Tigger double dosed by accident!

Status
Not open for further replies.

pamela and tigger

Member Since 2009
I am still shaking my head with disbelief. Last night I fed him and gave him his shot. He ate some and as usual he wanted to go outside for a bit to hang with Bill who brushes him then. Tigger really looks forward to this. Then he comes back in and finishes his dinner.

So when he went out I put the rest of his raw food up under the kitchen counter light to warm it up a bit. I often do this since the food is cold coming out of the refrigerator.

Then I came back upstairs to do some stuff. Meanwhile Bill came in with Tigger, saw the food on the counter and figured I hadn't given it to him yet and that I hadn't given him his shot.

Now Bill never gives him his night shot unless I ask him to, but he often gets up and does the morning shot for me after we have agreed to it. So just a short while ago I am telling him about how low Tigger went last night and that I was surprised and was he sure that Tigger didn't throw up his food last night when he was outside with him?

He says, well no, he is 100% sure he didn't throw up his food. That he had fed him and given him his shot and .......! I say what!! Oh no! No wonder! Instead of 4.5 units Tigger got 9!

Now in seven years there has never been a mix up between us like this and I am shocked it happened and Bill is so sorry. Luckily nothing bad happened. If I had known I would have stayed up worrying all night and checking. As it was I gave Tigger extra cooked chicken and went to bed around +5 thinking he would be fine at 48. He slept next to me and all was well. He was 186 this AM.

I am still sitting here in disbelief.
 
((((Pam)))) I can imagine how scared you were when you heard that news. Thankfully, their little bodies can be pretty resilient.
 
The same thing has happened a at least once in other families due to miscommunication. People do make mistakes. I myself have give one of my kitties a dose draw up for another kitty.
 
Pamela!
I'm so glad Tigger is okay. What a scary moment when you realized what happened. Thank goodness for his ability to be resilient!
Take care and smooth sailing the rest of the weekend!

Pam & Layla
 
Venita and The Boyz said:
((((Pam)))) I can imagine how scared you were when you heard that news. Thankfully, their little bodies can be pretty resilient.

Shocked is more like it, but yes, if I had known at the time (last night) I would truly have been scared out of my mind. As it was, I just found out a couple of hours ago when I was talking to Bill. I would have been up all night worrying and testing.

It is amazing isn't it how resilient they can be!
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Now that IS scary! Especially with higher doses. I mean 9 units is a lot of insulin! So glad he was OK. Did he go sky-high later today?

Acutally no, not yet anyway. He was 161 at +6 after an AMPS of 186.
 
Pam and Layla said:
Pamela!
I'm so glad Tigger is okay. What a scary moment when you realized what happened. Thank goodness for his ability to be resilient!
Take care and smooth sailing the rest of the weekend!

Pam & Layla

Thanks Pam, yes hopefully there will be no huge rebound. It would be strange if there weren't right?
 
Larry and Kitties said:
The same thing has happened a at least once in other families due to miscommunication. People do make mistakes. I myself have give one of my kitties a dose draw up for another kitty.

Yes, but you have a number of diabetics. I don't know how you keep it all straight Larry.
 
wow - very lucky

we keep a hand-written log of BGs and shots, so we would see right away if there was a double dose given (yep - we don't look in the book FIRST because it is almost always my DH who tests and shoots unless he asks me)
 
Phoebe_Rusty_Tiggy_Norton said:
wow - very lucky

we keep a hand-written log of BGs and shots, so we would see right away if there was a double dose given (yep - we don't look in the book FIRST because it is almost always my DH who tests and shoots unless he asks me)

Yes, we keep a handwritten daily log too but I hadn't yet entered that evening shot. :( So we do what you do but the other way around with me asking Bill to do a shot. But I hadn't asked him so this was so unusual. He feels so bad for Tigger but luckily no harm done. :)
 
My system for myself (only I gave Smokey his shots)....was to take
two syringes in the morning and stand them up in a cup on the counter.

When one syringe was missing, I knew I had given the morning shot.

When the second syringe was gone, I knew I had given the evening shot.

There should be the correct number of syringesin the cup at the correct time of day (one syringe in
the cup at noon-time, for example.)
 
Freakie-deekie! 9U makes me shudder. Was every bit of food cleaned up?

Glad he did OK and probably wonders what all the fuss is about!

Maybe since he did OK on such a huge dose, he needs his dose raised a little if he isn't consistent - certainly not 9U but maybe try a .25U increase. You probably already have, but it's worth a thought. Inconsistency but without high preshots (over 400) makes me think not quite enough insulin.
 
Vicky & Gandalf said:
Freakie-deekie! 9U makes me shudder. Was every bit of food cleaned up?

Glad he did OK and probably wonders what all the fuss is about!

Maybe since he did OK on such a huge dose, he needs his dose raised a little if he isn't consistent - certainly not 9U but maybe try a .25U increase. You probably already have, but it's worth a thought. Inconsistency but without high preshots (over 400) makes me think not quite enough insulin.

I was kind of thinking that too, that possibly he could stand a little more. I just hate closing in on that five unit mark, you know? I am wondering too if it is the vial so I could be possibly backing down on the dose when I get the carts.

Bill shot him this AM and he was 228 and at +6 he is at 90 (not too unusual). Gave him his cooked chicken snack. Soooo, no real change so far, no rebound, or if his 'shed' is really full still you would think he would stay lower?

ETA, and oh yes he had eaten his whole dinner, always does. Like I said though, he was acting real hungry at +2 so I tested him out of curiosity and he had already dropped from 186 to 146 so I gave him a little cooked chicken then just because he is spoiled. ;) Good thing I did.
 
But cooked chicken's not going to have any carbs in it.

Glad you mentioned possibly lowering dose on new cartridge. How long has this cartridge been open? That may also be why 9U wasn't a problem. I would certainly get some nadir spot checks on new cartridge.
 
Vicky & Gandalf said:
But cooked chicken's not going to have any carbs in it.

That is the idea. It usually just keeps him from going down any further without unnecessarily raising him right back up. But like I said, I didn't know at the time that he had been double dosed. I would have been up all night testing otherwise and feeding chicken or something more carby if needed and sweating bullets. nailbite_smile

Vicky & Gandalf said:
Glad you mentioned possibly lowering dose on new cartridge. How long has this cartridge been open? That may also be why 9U wasn't a problem. I would certainly get some nadir spot checks on new cartridge.

It is a vial and it seems to be still working well enough - half left. Down to double digits yesterday from a 228 amps. But I am going to be getting some carts hopefully soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top