Tigger PMPS/383 Thanks for all the input today!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Happy Sunday LL!!! ~O) ~O) ~O) Yesterday's condo

We're all well here today - BIG news is that tigger's eye seems to be deflating a little on its own now that his URI is clearing & he's not sneezing & adding more air into that cavity!!! Last AB dose was yesterday flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat cat_pet_icon (anti-jinx)


:?: Monday AM = a dosecrease & would be our 3rd time at s2.25u (3.33mm). This dose usu. earns Tigger a series of reductions & then we do it all over again.
I know TR Protocol says I should give a full .25u, & Tigger's nadirs show he could use it, but.......Tigger still bounces ALOT, so I need a dose strong enough for better nadirs without
1) creating such a heavenly trajectory :roll: AND 2) trades blue for pink as much as possible AS WELL AS 3) keeps him at the higher dose longer

:?: Instead of hitting him with the full .25 (.38mm), ould a 'gentle nudge' (.19mm) have greater benefit?? confused_cat

I'd hold him at this dose for 3 consecutive 40-50's.

:?: Last, I tend to feed a super LC (1.5 - 3%). Would regularly feeding a higher 5-6% be more helpful?

And some of you thought maybe I was done with all those questions!!! :twisted: Anyway, I'd like the input of better minds than mine! Thanks muchos to all of you! :YMHUG:

Today we're finally over our colds enough to try a bike ride!!!
 
Re: Tigger AMPS/354 +3/243 BIG Increase Amt. Ques./Advice/Re

I understand your concerns but I think he needs a .25u increase. I also think feeding a higher LC food is a great idea. If you combine those two, you might get him to flatten out especially if you feed him in the first few hours of the cycle. He does some diving and so you might want to consider a feeding schedule such as PS, +1, +2, +3. You might have to experiment.

We have found that for newly dx cats, it's better to increase by .25u. Fattening a dose is really better for fine tuning. For example, if he's got nice green nadirs sandwiched by blue and you want to get more green. But for how he looks now, I'd give the .25u increase and try the higher LC foods.

And just a suggestion but is it possible (please) to put an asterisk in the columns when you feed or put the feedings in remarks? For those of us looking at his SS, to see the comments, we have to scroll all the way to the end and then through 279 comments to find what you fed today, for example. I know...I'm lazy :roll: :roll: :lol:

Glad he's better!
 
Re: Tigger AMPS/354 +3/243 BIG Increase Amt. Ques./Advice/Re

Hi Suzanne,
I'm happy to hear that Tigger's eye socket is getting smaller. I can't adequately answer your questions, but I wonder if it might not be too soon to increase the dose since you have just now stopped administering the antibiotics. He might need more time to get them (and any effect they might have on his bg) out of his system?
The 3 numbers between 40 and 50 do not have to be on consecutive days, but they do have to be on the same dose. If you skip a shot or give a fur shot, you have to start over with the counting.
The foods can be experimented with. But in your experimentation, do one thing at a time (e.g., do not change food at the same time that you are changing the dose).
Shaving/adding drops rather than taking the full .25 increases/reductions might be something to consider (that's my approach, but bear in mind that Rusty is a long-term diabetic, whereas Tigger is at a pretty early stage in the game). I know that the advice generally given is to increase or decrease following the protocol (.25 of a unit, as you have been doing). I hope one of the experts will be along to clarify and to determine if Tigger's history requires a tweaking of the protocol.
But first see what happens now that the antibiotics are over.

Good luck, Have a good bike ride!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Just saw Marje's answers to your questions. Good advice, as always
 
Re: Tigger AMPS/354 +3/243 BIG Increase Amt. Ques./Advice/Re

WOW - thanks Marje & Ella for the detailed responses. They both make sense.

FYI - I feed lowest possible LC at PS, +1, +2 & +3 or as close to those times as possible (sometimes I get busy or fall asleep or slap the alarm :roll: ) I put the food amts in the "insert" "notes" portion of every box if I tested first, or in the box itself if I didn't do a test. When there's a note it shows as a black mark in the upper (r) corner of the box. I think all you have to do is 'hover' over the box with the black mark & the note appears.

Is there a better way to do this that's easier for people to read? :?

I've been feeding LC only (as low as possible %) & I think that has helped level Tigger somewhat.
I can start using Wellness MC (6%)

Would you give MC (6%) at all meals to start or ????

Ella, I understand what you're saying about starting both MC & dosecrease together. Should I hold off on the MC. But - I DO know how Tigger does with the 2.25 & LC since we've been there before (x2) :lol: :lol:
 
Re: Tigger AMPS/354 +3/243 BIG Increase Amt. Ques./Advice/Re

Hi again,
I think Marje answered the question about starting a higher-carb food along with the dosecrease: yes, try it!!

