MélanieW
Member Since 2017
So I'm almost afraid to ask, because each time I ask a question Noah does the complete opposite of what I think he is going to do.
But here it goes. Noah's numbers are starting to look REALLY good. Almost like a regulated cat!!!
I've been reading about the tight protocol and had a question about the following:
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.
If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose. Sometimes, a cat can even manage to keep its BGs low for a day or two, but then the BGs begin to rise again because the beta-cells haven't recovered enough yet. Try to go from 0.25 IU to a drop before stopping the insulin completely. Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions.
So from what I'm reading even if Noah doesn't go under 50, I can try reducing his dose after a week of normal numbers. But would I wait a week (7 days or 14 cycles) every time before reducing the dose again?
But here it goes. Noah's numbers are starting to look REALLY good. Almost like a regulated cat!!!
I've been reading about the tight protocol and had a question about the following:When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.
If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose. Sometimes, a cat can even manage to keep its BGs low for a day or two, but then the BGs begin to rise again because the beta-cells haven't recovered enough yet. Try to go from 0.25 IU to a drop before stopping the insulin completely. Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions.
So from what I'm reading even if Noah doesn't go under 50, I can try reducing his dose after a week of normal numbers. But would I wait a week (7 days or 14 cycles) every time before reducing the dose again?
