? Tigger PMBG 134 - stall?

Moms2Tigger&Blu

Member Since 2018
FYI we just increased to 1.5 units this am cycle.

Never shot this low, how long to stall before feeding and/or shooting?
If giving the shot late can be seen as a dose change to his body, when is it better to just skip?

second test confirms 132

I believe Tigger and I fall into the category of "newbie" and have little evidence as to what this pre-shot number might do if we shoot.
the guidelines recommend a straight out dose skip in this case. I just really don't want to lose momentum. 1.25 did squat and 1.5 does this?????

any advice greatly appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Can you test again 30 minutes from the first test which should be about 12 minutes if I am figuring correctly. I think if Tigger is up to at least 150 you could shoot as long as you are available to monitor closely, have plenty of test strips, and higher carb food. Get a +1 and a +2 and post.

I kind of think that Tigger went lower on the AM cycle of 10/3 and this is a bounce clearing cycle. So close monitoring is going to be important.
 
Can you test again 30 minutes from the first test which should be about 12 minutes if I am figuring correctly. I think if Tigger is up to at least 150 you could shoot as long as you are available to monitor closely, have plenty of test strips, and higher carb food. Get a +1 and a +2 and post.

I kind of think that Tigger went lower on the AM cycle of 10/3 and this is a bounce clearing cycle. So close monitoring is going to be important.

i was thinking that too with a yellow ps which hasnt been common recently and then a red at pm. i really wish i could afford a cat nanny lol, this is so stressful!
 
i dont know how to write the timing if you dont shoot. with IX strips it was:
134 @655pm
143 @730pm
143 @800pm
shot should have been at 7. he is getting angry about not eating and now an hour has passed. . . still not above 150
 
i dont know how to write the timing if you dont shoot. with IX strips it was:
134 @655pm
143 @730pm
143 @800pm
shot should have been at 7. he is getting angry about not eating and now an hour has passed. . . still not above 150
How do you feel about shooting 1.25? Chances are that he will zoom up since this is his lowest pre shot number. I hate to see you lose momentum by not shooting.
 
You could shot a decreased dose if that makes you more comfortable.

I am just trying to learn everything I can here . . . If I were to force a shot at regular dose and he goes under 90, I have to immediately decrease again, right?

Also was not feeding him the right thing? The guidelines are a little tricky to remember.
 
I am just trying to learn everything I can here . . . If I were to force a shot at regular dose and he goes under 90, I have to immediately decrease again, right?
Yes, a reduction at 90 for the AT.

To answer your question if you shoot 1 hour late,then at the PMPS time put + 13 in the box with the number. That will tell you and everyone that you shot 1 hour late.

If you are going to shoot , please post again and I will hang with you to support you and make sure Tigger is safe.
 
awesome, thank you so much
also, how much time can I shave off the 1 hr 15 min stall for tom. am shot . . . . gotta be back to 655-715 by monday am
You can shave off as much as 30 minutes tomorrow morning or 15 minutes in each cycle and then Monday the same. That should get you pretty much back in your schedule time.
 
Looks like it won't be a real active cycle and maybe a nice gentle surf. Onset for the insulin is about now. Can you get another test in about 1 hour? When is his normal snack time? Maybe a little bit of LC food at the next test if he is a little bit lower yet


ETA: When you get a chance, could you update the SS? It helps to see it on the SS rather than written out in the post.
 
He usually gets a midnight snack. So +5 here or +6 on the weekends if we're all up. (However that would be more +4 or 5 tonight.) I can test all night if I have to. I'm getting used to small amounts of sleep - cat naps if you will lol.

I'll update the SS as well. We were just cuddlin in the living all this time and I didn't want to move him.
 
+3 148

so he is a little lower, but not much. I feel ok waiting until "normal" snack time in another hour/hour and a half if that helps
I think so. I don't expect he's going to do any big dive but if you are going to be up for another hour , I'd get another test.

Do you think you'll be okay without me? If so , I'll hit the sack.
 
Yes, even if he goes lower, it seems like it will be slow and smooth. I have tons of strips and some gravy lovers waiting in the dining room. Hopefully he will just need his regular LC snack in an hour or two.

Thank you for all your help!!!!! You guys really are the best here!
 
You are welcome!

I'm glad you didn't skip the shot tonight to lose any momentum . I like that this nice gentle surf so far. :cool:

I'll be anxious to look at his SS in the AM to see how he did.
 
I think you would be perfectly safe to go ahead and get some sleep!

