Some kitties adapt well to free feeding.


these are not my requisites. they (and more) come from the protocol itself: http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm. these requisites serve as built-in safeguards for the cat. failure to adhere to these requisites results in creating a potential risk. recommending dose adjustments based on the guidelines in the TR Protocol when a caregiver has chosen to not follow the protocol... well, let's just say it could be dangerous.

practicing TR safely involves a commitment to the requisites listed above. not everyone can or wants to commit themselves to this kind of regiment. that's fine. it doesn't mean they can't have a healthy and regulated cat. it doesn't mean their kitty will never go OTJ. there have been many Lantus kitties who have gone OTJ following the SLGS Approach. many.

here's a little "SLGS Dosing Guidelines Cheat Sheet for Lantus Users" i recently prepared for a few others:

Starting Dose
  • 1u – 2u twice per day if kitty’s glucose was higher than 400mg/dL at diagnosis OR if cat is not on a wet low carb diet
  • 0.5u – 1u twice per day if kitty’s glucose was less than 400mg/dL at diagnosis OR if the cat has been switched to a wet low carb diet

Hold the dose for at least a week
  • unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • test often for ketones
  • be consistent in timing and type of food
  • shoot every 12 hours

After 1 – 2 weeks at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours
  • if nadirs are more than 150, increase by 0.25 unit
  • if nadirs are between 90 and 149, maintain the same dose
  • if nadirs are below 90, decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

Lather, Rinse, and Repeat!


as you can see, SLGS is similar to the TR Protocol in that it recommends Lantus dose adjustments be made in small increments. the biggest difference is in holding the dose longer... which takes those who don't want to/can't test as frequently as the TR Protocol requires into consideration.
seems like a win - win to me! :mrgreen:

hope this helps...
 
Lyte said:
Lyte said:
I guess I'll start with getting the right insulin and then figure out that tight/relaxed afterwards? Lyte

Well, I spoke too soon! I just got off the phone with my vet and he's resisting my changing insulins right now. He's not opposed to it but feels he should get Buzz as close to regulated as we can with the Hum N, see what that looks like and then make a determination if we need to change.

I appreciate his caution and I agree one doesn't just up 'n' change things (particularly meds) on a dime! But, I'm starting to feel like he doesn't have much confidence in what I tell him about what I see in Buzz's behavior, what info I'm reading online, what I'm feeding him, how I'm feeding him, what values I was recording... etc... etc... Sigh!

Lyte

I am jumping in here I'll admit without reading every word of your condo, but I get the jist of it, and pardon me if I am repeating what others have already said.

I don't really understand your vet's reasoning in not trying Lantus or Levemir. If the insulin you are using isn't working, wouldn't one think to try something else (another insulin)? If your cat were to get "close to regulated" on Hum N, then I would think you would just stick with that insulin and try to all the way regulated.

As far as comparisons between your vet's glucometer and a human glucometer, I use the One Touch Ultra (which the strips are more expensive than the ReliOn and other cheaper brands, but the strips are way less expensive than the animal glucometer your vet probably uses), and my tests on my meter are always within 10 points of any test my vet does using his instruments. Human glucometers are fine for testing.

Keep posting your questions, and we'll keep anwering them :-D Oh, and Welcome :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top