Ti-Mousse RIDES AGAIN.... +7.5=29; +8.5=68; +9.5=79; PMPS=56; +1=50; +3.5=112; +5=149;

keeping you on your toes that test must have been a shock. Come on Ti-Mousse time to stop swimming with the big sharkies...
 
Hi Lyane, I need to get into a meeting here shortly (I am at work), but I would like to suggest you check her again at 20mins, the 29 is too low IMHO to wait 30 mins. That plus last time you had a hard time keeping her up, so you want to try and stay ahead of things. Next test, if she hasn't come up much, can you give her some HC gravy just to make sure she stays hungry, and you may need some syrup, I know she didn't really like it that much last time if I recall, she had some tummy troubles afterward? Hope others jump in here, but keep calm and I'll see you shortly.
 
Hi Lyane, I need to get into a meeting here shortly (I am at work), but I would like to suggest you check her again at 20mins, the 29 is too low IMHO to wait 30 mins. That plus last time you had a hard time keeping her up, so you want to try and stay ahead of things. Next test, if she hasn't come up much, can you give her some HC gravy just to make sure she stays hungry, and you may need some syrup, I know she didn't really like it that much last time if I recall, she had some tummy troubles afterward? Hope others jump in here, but keep calm and I'll see you shortly.
Thank you so much! Test done, he's going up because of the kibbles :-( should not have, but too late!
 
Let's handle this right - first, to get that number up as quickly as possible requires a simple sugar such as Karo, honey, etc. Not a large amount, but a good 'dollop' - 1/8th tsp roughly first when you're that low. Simple sugars start absorbing as soon as they hit the mouth where any type of food including gravy takes hitting stomach acid and digestion to begin raising glucose. That's why candy is recommended for human diabetics when they start a hypo run - the simple sugar acts fastest. You don't want to send kitty to the moon with the sugars - your goal is to bump them enough to get back to good numbers. After you've given any of the sugars, THEN do gravy or even just med carb.

I know this above isn't exactly what most holler here but after having KT and Doc AND walking many hundreds of cats up from a hypo, this is the quickest and safest way.

Lyane, you're already handling this one - I mainly posted that above for your future reference. :)
 
Yes I did; he's going up because of the 3 kibbles I gave and the HC; I should not have given kibbles they take too long to clear so you're not sure if he's going up because of them or by himself, but too late! Second time I do the same mistake, I'll remember next time!
I understand, when you see numbers like that you tend not to think straight. The adrenalin starts pumping. Just don't forget to breathe and stay calm.:bighug:
 
Let's handle this right - first, to get that number up as quickly as possible requires a simple sugar such as Karo, honey, etc. Not a large amount, but a good 'dollop' - 1/8th tsp roughly first when you're that low. Simple sugars start absorbing as soon as they hit the mouth where any type of food including gravy takes hitting stomach acid and digestion to begin raising glucose. That's why candy is recommended for human diabetics when they start a hypo run - the simple sugar acts fastest. You don't want to send kitty to the moon with the sugars - your goal is to bump them enough to get back to good numbers. After you've given any of the sugars, THEN do gravy or even just med carb.

I know this above isn't exactly what most holler here but after having KT and Doc AND walking many hundreds of cats up from a hypo, this is the quickest and safest way.

Lyane, you're already handling this one - I mainly posted that above for your future reference. :)
Tks; I gave him 3 kibbles and 1 tbs HC; (should not have given kibbles....)
tested 20 min after, he was up from 29 to 68;
gave another 1 ts LC- will test back soon!

He's a bad boy lately!!
 
Tks; I gave him 3 kibbles and 1 tbs HC; (should not have given kibbles....)
tested 20 min after, he was up from 29 to 68;
gave another 1 ts LC- will test back soon!

He's a bad boy lately!!

You did just fine, I just wanted to share that information with you. KT taught me well, he'd get stOOpid about once a week for a while... :)
 
Lyresa makes a really good point, from my experience, I have never had to use syrup because Maverick is very carb sensitive, so that level of intervention has never been required. I think it is good to keep for future reference as well, especially for newer members who may happen by, it is important to have a good understanding of how to intervene, since not all cats are created equal in how they respond:).
 
he'd get stOOpid about once a week for a while
I'll remember that for Ti-Mousse, he's got a nice choice now! :D He was given "crazy cat" as a nickname 2 days ago; now he's got another one "stOOpid cat" , I'll borrow it from you.!

Do you know how long it takes for kibbles to clear the system? My concern about kibbles is that I never know if he's OK on his own or if the kibbles are still moving his numbers up?
 
My goodness Ti-Mousse. So glad your done with the drama today. It needs to stop.

I tested Ollie when I got home this afternoon. First test was LO. Thought I was going to have a heart attack. Good thing I have it drilled into me retest immediately. Thats when I got the 58.

These cats need to stop cavorting.
 