If you happen to get up later on, grab another test, but I don't think it's worth setting an alarm for!

(a lot of us will drink a large glass of water in the evening so we do "have to get up" later....you really do learn to poke in your sleep....LOL)
 
(a lot of us will drink a large glass of water in the evening so we do "have to get up" later....you really do learn to poke in your sleep....LOL)
That's genius!!!!
I think I'll get one more test in a little bit (we're still up enjoying a glass of wine as girlfriend gets home way late on Saturdays) then off to bed! Oh and a LC snack of course - Tigger reminded me.
 
Thank you @Bobbie And Bubba and @Chris & China . It was a long but uneventful night. Surprisingly not a huge bounce
this am either . . . unless its still developing - Tigger is a mad bouncer. Hopefully tonight goes just as smooth but it's tomorrow
AM I worry about. No testing afterthe shot always makes me a nervous mama! Of course, Tigger has no worries and was able
to curl up and sleep hard even inbetween all the tests! Silly cats! how do they get so smol?!?!
IMG_6058 (2).jpg
 
Is it possible that you could change you shot time so that you could get at least a +2 test in before you leave? Or at least a +1. That could help you to know just how active the cycle might be. It would mean you getting up a lot earlier than you all ready do. Doing a curve at least once a week on the weekends will be about the only way you will know how the dose is doing. And if you suspect it is a bounce day, then do the curve on a different day to get better data. I like your idea last night of a cat nanny! Some peeps do have someone that comes in once a day and test and makes sure that kitty is okay.


Do you have an auto feeder where you can leave food strategically through the day so that Tigger has it available if needed?

Tigger looks quite comfy in that photo.

Just curious, how is it that you got Tigger from New Mexico? He is a lucky cat!
 
Is it possible that you could change you shot time so that you could get at least a +2 test in before you leave? Or at least a +1. That could help you to know just how active the cycle might be.

I've done the math a few times and no matter what, if I shoot any earlier in am I will always be late to shoot in pm. I could shoot at 530 am . . .get a +2 right before we leave the house . . . but I am NEVER home by 530 pm. Earliest is 615, average is 630, and latest is 7pm. I don't think youre supposed to shoot at such different times. Also, except for 2 cycles ever, he shows no change at +1 so I don't bother yet. I dunno, I'm willing to hear some other plans, I just can't figure it out right.

Tigger has a microchip feeder, only opens to him, but any time he wants it. That means its up to him to save some "lunch" (he has a fat brother who will eat anything in sight, including fall leaves, paper, shoe laces . . . he's a siamese mix with pica) and I can't separate them during the day, they hate it.

We rescued him when we were living in NM. We left the door open to carry stuff in and he was just . . . there. We tried to adopt him away due to my terrible allergies (at the time) but fate wasn't having it. About a year later a little kid saw us with him in the backyard and told us he used to be his cat but his dad didn't want him anymore so they "put him outside." He then said his mom had been thinking about getting him back recently though. That was the last day Tigger was an outdoor cat lol.
 
I've done the math a few times and no matter what, if I shoot any earlier in am I will always be late to shoot in pm. I could shoot at 530 am . . .get a +2 right before we leave the house . . . but I am NEVER home by 530 pm. Earliest is 615, average is 630, and latest is 7pm. I don't think youre supposed to shoot at such different times. Also, except for 2 cycles ever, he shows no change at +1 so I don't bother yet. I dunno, I'm willing to hear some other plans, I just can't figure it out right.

Tigger has a microchip feeder, only opens to him, but any time he wants it. That means its up to him to save some "lunch" (he has a fat brother who will eat anything in sight, including fall leaves, paper, shoe laces . . . he's a siamese mix with pica) and I can't separate them during the day, they hate it.

We rescued him when we were living in NM. We left the door open to carry stuff in and he was just . . . there. We tried to adopt him away due to my terrible allergies (at the time) but fate wasn't having it. About a year later a little kid saw us with him in the backyard and told us he used to be his cat but his dad didn't want him anymore so they "put him outside." He then said his mom had been thinking about getting him back recently though. That was the last day Tigger was an outdoor cat lol.
It does make it difficult for you since you with you return time . Maybe someone else might have a idea for you because you are correct that it is best to shoot the insulin 12 hours apart. And if you were to shoot at 6:30 or 7 in the PM, you wouldn't want to be shooting a whole hour earlier in the AM.

What a great story about how you go Tigger. And how sad for the little boy that his dad just put the cat outside to fend for itself......ugh,......he is a lucky boy that your door was opened that day!
 
Back
Top