Good Luck!!

Ella
 
Re: Tigger AMPS/354 +3/243 BIG Increase Amt. Ques./Advice/Re

I think all you have to do is 'hover' over the box with the black mark & the note appears.
That only works for the owner of the SS. The rest of us have to scroll all the way to the bottom to read the comment/note. I used to do this as well and then realized no one else could see the comment by hovering. In fact, we can't see the triangle. So I added an extra column on Gracie's SS so I have plenty of room to put all comments, foods, meds, etc on the same line as the date.

You'll see what we see if you open Tigger's SS from the condo instead of from google docs.

I used to feed Gracie 0-2% carbs and it just didn't work. Now I use 4% primarily but steer her with 5% and sometimes 10% if she drops low. So I think a 4-6% food is fine for Tigger (you can try it and see). Those are still LC foods.

It actually can take a little time before you see a response to a change in feeding so I think it's ok to change the dose and the foods at the same time. Normally I would agree with Ella 150%....best to make changes one at a time (like changing the insulin and changing the dose). But I think since you are stil using LC, it's ok to do the changes together.

AND....remember that how he did on that dose last time might not be how he does on it this time. Things change :-D
 
Re: Tigger AMPS/354 +3/243 BIG Increase Amt. Ques./Advice/Re

Hi Suzanne,
Thank you very much for helping Lucy and me yesterday even though you are dealing with Tigger's eye problem.
I really appreciate it.
I am so glad his swelling is getting better.

About the SS, the other solution is to "share" the file instead of "publishing" it.
If you "share" it, everyone will see exactly how you see it including the little black triangle thingies and the comments, but you will have to be careful to set it so you are the only one who can "edit" the file, and the others can "only view".
The only downside is that it takes a bit longer for the SS to "load" for the other viewers too.
When you open your SS, it takes a bit to fully load doesn't it, and that's how long it will take for the viewers too, so it's not unbearably slow, but takes just a bit longer than a published file, I think.
If you need any help with this, please PM me. :-D

ETA
I publish mine. It's faster for the people trying to help me.
But a bit longer loading time is better than scrolling down all the way down and back. :-D
Just not sure if our LL's super beans who open many SSs to help others mind it or not.
 
Re: Tigger AMPS/354 +3/243 BIG Increase Amt. Ques./Advice/Re

Great info from Marje and Ella.

One word on convention. MC is medium carb food and it's understood that it's in the 10 - 14% range (LC is less than 10%, HC is over 15% so MC is in the middle.) If you refer to food that's 5% by calling it MC, the assumption will be that your feeding over 10%.
 
Re: Tigger AMPS/354 +3/243 BIG Increase Amt. Ques./Advice/Re

Good luck with the dosecrease Suzanne. I've found with Neko, even though she's been diabetic longer, a .25U increase is better for getting results I want, especially if her nadirs are in the blues. I save .125U increases for when she is seeming some, but not enough, green.

Great news that Tigger's eye is looking better. :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: Tigger AMPS/354 +3/243 BIG Increase Amt. Qes./Advice/Req

Wonderful news about Tigger's eye.
He pulled through that like a champ!
 
Re: Tigger AMPS/354 +3/243 BIG Increase Amt. Ques./Advice/Re

What a great conversation with detailed information - I really soak that up!

Thank you Ella, Marje & Wendy for the detailed info on dosing, micro-dosing & feeding. I'll need to read that a few more times - it's good stuff I need to remember!

Thanks Sienna for the LC - MC - HC clarification - I'll be feeding higher % LC (4-6%) ;-)

Thanks Mariko for the detailed explanation on how to fix my SS - sorry Marje you haven't been able to read it - oops! ohmygod_smile

Thanks Lara for stopping in - I always like to hear from your happy spirit!

What would I do without this Board??? :YMHUG:
 
When we left this morning for our bike ride, i kept feeling like I'd forgotten something. I checked & double-checked - our gear was all there, so we left. Half-way into town I realized I'd forgotten to test Tigger ohmygod_smile nailbite_smile BAD MOM!!!
My brain is fried on menopause :lol:

OK, thanks to all the great input today I fixed Tigger's SS & added a "FOOD" column on the far right. I also researched Lisa Pierson's chart & found I'd forgotten what some of the carb %s were (menopause again - grrrr!) Actually, it works out great, because I won't have to tweak Tigger's fuds as much as I thought. One is already 5%, another 3%. Easy-peasy.

Well, its waaaay past this old lady's bedtime, so I'm turning off the lights. Tomorrow: .25u dose increase + more 4-5% carb fuds!

Have a great night y'all! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top