Tibbs 10/29 Tibbs amps 360 +7 317 last night +8 289

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
So Tibbs finally broke a yellow on his +8 last night (which was this morning) . He is starting to have pinks now and i just did 1.75fat.
I have a feeling that it takes him more that 6-10 cycles to settle on a dose. I just wonder if i had kept him at 1.75 longer the last time if he would have
settled out of the bouncing. well it's a theory anyway. I'm going to check mid cycles for 1 or 2 more days before going to 2 units. i just have a feeling but i could be wrong. we'll see. his ketones are back to being negative so that's good. i was so happy to see that yellow. Come on little guy. mama loves you.
 
Hi Nadine,

I've found that sometimes when I've had feelings or hunches like that they often set me onto the right track. It can take a while to find out the whys and wherefores but it has led me in the right direction. For example, even from the early part of Saoirse's insulin therapy when her numbers were getting better she would occasionally throw an unexpected significant spike. It always followed an event where she hadn't eaten (e.g. meds wore off during the night when she was inappetent) and I put the spike down to what I called 'hunger stress' because she was very agitated when she wanted her brekkie. Through continued observation, the correlation became more marked. I did some digging on the net and I'm now fairly sure the problem with what I now refer to as 'fasting spikes' is primarily due to insulin resistance in her liver (it doesn't recognise when to shut down glucose production). I'm now investigating options to support her liver. I was so busy focussing on her pancreas that I neglected to consider what was happening with its partner in crime.

Saw in your other thread that you are managing to get some sleep, and I was relieved to hear that. Made up for Tibbs' nice sunny yellow and that he's heading out of the red and into the pink. Fingers and paws crossed in the Shire for you both.

(((Nadine & Tibbs)))
 
thanks Àine
i sure hope my "feeling" is right. at this point i'm going to keep increasing him after i'm sure he has settled. being that he is starting to come down i'll continue with this plan with lantus. it is just so hard to keep seeing bad numbers so even having pinks is a good step. at least i feel like he's heading in the right direction. i thought that 3 months later after his dx that he would be in good numbers so something isn't right. s i g h ...... thanks for all your support. how is Saoirse doing today. i have to go look ar her spreadsheet too. hope you and she are ok.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Bit of a daymare here. I'm trying to find somewhere decent to live and between the fatigue and the multiple anxiety disorders I can't do much myself to pack. I have no carer at the moment, so I've had cleaners in for the past two days to sort things out for me. Yesterday wasn't too bad, but today was utter chaos. Saoirse got out of the flat and I found her crying to get in at the door to the flat below me (doors are identical). Then she had to deal with the panicky vibes from her stressed-out human, strangers in the flat, bags and boxes all over the shop, the hoover going almost non-stop (she hates the upright hoover), plus a confrontation with my civvie (they don't get on - Lúnasa is aggressive towards her). The spontaneous hissy fit she threw mid-afternoon was not exactly surprising. On top of that, I caught her lapping at some flour (YIKES!) that had spilt on the floor. It was with grim resignation that I did her PMBG test. I was gobsmacked to see it at 5.4 (97)! :o Best +12 she has had in over a week. I was fully expecting her BG to be shaking paws with Ceiling Cat. There is no fathoming this condition. Maybe I should get her a job on Wall Street ...

Off to see the shkrinky bean tomorrow. After that, I plan to hide under my duvet for several days. @-)

Sending special refresh-the-mommy-bean hugs...

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
((((Áine)))) sending calming vines to you and Saoirse. have you found another place to live yet or still looking? i hope you find a beautiful, calm , sunny place to live. also hope things go well at shrinkybean. is it someone you really like? are they helping you? it's so hard to find someone who is really good. i'm so sorry that you have to deal with so much anxiety and stress.
(((((hugs to you and Saoirse)))))
 
Just realised I replied to an older thread. Iam so pleased to hear yet Tibbs is doing a little better. How is he doing today? I get what you mean about the holding the dose to allow it to settle but I also understand why they want you to be quite aggressive with the dosing in order to break the glucose toxicity and get Tibbs to a good nadir level.
 
Nadine

Trust your gut. You will always know Tibbs better than any of us. Autumn use to take about 2-3 weeks to settle into a dose.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top