Maverick is very carb sensitive

Oh you're SO lucky - Dakota's body ran so sloooow he was like trying to pry a rock out of quicksand. No sense in testing in 30 mins...it took at least 45 mins for even sugars to work....GRRRR! Luckily he wasn't a diver until the last few months when his health went downhill so badly. KT zoomed up in 3 minutes... :)
 
Hi Lynne, I see Ti-Mousse is up to his tricks again.
I agree with @Squeaky and KT (GA), I would give the honey or Karo first to get up a low number like 29, then follow it by HC. Kibble is not a good choice because it will take too long to be absorbed and bring up the BSL. Keep testing frequently until he is staying up on his own without food.
We don't usually do back to back reductions but I think you should reduce again back down to 5.75, as we skipped a dose 2 cycles ago which should have reduced the depot and he is still dropping too low. What do you think @Squeaky and KT (GA)
 
Let's handle this right - first, to get that number up as quickly as possible requires a simple sugar such as Karo, honey, etc. Not a large amount, but a good 'dollop' - 1/8th tsp roughly first when you're that low. Simple sugars start absorbing as soon as they hit the mouth where any type of food including gravy takes hitting stomach acid and digestion to begin raising glucose. That's why candy is recommended for human diabetics when they start a hypo run - the simple sugar acts fastest. You don't want to send kitty to the moon with the sugars - your goal is to bump them enough to get back to good numbers. After you've given any of the sugars, THEN do gravy or even just med carb.

I know this above isn't exactly what most holler here but after having KT and Doc AND walking many hundreds of cats up from a hypo, this is the quickest and safest way.

Lyane, you're already handling this one - I mainly posted that above for your future reference. :)
Forgot to thank you for this! Already printed and on the fridge beside the diagram I made to handle Low Numbers!
I appreciate your help so much and all your experienced advices! :bighug:
 
Lyresa makes a really good point, from my experience, I have never had to use syrup because Maverick is very carb sensitive, so that level of intervention has never been required. I think it is good to keep for future reference as well, especially for newer members who may happen by, it is important to have a good understanding of how to intervene, since not all cats are created equal in how they respond:).
Good point! Need all the good tricks.!!! :)
 
Ok, Here's a Pic to put a scare into T
Shark bite.jpg
I printed it & taped it to the bottom of my Fridge. It didn't work for Ravan when he decided to go diving, :eek: but what the heck,
maybe it will get T to at least think about NOT going diving with the sharks? :rolleyes:

Ya, get rid of the lousy kibble. FF Gravy lovers always worked for Ravan. Took a while sometimes, but it did work!

Good job Lyane :D You understand now when I say,"we are their slaves" ! They are in control, not us!! :woot::woot::woot:

Lets hope these crazy drops are a prelude to something GOOD around the corner :p
 
:D He was given "crazy cat" as a nickname 2 days ago; now he's got another one "stOOpid cat" , I'll borrow it from you.!
LOL! Poor little minou! He's just trying to give you what you were asking for! :D:D:D He doesn't realize he's giving heart attacks while he's at it!! :joyful:
 
We don't usually do back to back reductions but I think you should reduce again back down to 5.75, as we skipped a dose 2 cycles ago which should have reduced the depot and he is still dropping too low. What do you think @Squeaky and KT (GA)
Thank you so much Bron, I'll reduce his dose and keep testing; if he's not happy with it, it will always be time to increase and I'll make sure to test!
I swear I won't bother anybody tomorrow... maybe just the day after! :p but with all your help it's giving me more experience! :bighug:
 
@Bron and Sheba It's shooting time: Am I shooting half dose or skipping completely for tonight? He's 56; normally 50 and up you shoot, but he went up and down (29, 68, 79 and now at PS: 56)?
I said I wouldn't bother you tomorrow but we're still today :) ...
 
@Bron and Sheba It's shooting time: Am I shooting half dose or skipping completely for tonight? He's 56; normally 50 and up you shoot, but he went up and down (29, 68, 79 and now at PS: 56)?
I said I wouldn't bother you tomorrow but we're still today :) ...
@Squeaky and KT (GA) I don't know if you can advise? It's 30 min. past shooting time, I think maybe skipping is the best option for tonight and take the reducie tomorrow morning! What would you think?
 
He is on the uprise, so, I would shoot, you are using a human meter now, right? Anything over 50 with lots of data we would shoot. Get a +1 and +2 and post, I will look for you. Please let me know if you are shooting so I can look for you.

ETA: He is on a mission, after a skip shot yesterday morning, and a new depot getting established, I think I would shoot another reduced dose of 6 units. hope you see this before you shoot.
 
Last edited:
He is on the uprise, so, I would shoot, you are using a human meter now, right? Anything over 50 with lots of data we would shoot. Get a +1 and +2 and post, I will look for you. Please let me know if you are shooting so I can look for you.
Thanks Bobbie! it's been 45 min. since PS, so how about if I wait another 15 min and test to make sure he's still going up like he's suppose to and if so, I shoot ? What do you think?
Yes I'm using a human meter.
 
Thanks Bobbie! it's been 45 min. since PS, so how about if I wait another 15 min and test to make sure he's still going up like he's suppose to and if so, I shoot ? What do you think?
Yes I'm using a human meter.
If your schedule can accommodate a new schedule 12 hours later that is fine. But, please see my ETA on the last post, I think I would reduce again. Back to back reductions usually don't work, but this boy is on a mission. I would reduce to 6 units when you shoot.
 
Back
Top