Tiffany AMPS 412, +5 364 - Increased to 4.5 this a.m. Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jadi & Tiffany

Member Since 2017
Tiffany's numbers are starting out similar today after increasing to 4.5 this a.m. Spoke with another vet who said she would also refer me to the diabetes specialist for additional testing to see if she is Insulin Resistant. I would prefer not to do this....how long should I wait? I am doing the TR approach and am trying to remember this is a marathon, not a sprint. Advice is appreciated!!!
 
We usually suggest people get testing done for high dose conditions when kitty gets to 6.0 units.

I hope you see better numbers soon.
 
Thanks Wendy. If she does go to 6, I would love to find a vet who can do the test for me, rather than seeing the specialist at our animal hospital again. I have been stressed by the huge expense that we have had with Tiff's two hospital stays. I would so like to get this under control for her!!

I have one more question for you, I have not tried the Levemir pens yet, but am considering ordering them from Mark's Marine Pharmacy. Are they easy to use and is there a demonstration on this site? (I was unable to locate.)

Thank you again for responding to me!!! And thank you for your well wishes.
 
About 2/3 of the way down this sticky note, there is a video on drawing Lantus from a pen vs. a vial. It's the same with Levemir. I much preferred the cartridges we can get in Canada, which are like mini vials that are the refills inside the pens.

Any vet should be able to draw blood and send it to Michigan State University for testing. You just have to convince the vet to do so. Some people have printed off the MSU info pages for their vets. My vet thought I didn't need to test for high doses until Neko got to 10 units - which she never did. I asked her to humour me, which she did. And was more surprised than me by the results.
 
Neko got up to 8.75 units, but she started seeing greens at 3.5 units. In 2012, she had radiation therapy on her pituitary tumor, went down to .75 units and gradually drifted up over a couple years to 3 units. Then in 2015 her dose zoomed up to 7 units again, we had a second radiation therapy and her dose got down to about .25 units again. Sadly, last december she crossed to the Bridge, about 5 years after starting insulin. A good part of that time she was fairly well regulated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top